Photo

Does anyone use Pascal anymore?

12 replies to this topic

#1 jhd OFFLINE  

jhd

Stargunner

• 1,578 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 10:48 AM

I am no programmer, but I have dabbled a little bit.

Back when I was in University, Pascal was the language of choice. Turbo Pascal was the dominant platform on PCs. 

Has Pascal now been completely supplanted by C/C++ (or Java, depending on the context/application)?

#2 danwinslow OFFLINE  

danwinslow

River Patroller

• 2,531 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 10:51 AM

If you mean in the modern development industry, then no, nobody really uses it for new development. There are nooks and crannies doing legacy maintenance that might have some pascal, but it would less than 1% of the market, probably much less.

• jhd likes this

#3 zzip OFFLINE  

zzip

Stargunner

• 1,563 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 10:54 AM

Did anyone ever use Pascal? Lol, when I learned it in school, it was always presented as a 'teaching language' and not really used in the real world.

Ironically my first job out of college involved maintaining the code for a system written in Pascal :)

#4 AMenard OFFLINE  

AMenard

Star Raider

• 66 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 11:20 AM

Pascal, or to be more precise, Turbo Pascal was used in commercial product dev. especially communication software for some reason. But mostly it was used in education because it's a strongly typed and structured language. It was the one of the languages that I learned in college, that and Cobol (yeah, I'm old...). When I got to university it was replaced by Ada.

#5 zzip OFFLINE  

zzip

Stargunner

• 1,563 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 12:08 PM