Jump to content

Photo

Need help with FloImg1


22 replies to this topic

#1 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Mon Dec 25, 2017 11:05 AM

So I've been trying to make real ST floppies from virtual disks that I've downloaded from The Game Archives. I've tried about 20 - 25 and of those I've only been able to get a pinball wizard and a combo joust/millipede disk to work 

 

I've tried a working 720k disk which used to be an official disk that came from an ST magazine that I reformatted as well as a 1.44 disk formatted to 720k.

 

My disk drive may be the issue but I'm not sure as its a single sided drive in a PS3000 monitor. When I open an image the "geometry of image" says "sides 2" but it seems to write with no errors. However just about every single disk I put in the PS3000 gives me disk errors: "Drive A: Is not responding. Please check the disk drive" UNLESS that image said "Sides: 1" so am I to assume that I can only use images that are single sided?

 

Also my language disk seems to be borked. Every time I try to boot with it, the thing glitches out and I see two bombs on the screen. I can boot without it apparently or with other disks but the language disk just suddenly stopped working.

 

EDIT - made another language disk with another ex-ST magazine disk, again the image was single sided so I'm leaning more that with this drive I can only use single sided disk images. If so is there a way to tell before I download one?

 

Also I wiggled my mouse a bit and got it BRIEFLY to work in all directions. Pretty sure the mouse is fine and the mouse port needs some solder work.



#2 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,220 posts

Posted Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:15 PM

You should clean your floppy drive in Atari for start, especially upper head (it is for side B) . If that helps not replace drive. Is it double sided at all ?

Check model. In single sided no upper head,


Edited by ParanoidLittleMan, Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:16 PM.


#3 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:21 PM

I'm told the drive in a PS3000 is single sided. If so double sided disk images won't work?



#4 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:16 PM

Seems like the only advice I'm getting from the facebook group is to buy a Satan (what a name) or other type of hard disk or floppy drive replacement. Looks like I won't get much use with my ST setup and I'm not willing to drop a bunch of money (euro to canadian is high and all the modern drive replacements are outta europe) so I may try to unload the ST, sell the video cables and send the monitor to recycling. We'll see, it's a shame since the monitor is apparently rare but there's not much I can do with this set up it seems. Looks like I have the earliest ST with limited ram and the worst disk drive you could get. Just my luck eh? I was hoping to explore the ST game library a little more but without dropping at least well over a hundred Canadian on a drive solution, which I'm not willing to do, I'm stuck with a machine I can't use much and since room is at a premium I can't keep doorstops around.



#5 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,220 posts

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:33 PM

Not Satandisk but Ultrasatan - first is outdated and very slow.

And you can get Gotek or HxC HW floppy emulator  - work with SD cards too, where can store plenty of floppy images.

Yes, it will cost you some money, but this is best advice man can give you. That FB advance is really not up to date, that was actual 10 years ago.

Worst drive you could get ? Huh ! I bought my first ST with single sided drive, because it was 200 DEM cheaper than 2 sided one. And bought for that money double sided drive - so I got 2 drives for same money - single sided was good for some SW. Stop crying about money. Canada is not some poor country.



#6 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:20 PM

Not Satandisk but Ultrasatan - first is outdated and very slow.

And you can get Gotek or HxC HW floppy emulator  - work with SD cards too, where can store plenty of floppy images.

Yes, it will cost you some money, but this is best advice man can give you. That FB advance is really not up to date, that was actual 10 years ago.

Worst drive you could get ? Huh ! I bought my first ST with single sided drive, because it was 200 DEM cheaper than 2 sided one. And bought for that money double sided drive - so I got 2 drives for same money - single sided was good for some SW. Stop crying about money. Canada is not some poor country.

 

Worst drive in that single sided drives will limit me in what I can do. And of course Canada is not a poor country. I was talking about the exchange rate. With shipping an Ultra Satan would be $167 Canadian shipped for me. That's not chump change, especially when this is a computer I just want to mess around with for a few months and not keep long term. 

 

Aside from all of this, my original question was about floImg1 and double sided images in a single sided drive.



#7 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,220 posts

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:21 PM

 

 

Aside from all of this, my original question was about floImg1 and double sided images in a single sided drive.

