IGNORED

Feeling peckish for some Wing Commander/Privateer and need help

jce3000gt

So first of all I'm a noob with DOSBox. I can map a drive and run an installer but that's about it. What I'm looking for are some good ways to set it up to play some Wing Commander II, III, IV, and both Privateers to be able to have no hiccups when playing. I'm assuming old games like these are perfectly compatible and I have these all on CDs and I'm currently (not that it matters) using Windows 7 64-bit. I want to use my XBOX One controller (wired) as well.

Anyone recently or in the past have these games setup to run in DOSBox AND used a usb controller? There are a ton of settings to mess around with so I'm not sure what if any I should be messing with.

Edited by jce3000gt

• 3 weeks later...

Probably the easiest way to do this, if you just want to play the games, is to buy then again from GOG.com. Their installers do a good job and itll save you time.

If youre looking for the whole retro experience of getting a vintage game to run on modern hardware, this article might help with the USB controller:

https://itstillworks.com/12226738/how-to-use-usb-joysticks-with-dosbox

• Like 2

Don't you have a flight stick? The T-Flight Thrustmaster is what I used for Tie Fighter from GOG.com and besides the hand throttle not being compatible, it works well. Maybe something to think about down the road. But for less headache for use with a controller on a modern OS, buying them from GOG would be the easiest.

Edited by xenomorpher

Thanks for the replies!

Don't you have a flight stick? The T-Flight Thrustmaster is what I used for Tie Fighter from GOG.com and besides the hand throttle not being compatible, it works well. Maybe something to think about down the road. But for less headache for use with a controller on a modern OS, buying them from GOG would be the easiest.

My thrustmaster is so old it has a serial port. Besides I like using my XBOX One controller on my PC these days. :D