Photo

Brand New Atari Jaguar Pro Controllers-Interest Check

155 replies to this topic

#1 MortoffGames OFFLINE  

MortoffGames

Chopper Commander

• 162 posts

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 12:02 PM

Update 12-03-2017: We are at 499 total controllers pre-ordered. Let's keep going folks. 

Update 11-13-2017: We are at 301 total controllers pre-ordered. Let's keep going folks. 

Overview 

I have been working with Clint Thompson here on the forums to see if it was possible to develop a brand new replica of the original Atari Jaguar Pro Controllers. I have a lot of experience in making the individual parts; however I have never remade an entire accessory before. It appears that it is possible despite its complexity. To re-make the original controller the following molds have to be made: 

1.  Atari Jaguar Pro Controller Shell Mold
    1. Re-making the exterior shell exactly the same minus the logo isn't hard. The quality should be the same as my reproduction Atari Jaguar shells can attest to
  2. D Button Mold and Red Buttons Mold
    1. Have to have two button molds since they are different colors.
  3. Silicone Membrane Mold
    1. The company I use is a top rated one that makes these for many large companies all over the world. The quality should be excellent. Obviously we want to mimic the original feel of the controllers and will try our hardest to do so there may be slight variation from the original however. 
  4. Connector Port Mold
  5. Silicone Board Mold

Challenges to this Project

• Cost: The project will cost over $30,000 to complete and as such we need to have sufficient interest to make it viable. At this time we are asking people to contact jagprocontroller@gmail.com and leave your email and full name stating your interest in the controllers so we can get a tally. Please email before December-31-2017