Jump to content

Photo

Let's clarify some things


40 replies to this topic

#26 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:29 PM

I do all it in Steem Debugger - so it is compatiblle with Steem (3.2) . What would be interesting is testing about will game work fine until finish - victory, last level ...

There are some games with possibly not flawless source, for instance. Like Son Shu Shi - only when some Atari guy (Official Ninja) played it little more, then it was discovered. It was not fixed, because no good copy of that game, but at least we know what and where is error. Usually, it is possible to find good source of game.

So, just play little longer games you like, and those where no C in last row in table.

Would be good to e-mail me which games you play - then I can put list on site, what is under testing currently. There will be lest of discovered problems too.



#27 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:53 AM

I looked over all unresolved report errors, and here is the list:

 

Loom, Monkey Island - no monochrome support. Not real errors, just lack of support.
Colorado - after music play at start finishes - 2 bombs. It is same with floppy versions. So, some bad code in game. Happens not if abort it with space
Doodle Bug - crash after level 3 or 4  -  I need to play it, obviously.
Cadaver - hangs while loading - expanding data on Falcon.
Iron Lord - Freezes after wargame part. That game is really buggy. Again, should play it ... Better would be some snapshot near to error.

 

Really not much of it ... Am I that good ?  :-D 

Probably will go on some next week.



#28 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Sat Dec 23, 2017 1:42 PM

Doodle Bug - complete new release, from STX source:

http://atari.8bitchi...Me/DOODLEBT.ZIP

I reached Fortress of Fear so far .



#29 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 631 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:49 PM

Doodle Bug - complete new release, from STX source:

http://atari.8bitchi...Me/DOODLEBT.ZIP

I reached Fortress of Fear so far .

 

Oh what a Christmas present!  Thank you for the fix!  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:  (Can we hope for War Zone?)

 

 

Can confirm crash is gone.  Works well with T28 accelerator (Cache Off). 

 
 
 

Edited by TheNameOfTheGame, Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:02 PM.


#30 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Sun Dec 24, 2017 6:52 AM

War at Xmas ? Come on :)

Actually, there were some more problems, errors. So, pls. DL it again from same loc.  I finished game - and even with heavy cheats it was very hard.

Not really good at 8MHz - better on Mega STE or Falcon at 16 MHz .



#31 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 631 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Sun Dec 24, 2017 9:52 AM

Yes, the game is very slow at 8Mhz.

 

Thanks for the fixes!


Edited by TheNameOfTheGame, Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:00 AM.


#32 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:13 AM

So I am trying to use the form at http://atari.8bitchip.info/atricl.php to register a bug with Blood Money.

 

And no matter what I try I get the same error: "Submitting...  Error!"

 

The problem with the game is that if you make the high score, the game crashes.  I am playing on a U.S. spec 4MB STE with TOS 1.62 loading off a Satan disk.

 

I also note that now the webpage http://atari.8bitchip.info/fromhd.phpdemands I acknowledge the request to help test and debug games.  That's cool.  But if you then try to sort the list of games into alphabetical order you are taken back to the same acknowledgement page, and the list is re-displayed but isn't sorted any differently.



#33 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:29 AM

Thanx jedi. That's just temporary quick change, what is at moment there. And that form is not active - I said it in some post here too.

At moment, e-mail or posting in forum is the way to report problems or success.  It needs some more thinking and probably testings to establish some submission way imune to spammers.

I will fix that sorting problem right now.



#34 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:25 AM

Fixed and updated Blood Money .  Get it at usual place.

Happy New Year  :party:



#35 TheNameOfTheGame OFFLINE  

TheNameOfTheGame

    Dragonstomper

  • 631 posts
  • Location:Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:53 AM

Thanks and Happy New Year!  :thumbsup:



#36 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:59 PM

Thanks for the Blood Money fix!

 

Will download and check it out when I get done rebuilding the Amiga's hard disk after a weekend of WHDLoad hell.



#37 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 5:14 AM


....

 after a weekend of WHDLoad hell.

What the Hell that means ? :-D

For now, it seems only like new Am vs At flame war trigger :rolling:



#38 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 1:20 AM

I have downloaded Blood Money and am trying to get a score good enough to verify the fix, but seeing that you have your name at the top of the high score list I am assuming you already did this :)

 

I also tested Rainbow Islands.  I remember having problems with this title in the past, but possibly with a different dump.  I noted that Rainbow Islands hangs on a 60Hz machine.  If I manually switch to 50Hz mode before starting the game it seems to run fine.  I don't know if thats the sort of thing you are looking for here or not.



#39 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 1:51 AM

That PP score is cheat. And you must not beat it. Enough is to reach 10-th pos. on list to activate high-score save.

 

I will add code to force it on 50 Hz - for Rainbow Islands.



#40 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Moonsweeper

  • 416 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 2:40 AM

Next one:  Nebulus.

 

In 60Hz mode the game crashes on start up with 3 bombs. 

 

In 50Hz mode it plays ok.



#41 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,121 posts

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 3:01 AM

Thanx oracle_jedi. I think that you don't need to report separately every case of not working at 60 Hz. I did not test it at 60 Hz at all in most cases. And as you know, it is easy to change refresh rate.

Some games just can not run properly at 60 Hz, some are intentionally made to not work (some kind of regional protection).  I really can not go into changing over 1000 launchers now. And instead some rigid switch to 50Hz, should be option to select desired rate by need. I can add it in newer adapts, if there will be ....   Ahhh, actually, I work on one, but that is just what will not work good at 60 Hz - 50 fps game. but 60 fps is not possible .






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users