Well, I'm who coded that SW. And forgive me for my poor skills, but it can not write 2 sided disk image onto 1 side of disk .

This thread is just waste of time. You really can not get some most elementary things ?



#8 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:33 PM

Just looking for confirmation of what I suspected, but you're right, waste of time. Probably best this thread go no further. 



#9 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,126 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:12 PM

This link might help. Have you tried formatting a disk with your PS3000?

 

http://atariage.com/...t2pc-made-easy/

 

 

 



#10 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:40 AM

Now that might be a possibility. I tried to format a disk but I didn't see that option on my TOS. Perhaps it's an older version that doesn't have formatting. I'll try to find one of those cables thanks for the link :)



#11 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,126 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:06 PM

Here's a link for the Atari ST manual!  http://www.atarimani...anuals_2_S.html



#12 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,126 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:15 PM

Now that might be a possibility. I tried to format a disk but I didn't see that option on my TOS. Perhaps it's an older version that doesn't have formatting. I'll try to find one of those cables thanks for the link :)

It's all good I know what it's like to use an Atari ST in North America. :spidey:



#13 atarian1 OFFLINE  

atarian1

    Dragonstomper

  • 590 posts
  • Location:Northern California

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:07 AM

Seems like the only advice I'm getting from the facebook group is to buy a Satan (what a name) or other type of hard disk or floppy drive replacement. Looks like I won't get much use with my ST setup and I'm not willing to drop a bunch of money (euro to canadian is high and all the modern drive replacements are outta europe) so I may try to unload the ST, sell the video cables and send the monitor to recycling. We'll see, it's a shame since the monitor is apparently rare but there's not much I can do with this set up it seems. Looks like I have the earliest ST with limited ram and the worst disk drive you could get. Just my luck eh? I was hoping to explore the ST game library a little more but without dropping at least well over a hundred Canadian on a drive solution, which I'm not willing to do, I'm stuck with a machine I can't use much and since room is at a premium I can't keep doorstops around.

 

(Rant on...)

 

WTF? :? W. T. F.  :? :mad:  Why don't you sell the monitor too? Donate it back to the store you bought it from. Sell it on eBay. Someone will want it. Yet you know it's rare, but you would rather destroy it than to make someone else happy with it. :(

 

I find it so hypocritical that you complain about spending $167 on an UltraSatan SD card drive, yet you would rather throw away a perfectly good rare monitor that is in demand. The last PS3000 monitor sold for $250 on eBay. You would rather throw away $250, yet you complain that $167 is too much for you to spend. W.T.F. :mad: :? You act poor (I can't $167 to spend...), yet you act like you're filthy rich ($250 is nothing to me. I would rather throw it away...)  Un-(f***en)-believable! No wonder you are poor...

 

You need another hobby. Seriously. Vintage computers are not for you if you throw them away instead of giving it to someone who wants it because you can't figure it out. I can't imagine what would happen if you ended up with an Atari Falcon030, Atari 1450XLD, Apple I or something. "It's too hard for me to figure out so I'm throwing it away!" :mad: 

 

(Rant off...)



#14 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:42 AM

Take it easy I was just blowing off steam of course I'm not throwing it away. Who said I was poor? The poor person spends money frivolously which is why I don't want to bother with Satan (That has to be an acronym right?) If and when I do sell it I'll post it here, not on ebay. Seeing the passion I'm assuming I'll have no problem selling it for market value plus the incredible cost of shipping it. I won't sell it on ebay. Too many potential issues with buyers there. I don't mind selling small, low dollar items there but something like this has been problematic for me in the past.

 

There's actually a fellow on the ST facebook group out of Toronto who offered a trade of another color monitor and separate disk drive for it, which I'll take him up on if we can meet up locally. 

 

I picked up the ST on a lark, it was essentially free as it only cost me store credit. I've stated before it's a system I'll play around with a bit and then resell which is why I'm not putting a lot of money into it. I'm trying to keep my collection smaller and include only items I play regularly. The ST was offered to me by a store employee that I have a great relationship with, he wanted it gone. It wouldn't sell and I'm the local Atari guy so we made a deal. 

 

So unbunch your panties and keep your rants to yourself. You want to discuss this with some civility then pm me. 



