Jump to content

Photo

Atari 1010 not loading cassettes


6 replies to this topic

#1 haightc OFFLINE  

haightc

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts
  • Location:SeaTac, WA

Posted Tue Nov 7, 2017 12:25 AM

From what I can tell my player is playing cassette okay.    I've cleaned the head, but no tapes will load.   I always get a 130 error, what should I be looking for to get this player working?



#2 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Czech republic

Posted Tue Nov 7, 2017 1:21 AM

Hello,

 

you didn't describe what you have exactly tried. 

 

I believe the first step is to check if the data recorder can read its own recordings. Please refer to this post to see how to do it with ATARI BASIC.

You report that you see ERROR 130. This  is a "nonexistent device" error. Ensure you are using the C: device. Or did you mean ERROR 138 or ERROR 143?

 

Also, ensure that you are loading the software on the tape properly.

  • Machine language programs (most games) are loaded by booting from tape: Hold START+OPTION during cold start of the computer (or power up)
  • Atari BASIC programs saved with CSAVE command are loaded by the CLOAD command.
  • Atari BASIC programs saved with SAVE"C:" command are loaded by LOAD"C:" or RUN"C:" commands
  • Atari BASIC programs saved with LIST"C:" command are loaded by ENTER"C:" command.


#3 haightc OFFLINE  

haightc

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 85 posts
  • Location:SeaTac, WA

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 12:41 AM

The error I am getting is 140 not 130, I mis-remembered.  if I advance a little further sometimes I'll get an error 143 (at line 0).   Counter ticks away, hard to know if tape speed is correct though.    I am loading a basic program, specifically conversational french, so it would be CLOAD.



#4 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 2:15 AM

I had something like that with my 1010 and XC12, until I renewed the belts. After that, all the problems were gone.

But before you rush to buy the belts, do the tests, baktra detailed.



#5 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Czech republic

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 2:49 AM

The error I am getting is 140 not 130, I mis-remembered.  if I advance a little further sometimes I'll get an error 143 (at line 0).   Counter ticks away, hard to know if tape speed is correct though.    I am loading a basic program, specifically conversational french, so it would be CLOAD.

Yes CLOAD it is, also according to the instructions manual for the software.

 

There are few measures you can take to narrow down the problem:

 

  • Try the experiment with recording to a new blank tape. This way you determine if the problem is the data recorder or the cassette. Maxell UR90 or products of the National Audio Company should be around in USA.
  • Try inserting a standard music cassette with pre-recorded music and entering POKE 54018,52. Then use your ears to determine any anomalies (fluctuations of speed/pitch). This will reveal obvious mechanical problems (motor, loose belt)
  • Use cassette adapter. If there is a mechanical problem, but the electronics are OK, you should be able to load data using the cassette adapter. Use attached WAVE file.

Attached Files



#6 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Czech republic

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 6:57 AM

I forgot to mention that the WAVE file holds a machine language program. So boot it from tape by holding START when powering-up the computer. Presence or absence of the BASIC cartridge has no effect on the program.


Edited by baktra, Wed Nov 8, 2017 6:58 AM.


#7 haightc OFFLINE  

haightc

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 85 posts
  • Location:SeaTac, WA

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:40 AM

Well doing POKE with an audio tape gives regular sounding playback. I think I have an old casette desk in my garage so I guess the next step would finding some new cassette and recording the file. I don't have a cassette adapter anymore, but I think that might be a good idea to try.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users