IGNORED

Pascal units

Rossman

I'm not under any illusions that anybody finds this interesting or relevant. I'm documenting it here for my own edification and education: many of you have been helpful to explain / clarify what I'm seeing and experiencing, and I thank you all for that.

Per my other thread, I've got my Pascal sprite test code doing what I want it to do. It isn't a fully functioning UI, but it demonstrates that I can get the sprites to behave as I want them to. As @apersson850 pointed out, the sprite logic is pretty sophisticated. I have the cards doing all kinds of gymnastics with precision, so I have to agree. From here, it's all in the details.

Those details will become unmanageable pretty quickly in the game code logic as it exists. So, I'm looking to refactor the game logic code. An in-place re-write will quickly become unmanageable, so I started playing with Pascal units tonight. I figure I can harvest code out of the game logic into a unit, procedure (and function!) by procedure, until I've strangled the old code.

I do not want to criticize the communication style of the authors of the TI Pascal text. And in the grand scheme of things, it didn't take me long to figure it out. But the documentation in the Compiler manual, section 4.5 on Units (pages 100-105) references examples without parameters. This was a little frustrating, but the compile errors described the expected behaviors.

If I'm understanding this correctly, procedures declared in units are treated as Pascal forwards. The declaration in the INTERFACE section has the full procedure signature (including params). The declaration in the IMPLEMENTATION section has no parameters, because it is unnecessary. The parameters declared in the INTERFACE section are accessible.

So, if we have:

INTERFACE

procedure yourproc(yourparm : string);

IMPLEMENTATION

procedure yourproc;

begin

writeln(yourparm);

end;

end.