#15 fedepede04 OFFLINE  

fedepede04

    Chopper Commander

  • 123 posts

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:03 AM

Hi 

you could check this out, it is sold from Canada 

https://www.ebay.co....lgAAOSwU1FXP8Dw

 

https://www.ebay.co....lgAAOSwU1FXP8Dw

 

you can get it a lot cheaper if you but it direct from China 

in black

https://www.ebay.co....SEAAOSwQItUH8Vh

and in white

https://www.ebay.co....ksAAOSwKtVWyYQZ



#16 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:05 AM

Thanks very much but my question about those is - are they designed to replace floppy drives on ST's with internal drives or will they connect with a cable to the back of an ST because my ST is an early model with no internal drive.

 

Also on another note, what is a good replacement for the power switch? Mine is a bit wonky and i need to fiddle with it to get the ST to turn on properly. Something from digikey or mouser perhaps?



#17 fedepede04 OFFLINE  

fedepede04

    Chopper Commander

  • 123 posts

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:21 AM

i think they are to be build inside the case, but maybe you could replace the single drive with it and use it as an external drive, like you do now.

and when you sell your ST you can just restore it to original, and keep the Gotex  drive and use it for an other computer.

i had one of the first STfm back in the days, and i could just replace the original drive (SS) with an PC DS drive and it work, if you do just the remember to turn the cabel upside down(flip it 180 deg) 


Edited by fedepede04, Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:22 AM.


#18 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:26 AM

i think they are to be build inside the case, but maybe you could replace the single drive with it and use it as an external drive, like you do now.

and when you sell your ST you can just restore it to original, and keep the Gotex  drive and use it for an other computer.

i had one of the first STfm back in the days, and i could just replace the original drive (SS) with an PC DS drive and it work, if you do just the remember to turn the cabel upside down(flip it 180 deg) 

 

Oh ok that's a possibility. I didn't know the drive on the PS3000 was replaceable.



#19 fedepede04 OFFLINE  

fedepede04

    Chopper Commander

  • 123 posts

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:41 AM

i don't know if you can on a PS3000 but you could do it on the STFM, so it is worth trying  :)



#20 AtariLeaf ONLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,646 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:17 AM

I've got a manual for this monitor so i'll look into opening it up on the weekend. Is it dangerous to open a CRT? I thought I read there was a shock hazard so I'll have to be careful. Thanks for your help :)



#21 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,126 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:40 AM

Hi 

you could check this out, it is sold from Canada 

https://www.ebay.co....lgAAOSwU1FXP8Dw

 

https://www.ebay.co....lgAAOSwU1FXP8Dw

 

you can get it a lot cheaper if you but it direct from China 

in black

https://www.ebay.co....SEAAOSwQItUH8Vh

and in white

https://www.ebay.co....ksAAOSwKtVWyYQZ

WOW, thanks! 



#22 fedepede04 OFFLINE  

fedepede04

    Chopper Commander

  • 123 posts

Posted Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:12 PM

WOW, thanks! 

you are welcome :)



#23 anzac OFFLINE  

anzac

    Chopper Commander

  • 145 posts
  • Location:Portugal

Posted Tue Jan 2, 2018 1:38 PM

if you don´t want to go for a gotek or similar floppy replacement, just replace the single sided drive on the PS3000 with a double sided drive or even an HD. you can just dremel the case button to fit.

 

however, with the apparent rarity of the PS3000, i would really either keep it or trade it like described above.

 

you can also get a cheap, Atari ST with a double sided floppy probably near you.

 

it would help to know what ST model you have, TOS version, etc, so that the community can help back.

 

also, it doesn´t help to throw back advice just because you don´t like it. UltraSATAN is not cheap, Gotek is a little bit cheaper, but with original drives way beyond what could be conceived as service life, they keep our machines going. a hard drive type solution is, IMO, better, since it gives you a lot more options. and to transfer software from PC to Atari, i settled on a simple, easy, cheap solution that works like a charm:

 

https://joy.sophics..../parcp-usb.HTML

 

there are many, many hard drive options for the Atari, external and internal, cheaper and more expensive, but fun is guaranteed. :)

 

 

give to the community and the community will give back to you. good and bad....






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users