Jump to content

Photo

can this awesome River Raid hack work on the real game?


48 replies to this topic

#26 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:32 AM

8k build created to handle additional game variations.  More to come...



#27 SoundGammon OFFLINE  

SoundGammon

    Stargunner

  • 1,203 posts

Posted Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:39 AM

Cool!

 

We will have to change the name of the game to:

 

NUKEY RAIDER!



#28 ComputerSpaceFan OFFLINE  

ComputerSpaceFan

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,149 posts

Posted Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:14 PM

Again Nukey Shay delivers us awesomeness from Atari Heaven.....

 

were-not-worthy-gif-9.gif



#29 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:57 AM

Currently...

Spread shot, fast missile, and fast scrolling are all selectable.  Each game selection is repeated (for the number of players)

 

.
Game Number     1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
Spread Shot        X     X     X     X     X     X     X     X
Fast Missile          X  X        X  X        X  X        X  X
Fast Scrolling              X  X  X  X              X  X  X  X

 

Games 9 - 16 are currently identical to 1 - 8 (needed to make sure that the 10's digit worked OK).

Attached Files



#30 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 19,572 posts

Posted Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:00 PM

Ohh how nice.



#31 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:31 PM

Positioning table was in the wrong bank, tho!  Oops.

 

Current version features ingame pause function (7800-compatable).  Random section colors given to game selections 9-16.  I'm not quite satisfied with it...the colors will change for both sections when a bridge appears :P  Threw some icons on the screen when selecting variations.

Attached Files



#32 AW127 OFFLINE  

AW127

    Moonsweeper

  • 298 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 2:51 PM

Great. We should call this hack "River Shayd". ;-)


Edited by AW127, Sun Nov 5, 2017 2:51 PM.


#33 ComputerSpaceFan OFFLINE  

ComputerSpaceFan

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,149 posts

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 4:59 PM

Just played this for half an hour. My God it's a thing of beauty!



#34 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:26 PM

Added Ram (F8SC) to keep count of objects destroyed, and threw in a basic title screen.  Needs some more work.

Attached Files



#35 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 19,572 posts

Posted Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:47 PM

I miss the game option select icons. going to bring them back?


Edited by Keatah, Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:47 PM.


#36 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:29 PM

Still in there.  I had them disabled while I changed the scoring to decimal mode.  With all the extra screen space available during game select, there's no need to cram them into the score.  There's still some stats to add in the pause/game over screen, too (the actual level instead of # bridges destroyed - those should be seperate stats).  Or maybe work in percent of each object destroyed.  Not too sure about that yet, since forks in the river make it impossible to hit everything.



#37 Jin OFFLINE  

Jin

    Solar Striker

  • 2,064 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:11 AM

Oh man, River Raid3n looks awesome! I'll definitely be popping this on a Harmony cart ASAP! :D

 

 

Now if only the 2600 sound chip could produce a rendition of the classic Raiden song "Gallantry"...

 


Edited by Jin, Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:17 AM.


#38 SoundGammon OFFLINE  

SoundGammon

    Stargunner

  • 1,203 posts

Posted Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:10 AM

On the 7800, one could tap into the audio in on the cartridge port with a RCA jack and input any audio! You could loop the Raiden song "Gallantry" and play it "though" the system for in game music!



#39 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:39 PM

Current:

I found that cycle time was running short due to the extra time needed when copying onboard Ram to working areas, so I disabled the scrolling copyright for now (sorry if you got some screen jumps in the earlier version).  P1's stats could also rewrite P2 stats (wrong index value).

 

Added stats for level & bridges destroyed (these are not always equal: in the original game...if you are destroyed when a bridge is onscreen, you miss the chance to destroy that bridge and the level will go up anyway).

 

Added game timer for total hours/minutes/seconds playtime.  Does not include any idle time.

 

Reserve lives are displayed alongside the fuel gauge

 

Added text for game select options

Attached Files


Edited by Nukey Shay, Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:55 PM.


#40 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,508 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:25 PM

I like the game select text. I hope you can keep that in the final version.



#41 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:12 PM

No need to remove it...there's still plenty of unused Rom, and screen area to add more options if I think of some.

