Jump to content

Photo

COMING SOON : Risky Rick In Dangerous Traps


51 replies to this topic

#1 usar666 OFFLINE  

usar666

    Space Invader

  • 17 posts

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 9:36 AM

After one year on finishing, tweaking, testing and debugging , we are very proud and happy to confirm Risky Rick is finally finished.
It was planned for Christmas but due to manufacturing issue, it will be released for the beginning of 2018.
Stay tuned !

 

RR-Anim-essai.gif


Edited by usar666, Sat Dec 9, 2017 10:02 AM.


#2 Ikrananka OFFLINE  

Ikrananka

    River Patroller

  • 2,514 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 12:21 PM

Love the teaser box art and screenshots.



#3 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 12:25 PM

This game is simply the best game ever made for colecovsion to date , including SGM ones.

 

It is simply incredible.  i had the opportunities to play  a beta version , simply incredible for a Colecovision ! And without SGM and in 32K.

 

Look foward to have the final version!


Edited by youki, Sat Dec 9, 2017 12:25 PM.


#4 cmart604 OFFLINE  

cmart604

    Intellivision Hoarder

  • 11,746 posts
  • Running out of things to buy.
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 12:59 PM

This looks awesome! Cant wait. 👍🏻

#5 JEFF31 OFFLINE  

JEFF31

    Dragonstomper

  • 538 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 11:05 PM

Me - want!



#6 mianrtcv OFFLINE  

mianrtcv

    Dragonstomper

  • 540 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:25 AM

On my list

#7 TPR OFFLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:20 PM

Awesome!



#8 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    Processorus Polyglotus

  • 5,322 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:51 PM

Not because I'm the author of CoolCV emulator, but with it you can record easily an AVI video that can be uploaded directly to Youtube ;)



#9 usar666 OFFLINE  

usar666

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 17 posts

Posted Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:33 PM

Not because I'm the author of CoolCV emulator, but with it you can record easily an AVI video that can be uploaded directly to Youtube ;)

Thanks for the offer, we made a video last year for the RGC 2016.Some noticed player seems to flicker on video but it doesn't flicker on real game  ;)

 



#10 grips03 ONLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,595 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:42 PM

Looks great.



#11 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:51 AM

I confirm you don't see such a flickering when you play the game on a real console.  (and i played on a 50hz SECAM one where normally you see more flicker than on 60hz NTSC)



#12 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 4,309 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:37 AM

Looks great no sgm?!?!!

#13 ValkerieSilk OFFLINE  

ValkerieSilk

    Stargunner

  • 1,299 posts
  • Location:Earth

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:38 AM

Awesomeness!



#14 usar666 OFFLINE  

usar666

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 17 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:05 PM

Looks great no sgm?!?!!

Thanks, no sgm involved here  ;)

 

unnamed.jpg


Edited by usar666, Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:07 PM.


#15 imstarryeyed OFFLINE  

imstarryeyed

    Moonsweeper

  • 401 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:02 PM

That looks really great and I am totally looking forward to buying it when it is available.  I grew up playing the game that inspired this on my Commodore Amiga and think the game is a perfect fit for the Coleco as Risky Rick!!

 

Great job!!!



#16 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,859 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:27 PM

I remember playing Rick Dangerous on my PC many years ago. It played remarkably well with the keyboard, with a little practice. :)

How many levels are there in the CV version?

#17 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:24 PM

I remember playing Rick Dangerous on my PC many years ago. It played remarkably well with the keyboard, with a little practice. :)

How many levels are there in the CV version?

 

It is the complete game, as far i know.  in 32K!!    The work they did on that game is incredible. (i know, i repeat myself! :) )    .  



#18 AtariBrian OFFLINE  

AtariBrian

    River Patroller

  • 3,408 posts
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:44 PM

Anyone else think that sound is a bit harsh when you shoot the enemies ?



#19 usar666 OFFLINE  

usar666

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 17 posts

Posted Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:59 PM

I remember playing Rick Dangerous on my PC many years ago. It played remarkably well with the keyboard, with a little practice. :)

How many levels are there in the CV version?

We tried to get the best possible of the console, there are 3 levels.RAM , VRAM and ROM are full =)

 

 

Anyone else think that sound is a bit harsh when you shoot the enemies ?

If you talk about scream, we tried to get an acceptable result from the SN, that was a compromise betmeen performance/size impact and result as we didn't want that freeze the game when playing this sound.



#20 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:33 AM

Anyone else think that sound is a bit harsh when you shoot the enemies ?

 

On the beta version i played this year (visibility more recent than this video)  , this sound (the cry)  is really better.  



#21 TPR OFFLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:32 AM

I remember playing Rick Dangerous on my PC many years ago. It played remarkably well with the keyboard, with a little practice.

 

Ahh, yes.  I thought the game looked familiar.  I used to play the Amiga version.



#22 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:26 AM

 

Ahh, yes.  I thought the game looked familiar.  I used to play the Amiga version.

 

Yes, it is the same game.



#23 Kiwi OFFLINE  

Kiwi

    Stargunner

  • 1,505 posts

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:33 AM

 

It is the complete game, as far i know.  in 32K!!    The work they did on that game is incredible. (i know, i repeat myself! :) )    .  

Not only that.   They made the bgtiles having priority over the sprites is quite impressive.  TMS9918A doesn't have the foreground pixel tile pixels have priority over the sprites feature. I'm 85.394% sure of that unless there's a secret graphic mode that allows that. 



#24 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,305 posts

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:49 AM

Not only that.   They made the bgtiles having priority over the sprites is quite impressive.  TMS9918A doesn't have the foreground pixel tile pixels have priority over the sprites feature. I'm 85.394% sure of that unless there's a secret graphic mode that allows that. 

 

Indeed the TMS does not have this feature and no secret mode . All  is done by code.   I know how they did , but as i'm not sure the author would like i reveal the "secret"  , i prefer don't say.  But nothing magic. Just a very efficient coding.  As i said , the work done in that game is incredible.    You can not even imagine that a colecovision was able to do that. or let say that somebody that crazy enough to put so much effort to release a game like that in a "officially" dead console...   We are FAR FAR FAR away from the MSX ports for the SGM or SG1000 port .

 

And the thing even more incredible , is that  it is the first attempt to do something on the colecovision by the guys who did that.   Until recently they even did not have a real colecovision to test!



#25 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    Processorus Polyglotus

  • 5,322 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:30 PM

Not only that.   They made the bgtiles having priority over the sprites is quite impressive.  TMS9918A doesn't have the foreground pixel tile pixels have priority over the sprites feature. I'm 85.394% sure of that unless there's a secret graphic mode that allows that. 

 

In Sydney Hunter I emulated this behavior from Intellivision (where player sank into the sand) reloading dinamically the sprite with 0x00 bytes for the hidden portion of Sydney Hunter.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users