IGNORED

Jaguar versions and manufacturers difference

Orionis5

I'm still new to Jaguar. I know they were manufactured by IBM and then also Comptronix. I know motherboards were K or M..and then revisions...but this does not tell me much.

I can not find differences between versions, so I can not decide which is better quality to get..M, K, Compotronix...I see on ebay that ibm manufactured are stated on box and later probably manufactured at Comptronix just made in America...

Anybody with experience in this ?

Thanks and BR, Luka

Apart from the support for analog controllers that only exists on the early US models (that's the ADC thing madman is mentioning above), there are no functional or quality differences between the models as far as I know. There are a few technical differences, but they're petty minor and only matter if you're actually developing a game.

Thank you for reply but as I can see, Atari Jaguar fall was so sudden that we have no official explanation on revision changes :)

The reason I was asking because I noticed different boxes on sale. Ones with US flag are probably made in Comptronix, the one without flag and just made in America (but written on back side Made in America by IBM).

Just wondering if any of these plants used different components especially capacitors, which are weakest poinst of our beloved legacy machines.

Edited by Orionis5

Just wondering if any of these plants used different components especially capacitors, which are weakest poinst of our beloved legacy machines.

Unlike some other consoles, capacitors problems are pretty rare on the Jaguar. In fact, if you exclude the JagCD, it's a pretty reliable machine in the long run.The only major weak point is the cart connector (bad connections and bent contacts).

Regarding the relationship between the serial number and the manufacturing plant, there are some details here: http://jaguar-64bit.pagesperso-orange.fr/Liens/500277ra.pdf

Edited by Zerosquare
  • Like 1