 

I'll probably relocate the scrolling copyright there if there's no other way to cut time spent offscreen.



#42 MissCommand OFFLINE  

MissCommand

    Space Invader

  • 42 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted Sat Dec 2, 2017 9:42 PM

Total coolness... I also like the option labels.



#43 Jin OFFLINE  

Jin

    Solar Striker

  • 2,064 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 9:47 AM

When I got my Harmony Encore cart in the mail yesterday this was the very first game I played on it, and I have to say I was not the least bit disappointed! Game 16 of River Raid 3 just surpassed Lead as my all time favorite shoot 'em up on the Atari 2600 and I will be recommending it for play in the next season of the Atari 2600 High Score Club! :D 
 
I love absolutely everything you've done with this one Nukey. The spread shot, fast missiles, turbo speed, background color variations, and statistical tables give River Raid 3 a decidedly contemporary feel that should definitely appeal to any fan of modern shoot 'em ups. The only thing it's missing is some kick ass music, but I don't know whether or not you've got the space left to add in some pulse pounding tunes. Even without music though I still just adore this game. Phenomenal work!

Edited by Jin, Tue Dec 5, 2017 10:49 AM.


#44 SoundGammon OFFLINE  

SoundGammon

    Stargunner

  • 1,203 posts

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 10:52 AM

How about "collecting" power ups instead?

 

What I mean is, you fly over a fuel tank and shoot it and collect a a power up.

 

First one is fast shot, then a 3-way shot, maybe an extra life!

 

You lose them when you get destroyed and have to start over.



#45 Jin OFFLINE  

Jin

    Solar Striker

  • 2,064 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 10:56 AM

How about "collecting" power ups instead?
 
What I mean is, you fly over a fuel tank and shoot it and collect a a power up.
 
First one is fast shot, then a 3-way shot, maybe an extra life!
 
You lose them when you get destroyed and have to start over.


That's a cool idea! I was also contemplating how cool it would be if there was a way to get the enemies to shoot back for a serious challenge, though their shots would have to be able to be destroyed with your own shots to prevent automatic death scenarios in tight corridors. There's a lot that could be done with the game, it's just a question of whether or not Nukey wants to or feels up to giving it a try.

#46 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 2:03 PM

The problem is time.  I was barely able to get the 3 cycles needed for the side shots on some scanlines (it's that few because the Y-comparison had already been done for the center missile).  To track an independent missile it would cost an additional 7 cycles in every portion that handles missiles.


  • Jin likes this

#47 Jin OFFLINE  

Jin

    Solar Striker

  • 2,064 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 2:31 PM

The problem is time.  I was barely able to get the 3 cycles needed for the side shots on some scanlines (it's that few because the Y-comparison had already been done for the center missile).  To track an independent missile it would cost an additional 7 cycles in every portion that handles missiles.

 

Thanks for the explanation Nukey! It's times like this that I think I should really start reading up on 6502 assembly so I'd have a better understanding of what the 2600 is and is not capable of before I start playing backseat programmer and making suggestions. :lol: You've done some really amazing work with this game already turning it into the fastest and most frenetic vertical scrolling shooter on the Atari 2600 and I'll look forward to testing out any future revisions you might make.

 

The only other suggestion I can think of to toss in the ring that (probably) wouldn't overtax the CPU would be to add a little extra challenge to Turbo Speed mode by putting a cap on how long you can slow the game's speed by holding the down direction, maybe just long enough to pass over a couple fuel tanks, before the down function becomes inoperable for a period time to prevent the player from just holding down all the time to slow the game and make it so that they only use the slow down function when they really need it. That might just be me being a sadistic shoot 'em up fan though, so feel free to disregard it. :D



#48 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 19,572 posts

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 3:04 PM

That's too brutal. I'd likely play it one time and forget about it. I mean you can make it like an option and stuff..



#49 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,715 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Wed Dec 6, 2017 4:39 AM

Actually, the original game does this already because fuel consumption is a constant (whether you go fast or slow, it drains at the same rate).  On that note, it would be easier to instruct the game to eat fuel faster if you accelerate than doing it the other way around.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users