Jump to content

Photo

Pro Controller support for Doom!


10 replies to this topic

#1 BeefMan ONLINE  

BeefMan

    Star Raider

  • 95 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:27 PM

Anyone with a Skunkboard and Pro Controller interested in trying out my Pro Controller support for Doom?

 

I've added:

  • Independent left and right strafing on shoulder buttons.
  • Circle strafing is much easier to perform.
  • Weapon selection on the x and y buttons.

 

Grab the file here:
https://drive.google.com/…/1yt9anfi9gXNXB4SuHlxgi0bSZ…/view…

 

With the Skunkboard, you need to upload the original Jag Doom rom to flash (jcp -f "rom file") and then reset the Jag (jcp -r) and then upload this to memory (jcp doom.abs).

 

Much thanks to Carl Forhan for all the support I needed to get this going!


Edited by BeefMan, Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:41 PM.


#2 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,690 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:03 PM

Is this based off the version with the partially fixed network code?

#3 BeefMan ONLINE  

BeefMan

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 95 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:22 PM

It is not, but I'm sure it could be combined into a larger project.  Carl Forhan did the network optimization.



#4 Songbird OFFLINE  

Songbird

    Stargunner

  • 1,575 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:41 PM

Is this based off the version with the partially fixed network code?

Ouch, sounds like a nudge for me to fire up the Skunks again this winter and add the checksum + retry to the "final" networking fix... ;)



#5 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,690 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:01 PM

Ouch, sounds like a nudge for me to fire up the Skunks again this winter and add the checksum + retry to the "final" networking fix... ;)

 

Wasn't intended that way - just multiple builds with different fixes will get annoying :D



#6 Songbird OFFLINE  

Songbird

    Stargunner

  • 1,575 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:13 PM

Along those lines, BeefMan, please feel free to set up a GitHub or similar online repository for the Doom source... it would be cool to have one set of Jag Doom source updated over time. I'm too old school to do that myself. ;)



#7 walter_J64bit ONLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,200 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:23 PM

004a044e1927a979dbf090ba6532389438170816



#8 BeefMan ONLINE  

BeefMan

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 95 posts

Posted Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:28 PM

Along those lines, BeefMan, please feel free to set up a GitHub or similar online repository for the Doom source... it would be cool to have one set of Jag Doom source updated over time. I'm too old school to do that myself. ;)

I'll look into setting it up.



#9 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,640 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:01 PM

Good work.

#10 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Sat Jun 30, 2018 4:16 PM

Rehashing this as I got a pro controller today. I'll have to DL and test this on the skunkboard!

Any chance of a straffing support option on Wolfenstein too?

#11 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Sun Jul 1, 2018 3:57 PM

Alright just tested it and it works great! I didnt read the entire first post part first and just ran the ABS and it wouldn't do anything. Saw that you have to flash the original Doom first and then run the ABS next. Straffing works. Then if you turn off the Jag and then restart Doom on the skunk the straffing is gone again. So you for sure have to re-input the ABS file before starting the game again. Would be great if this function could be added directly into the rom itself so you don;t have to do that each time.

 

Have you thought about adding this function to some other games, or are there other games that straffing would be known to work for? I tried it on Skyhammer and it works. I would love this function on Wolfenstein tho!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users