Jump to content

Photo

SE Hard drive options?


13 replies to this topic

#1 Major_Tom_coming_home OFFLINE  

Major_Tom_coming_home

    Chopper Commander

  • 149 posts

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 2:38 PM

I recently picked up a functional tested working Macintosh SE on Ebay for $60 shipped. It does not have a hard drive, and I would like to add one using the cheapest method possible (it's only a $60 computer after all). On youtube the 8-Bit guy tried to install an SD to SCSI adapter on the exact same model but he couldn't get it to work. 20 Megabyte 50 pin Apple SCSI drives are stupid expensive for what you get. 80 pin SCSI drives don't seem to work with an adapter, but what about a 50 to 68 pin adapter along with a SCSI 68 pin HDD? I'm linking the adapter and HD I'm looking at as well as the Ebay auction  for the computer. Any other advice about installing / formatting the hard drive and installing an OS (which I don't have) would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

 

Adapter I am looking at:

http://www.ebay.com/...ZIAAOSwAydZvf8C

 

 

68 pin hard drive to use with 50 pin adapter - would it work???:

http://www.ebay.com/...ZIAAOSwAydZvf8C

 

This is the SE I bought from Ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/...353.m2749.l2649

 

 



#2 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 11:23 PM

I recently picked up a functional tested working Macintosh SE on Ebay for $60 shipped. It does not have a hard drive, and I would like to add one using the cheapest method possible (it's only a $60 computer after all). On youtube the 8-Bit guy tried to install an SD to SCSI adapter on the exact same model but he couldn't get it to work. 20 Megabyte 50 pin Apple SCSI drives are stupid expensive for what you get. 80 pin SCSI drives don't seem to work with an adapter, but what about a 50 to 68 pin adapter along with a SCSI 68 pin HDD? I'm linking the adapter and HD I'm looking at as well as the Ebay auction  for the computer. Any other advice about installing / formatting the hard drive and installing an OS (which I don't have) would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

 

Adapter I am looking at:

http://www.ebay.com/...ZIAAOSwAydZvf8C

 

 

68 pin hard drive to use with 50 pin adapter - would it work???:

http://www.ebay.com/...ZIAAOSwAydZvf8C

 

This is the SE I bought from Ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/...353.m2749.l2649

 

 

 

No on the adapters - you need male to male. They cost 2 - 3 times as much.

http://www.ebay.com/...M0AAOSw6YtZR2WS

 

Also, any apple disk tool software wont even recognize any non-apple hard drive. Like all apple scsi have a pic/sticker of an apple on them.

68 to 50 adapters are use on some macs already - My 7300 uses one. Also like a 2gb limit for older stuff.

 

But to be honest, your going down a rabbit hole with this.

You will spend more money in the long run by trying to "save" with old electronics.

 

This guy got the SCSI2SD to work on an se:

http://appletothecor...state_drive.php

His problem - to use non-apple drives (which the sd drive is), you have to use a hacked version of drive setup to install a driver.

Probably the reason 8-bit coulden't get his to work.

Read this - http://lowendmac.com...ed-apple-tools/

Note, you need a mac to patch the software.



#3 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • 394 posts

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 7:18 AM

Surf City Lido can be used to avoid the "finding the hacked version" conundrum, the sd card should be set up on a modern pc first, to create four 2GB partitions - which I think is the max for System 7 on an SE.



#4 Iamgroot OFFLINE  

Iamgroot

    Chopper Commander

  • 116 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 10:03 AM

Your best bet for getting a hard drive on the cheap is to buy another old Mac.  A Centris or a Quadra have 256 Mb hard drives that will work in a Mac SE.  I had one of each, but since they were basically the same computer, but the Quadra had more Ram and slightly faster, I stripped the Centris of the hard drive and upgraded my SE that way.



#5 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 7,655 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 10:10 AM

Given the number of Mac posts appearing in the Apple II area, maybe there should be a Mac area.



#6 Major_Tom_coming_home OFFLINE  

Major_Tom_coming_home

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 149 posts

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 5:44 PM

Your best bet for getting a hard drive on the cheap is to buy another old Mac.  A Centris or a Quadra have 256 Mb hard drives that will work in a Mac SE.  I had one of each, but since they were basically the same computer, but the Quadra had more Ram and slightly faster, I stripped the Centris of the hard drive and upgraded my SE that way.

Would a HD from a Power Mac G4 Work? If so, what kind of Adapter do I need to install it in a SE?



