Jump to content

Photo

Channel F Console Issue


11 replies to this topic

#1 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Sun Dec 3, 2017 3:38 PM

I have a Channel F that will occasionally operate just fine. Most of the time, however, i get a garbled screen. The garbled screen looks very much like when you have your tv on the wrong channel and you can "sort of" see the desired screen within the wavy lines. The game is on and i can start it and hear the proper sounds, but the screen is just bad. Any ideas? I have tried three different Rf cords with the same result. When the console does work it stays working until i turn it off at the switch. If i immediately try to switch it back on it is hit or miss whether i get a good screen again. I notice that if i use the reset button when it is working the reset works fine and the screen stays clear everytime.

Any help would be appreciated.

#2 fiddlepaddle OFFLINE  

fiddlepaddle

    River Patroller

  • 2,339 posts

Posted Sun Dec 3, 2017 7:22 PM

First guess is it's an issue with the TV tuner.

#3 Tanooki OFFLINE  

Tanooki

    River Patroller

  • 3,092 posts

Posted Sun Dec 3, 2017 7:32 PM

I had the Channel F 2 years ago, it didn't have a regular RF modulator but had this UHF type prong deal off one end, wire to the system on the other, and a TV <-> GAME slider on the thing.  Is that what you're using and you have more than one or something else?  It seems to me if the system itself was dying it wouldn't kind of choose when to work, and not also be chill about the on system reset leaving it working just fine either.



#4 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 11:25 PM

I've got it connected via an adapter. Not using the box at all. The tv is fine, i use it to bench test all kinds of consoles. I appreciate the responses. I agree that it is odd that it works sometimes just fine.

#5 BassGuitari OFFLINE  

BassGuitari

    Launch Edition

  • 6,029 posts
  • Remember how bright the future used to look?
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Dec 6, 2017 8:42 AM

Might be the modulator itself?



#6 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Wed Dec 6, 2017 11:04 PM

Yeah, has that feel. I plan to open it up friday when i have some time. I have tons of spare atari parts, but really no extra fairchild parts. I will tinker with it and see what happens.

#7 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 7:47 PM

So after pulling and reseating the three main ICs there was no difference in how the console was reacting when turned on. However, after adjusting the Rf Modulator adjustment "screw" I appear to have a consistent picture. The inital picture seems to have very slight garbling, but when it is reset it always resets to a clear white screen withe the G? prompt. Crossing my fingers that this is an easy fix. Wish I had better electronic skills and those that do are probably cringing at my descriptions, but maybe this will get this old machine up and running again.



#8 Tanooki OFFLINE  

Tanooki

    River Patroller

  • 3,092 posts

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 10:48 PM

The G prompt for some reason I think from rotten fuzzy memory is a normal operation of it.  I think it means it's looking for a game (G?) when that is there.



#9 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 11:16 PM

The G prompt for some reason I think from rotten fuzzy memory is a normal operation of it.  I think it means it's looking for a game (G?) when that is there.

Yes, that is exactly what I wanted to see on the screen. Issue appears to be resolved. Fires up every time now. Thanks for all your help folks.



#10 BassGuitari OFFLINE  

BassGuitari

    Launch Edition

  • 6,029 posts
  • Remember how bright the future used to look?
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 12:35 PM

What was the issue? RF modulator out of tune?



#11 Tombstone OFFLINE  

Tombstone

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 408 posts
  • Location:Chico, CA

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 2:26 PM

What was the issue? RF modulator out of tune?

Yes, you nailed it! Thanks a million. Now I have a Slot Machine cart that is not behaving. It won't consistently seat/lock when inserted into the console. I don't see any obvious differences in the case compared to the other carts. When it does seat it wants to work but won't. Screen freezes eventually. I am going to pull the pcb and resolder the chip. This console is determined the teach me a thing or two!



#12 HoshiChiri OFFLINE  

HoshiChiri

    Dragonstomper

  • 954 posts
  • Location:WA state

Posted Yesterday, 7:44 AM

I've got a cart 10 that doesn't seat either, but works fine if I can get it to stay put. I've love to know if/how you solve that one!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users