Jump to content

Photo

Running Dos Games From Hard Drive


23 replies to this topic

#1 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:18 AM

Hey guys,

 

I recently picked up a barely-used Platinum IIe and wanted to fill my MicroDrive HD up with games.  I ran across this HD image which is loaded with DOS games, including my favorites from Broderbund, that you can run from ProDOS using the program DOS 3.3 Launcher:

 

http://www.whatisthe...fun-iigs-style/

 

If you remove the GS startup system file (I forget which one it is) then in boots directly into FastBoot which lives up to its name.  32 megs of DOS gaming goodness!

 

Attached is the HD image that boots directly to FastBoot.

Attached Files



#2 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:44 PM

This is awesome - the HD boots up in less than a second with my ReactiveMicro MicroDrive/Turbo for the IIe.  I can't believe an Apple II can move that quickly!



#3 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:30 PM

The Apple II is one of the simplest and most bare metal micros around town. Nothing but the processor and memory. In concept one would even say simpler than the venerable VCS. Doesn't even have any audio/video chips. And its circuitry knows nothing of color in graphics or sine waves in sound.

 

Being what's considered an intelligent peripheral using DMA. The "setup" is even simpler. The card puts the data right into memory bypassing much of the data-bus and software/firmware and CPU. Straight in it goes. No need to meander through mazes of custom chips or be handled by complex CPU-dependent software routines.



#4 polyex OFFLINE  

polyex

    Chopper Commander

  • 176 posts
  • Location:32068

Posted Thu Dec 7, 2017 12:02 PM

 

 

 

If you remove the GS startup system file (I forget which one it is) then in boots directly into FastBoot which lives up to its name.  32 megs of DOS gaming goodness!

 

Or ProDOS gaming goodness anyway. There are additional conversions of DOS->ProDOS games that you might want to look for on asimov. I have placed quite a few on my CFFA and use ProSel to make menus to select them easily.



#5 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Thu Dec 7, 2017 8:22 PM

Or ProDOS gaming goodness anyway. There are additional conversions of DOS->ProDOS games that you might want to look for on asimov. I have placed quite a few on my CFFA and use ProSel to make menus to select them easily.

 

 

Yes, I recently found that directory on Asimov - very cool!  I see that Ultima V was recently added...



#6 CGQuarterly OFFLINE  

CGQuarterly

    River Patroller

  • 4,894 posts
  • Editor - Classic Gaming Quarterly
  • Location:Northern California

Posted Thu Dec 7, 2017 9:01 PM

"What is the Apple IIgs" is a great site.  I look forward to checking out this collection of games.



#7 Iamgroot OFFLINE  

Iamgroot

    Chopper Commander

  • 135 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 9:32 AM

Hey guys,

 

I recently picked up a barely-used Platinum IIe and wanted to fill my MicroDrive HD up with games.  I ran across this HD image which is loaded with DOS games, including my favorites from Broderbund, that you can run from ProDOS using the program DOS 3.3 Launcher:

 

http://www.whatisthe...fun-iigs-style/

 

If you remove the GS startup system file (I forget which one it is) then in boots directly into FastBoot which lives up to its name.  32 megs of DOS gaming goodness!

 

This HD image not only has just about every Integer Basic based games and programs that works under Prodos, but a huge collection of file based games just to add to your collection.

 

http://mirrors.apple...c.Pdos8.2mg.zip



#8 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 10:25 PM

 

This HD image not only has just about every Integer Basic based games and programs that works under Prodos, but a huge collection of file based games just to add to your collection.

 

http://mirrors.apple...c.Pdos8.2mg.zip

 

Very cool - thanks for sharing!



#9 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:57 PM

I added my HD image that boots directly to FastBoot to the first post.

 

I'd love to see more HD images full of games, particularly with ProSel for the operating system.



#10 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,090 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:55 PM

Here's another HD image full of games - Basic and binary games using Super Selector.  Cool title screen too!  Hit escape to get to the games.

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-12-19 at 9.47.18 PM.png   50.53KB   1 downloads Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-12-19 at 9.49.24 PM.png   91.95KB   1 downloads

 

Attached File  SupSelector.zip   2.92MB   19 downloads

 



#11 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:55 AM

I don't like the FastBoot menus, they're... weird.  When I scroll the screen seems like it doesn't refresh right, like only the middle entries change while the top entries stay static. I wish there was a way to rearrange everything, but I'm not sure how Alex even put that collection together in the first place.

 

Is anyone else having trouble with Ultima V?  The in game date is corrupted when I try and play, it says something like CC-45-C46 or something like that.  The C's should be numbers.



#12 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:29 AM

Don't see ultima v listed. Where is it?

 

And not all the games are not working. I checked and some are known-bad cracks. Others are not mapped for ProDOS.


Edited by Keatah, Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:30 AM.


#13 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:34 AM

It should be under ProDosHacks



#14 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:58 AM

Which disk image?



#15 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:31 AM

The Ultima V one.  Or do you mean which hard drive collection am I using?  If so the one from What Is The Apple IIGS: http://www.whatisthe...8-bit_Games.zip



#16 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:05 PM

The date seemed ok. Not familar with Ultima series that much. But..this was in Applewin, if that makes a difference.

 

Attached File  AppleWin_ScreenShot_000000000.png   66.73KB   1 downloads


Edited by Keatah, Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:06 PM.


#17 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:08 PM

Maybe my image is corrupted?  That or it's possible that some combination of cards I have is causing the issue. I'll have to see.



#18 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:43 PM

What is your card configuration? Are you on a //e or IIgs?



#19 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:29 PM

What is your card configuration? Are you on a //e or IIgs?

IIe.  I've got a Super Serial, SCSI Rev. C, Disk Controller, Mockingboard, and possibly a Mouse card



#20 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:32 PM

Re-sent it and tried it on my IIGS this time.  Same issue!

 

BTW you are creating a new character right?  You're not using whatever one comes with the image are you?



#21 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 20,870 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:37 PM

New character.. We're a little busy at the moment so I won't be pulling out real hardware. I did try another version of U5 and still worked ok.

 

It has been known in "emulation land" that some things will work in emulation but not on real hardware. I may be able to have a buddy test it out, but it would be on floppy disk.
 


Edited by Keatah, Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:19 PM.


#22 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:28 AM

Yeah I have it on regular floppies and it works just fine, it's just the hard drive image that doesn't work right.

 

Turns out there's no character disk included with the image so that can't be the issue.  You need to create a new one each time.



#23 Iamgroot OFFLINE  

Iamgroot

    Chopper Commander

  • 135 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan

Posted Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:55 AM

A couple things of note.

 

The hard drive image is a 1.44 meg image, so cannot be copied to a 800 kb disk.

You can follow the discussion here to see if your issue may have been already resolved.

 

https://groups.googl...le2/IOFf7D8Vu6A



#24 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,013 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:31 PM

Airheart works now, but Ultima 5 still has that error.  Not a big deal I suppose since I never looked at the date anyway and the rest of the game works from what I can tell.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users