#7 Major_Tom_coming_home OFFLINE  

Major_Tom_coming_home

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 149 posts

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 5:48 PM

 

No on the adapters - you need male to male. They cost 2 - 3 times as much.

http://www.ebay.com/...M0AAOSw6YtZR2WS

 

Also, any apple disk tool software wont even recognize any non-apple hard drive. Like all apple scsi have a pic/sticker of an apple on them.

68 to 50 adapters are use on some macs already - My 7300 uses one. Also like a 2gb limit for older stuff.

 

But to be honest, your going down a rabbit hole with this.

You will spend more money in the long run by trying to "save" with old electronics.

 

This guy got the SCSI2SD to work on an se:

http://appletothecor...state_drive.php

His problem - to use non-apple drives (which the sd drive is), you have to use a hacked version of drive setup to install a driver.

Probably the reason 8-bit coulden't get his to work.

Read this - http://lowendmac.com...ed-apple-tools/

Note, you need a mac to patch the software.

I do have a Power Mac G4, would that  allow me to patch the necessary software?  Could the hardrive from a G4 be installed in the SE? If so, what kind of scsi adapter would be required?



#8 Major_Tom_coming_home OFFLINE  

Major_Tom_coming_home

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 149 posts

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 6:17 PM

would this be the drive I need (along with some kind of adapter I assume). My concern is that I don't think my SE can run 7.6 but presumably I can reformat it? Thanks

 

http://www.ebay.com/...YoAAOSwrFJZxV6v

 

Your best bet for getting a hard drive on the cheap is to buy another old Mac.  A Centris or a Quadra have 256 Mb hard drives that will work in a Mac SE.  I had one of each, but since they were basically the same computer, but the Quadra had more Ram and slightly faster, I stripped the Centris of the hard drive and upgraded my SE that way.



#9 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Mon Oct 9, 2017 8:01 PM

would this be the drive I need (along with some kind of adapter I assume). My concern is that I don't think my SE can run 7.6 but presumably I can reformat it? Thanks

 

http://www.ebay.com/...YoAAOSwrFJZxV6v

 

 From what I can find, no. Thats an IDE.

 

This would be your best / easiest option:

http://www.ebay.com/...9sAAOSwRkRZ29Yz

 

Your might find these link helpful too:

http://www.ccadams.org/se/

http://www.ccadams.o.../hard_disk.html

http://www.obsolyte.com/faq/



#10 Iamgroot OFFLINE  

Iamgroot

    Chopper Commander

  • 116 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan

Posted Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:18 AM

would this be the drive I need (along with some kind of adapter I assume). My concern is that I don't think my SE can run 7.6 but presumably I can reformat it? Thanks

 

http://www.ebay.com/...YoAAOSwrFJZxV6v

 

 

Looks like this guy is listing these wrong.  PowerMacs (Macs with 4 digits and up to the G3 and G4) take these IDE drives.

 

Others have also mentioned it, but what you need is a 50-pin SCSI.



#11 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:06 PM

Some of the 68040 mac were the first to use ide and in some of first ppc, I thought it was wrong too. Apple hardware is confusing for even people that have experience with it, like me. Plus, I forgot everything I about them from 15 years ago and now have to relearn it. ;)

#12 Osgeld ONLINE  

Osgeld

    River Patroller

  • 4,125 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:55 PM

I have used a 68 to 50 pin adapter on a lc2 and it worked ... Dunno about the se I'm not keen on taking it apart


Maybe over the weekend

#13 Major_Tom_coming_home OFFLINE  

Major_Tom_coming_home

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 149 posts

Posted Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:45 PM

Thanks, I just purchased the drive you linked to. Do I need anything like cables, scsi terminator, etc. to get it working? It's going to be installed in place of the original hard drive that was removed. 

 

 

 From what I can find, no. Thats an IDE.

 

This would be your best / easiest option:

http://www.ebay.com/...9sAAOSwRkRZ29Yz

 

Your might find these link helpful too:

http://www.ccadams.org/se/

http://www.ccadams.o.../hard_disk.html

http://www.obsolyte.com/faq/



#14 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:27 PM

You shouldn't need any extra hardware, unless you missing something originally came with you mac.

The tray/mount, 50 pin cable and power cable are what you need. Did it have a hard drive and someone took it out?

Most mac SE were dual floppy.

 

The ad didn't say anything about format or OS, so will probably need sys floppys + disk tools is nice to have.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users