Jump to content

Photo

Possible final release of Pole Position for the STE?


9 replies to this topic

#1 LiqMat ONLINE  

LiqMat

    Dragonstomper

  • 662 posts
  • Location:Perpetual state of wandering

Posted Fri Oct 6, 2017 10:14 AM

Been following this for awhile. This guy is incredible for what he has accomplished on the STE. Maybe this has already been discussed, but the possible final release came out recently. For those who haven't followed this, it's a near arcade perfect Pole Position for a 1MB Atari STE.

 

https://ataricrypt.b...e-position.html


Edited by LiqMat, Fri Oct 6, 2017 10:23 AM.


#2 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 2:35 AM

Ha! somebody actually reads the STuff that I post? Great!! ;-)

Yeah seriously, Jon has done an incredible job. I think the latest release runs very well and even better on the real hardware (imho). Let's hope he makes another game sometime soon.

Steve



#3 leech OFFLINE  

leech

    Dragonstomper

  • 945 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 1:11 PM

Ha, I think the last time I played Pole Position was either on the 2600 or the Atari 8-bit.  I'd been looking forward to the final release of this!  How well does it work on the Falcon?  (which I have hooked up constantly, vs my 1040STe)



#4 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 3:32 PM

sigh... if only I had a Falcon  :_(



#5 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Moonsweeper

  • 392 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 9:18 PM

Yes, seems to run okay on a Falcon too.

 

Set video the ST Low compatibility first, but after that it seems to run.



#6 leech OFFLINE  

leech

    Dragonstomper

  • 945 posts

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 5:03 PM

sigh... if only I had a Falcon  :_(

I think it was on the facebook group page that someone recently posted that he had three Falcons in storage and was wondering if they'd need to be re-capped.  Some people are terrible hoarders...

 

Of all people though, I'd think you'd get one!  Support of the community and all that.



#7 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 5:47 AM

No cash mate and Falcons are incredibly expensive. Had two in the 90s...shouldn't have sold them :(

Anyhow, all donations gratefully received. Please, donate yours!



#8 mpattonm OFFLINE  

mpattonm

    Space Invader

  • 17 posts

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 12:32 PM

Ha! somebody actually reads the STuff that I post? Great!! ;-)

 

Oh come on. Of course we do!



#9 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    Stargunner

  • 1,813 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:37 AM

Just tried it on my STE, runs well! Nice mountain boot screen. I liked the old boot screen better. ;)

#10 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Just a regular dude.

  • 24,992 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:44 AM

On the one hand, I wish I still had my St and STE so I could play this.  On the other hand, don't have the room anymore.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users