Jump to content

Photo

Altirra 3.00 released

altirra emulation

595 replies to this topic

#551 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:41 PM

Regular execution history is limited to 128K instructions. The performance analyzer tracer can buffer more and will allow searching within a window of 400K instructions within the trace.

 

Another option is the heat map (hme, etc.). It tracks read and write accesses to addresses and can tell you the 'source' of the current value stored at an address.

 

Using "r; g" as the condition can cause stepping to run away due to resuming execution when the breakpoint hits. Using the -n option to the bx command with just "r" as the breakpoint action is better as that sets a non-stopping breakpoint. Current test versions also have bta command that makes this easier; it is the memory access version of the tracepoint (bt) command.



#552 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:30 PM

http://www.virtualdu...3.10-test34.zip

http://www.virtualdu...-test34-src.zip

 

  • Fixed a regression that caused a hang when resetting input maps to default.
  • Fixed a bug in Fast Boot that sometimes caused a few bytes in memory to not be cleared, breaking a couple of programs.


#553 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,041 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:22 AM

i need to ship a standalone Altirra with my next release. 

 

Where can I see the ".ini" file?

 

In a perfect world I would like to configure to the desired settings, copy/paste Altirra and .ini file and bundle it with my demo. Jac did it with his SillyPack. Or do I have to manually edit that ini file?

 

another option would be save state file? but a file with ini-segments ($2e2) does not stop altirra (break at run adress) as its not $2e0...

 

ideas/help?



#554 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:51 AM

The easiest way would be to make a folder with ALtirra and its needed  OS roms (unless its works ok under Avery's internal bios) in the main dir, then run it with a /portable command line..(If you don't use the command line initially it will use the registry settings it has stored (if any))

 

Then setup the release as you want it and altirra to do out with all the settings done, close altirra and there it is..A stand alone version of Altirra with its own special ini for your release..

 

And that way your own Altirra if its using the registry is untouched..

 

Paul..

 

(Sorry about the hand held look of the post Heaven, its just incase anyone else wants to have an Altirra with an ini file to do something special away from their own Altirra settings)

 

Methinks you are able to use basic and the like ;)

 

Lol...Sorry...Looking forward to the new release...


Edited by Mclaneinc, Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:55 AM.


#555 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,041 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:57 AM

Thx Paul, sounds good. will try later today. just want to make sure that it works "out of the box" for ppl without any Altirra knowledge. So your way could be perfect. I let you know.



#556 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:01 AM

Should be fine, If it needs IDE stuff etc just stuff the roms in with altirra and do a firmware scan  before you shut it down so they are known to the setup, as long as its all self contained in that folder it should be fully transportable..

 

Have fun

 

Paul..



#557 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,041 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:13 AM

works flawless... thx.



#558 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:48 AM

Glad to help...



#559 R0ger OFFLINE  

R0ger

    Moonsweeper

  • 350 posts
  • Location:Olomouc, Czech Republic

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:11 AM

What !? You can do THAT ? I've been pulling my hairs over settings in registry for years ! :D



#560 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:54 PM

Sorry ROger, you only had to ask :)



#561 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,759 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:46 PM

Attached File  AltirraCrash.zip   20.37KB   18 downloads

 

I am trying to mount folders as virtual SpartaDos Disk.

 



#562 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:03 PM

Fixed:

http://www.virtualdu...3.10-test35.zip

http://www.virtualdu...-test35-src.zip



#563 mr_gw454 OFFLINE  

mr_gw454

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:25 PM

Phaeron -- thanks for all the updates.  This is a fantastic emulator!  A bonus is that it runs extremely well in wine 3.x in Linux.



#564 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 4:50 PM

Release candidate:

http://www.virtualdu...3.10-test36.zip

http://www.virtualdu...-test36-src.zip

 

  • Fixed a few regressions in disk drive debugging: issues with intermittent stepping and not being able to set PC, and 8048 R0/R1 registers being reported incorrectly in history.


#565 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Aug 6, 2018 4:09 AM

Another milestone in completeness...

 

2600 emulation?

 

Lol...Just joking, I know that's a whole different ball game...

 

Regarding Altirra, to quote Paulie from Rocky III (1982 Sylvester Stallone film) when looking at the newly put up Rocky statue by the city, he looks at it and says "Its a thing of beauty"....That's Altirra :)


Edited by Mclaneinc, Mon Aug 6, 2018 4:10 AM.


#566 massiverobot OFFLINE  

massiverobot

    Star Raider

  • 98 posts
  • Location:Philly

Posted Mon Aug 6, 2018 7:10 AM

I downloaded and ran Altirra yesterday for the first time... I use OSX and have run atari800 for years. Yes, I'm used to no sound, I don't run it for everything.

 

But I did shed a small tear- Altirra is so nice and has so many features. I cried because there isn't something like this for OSX (yet..?)

 

It would be nice to have a master config file generated that could be edited (to cut down on too much UI clicking to setup a working profile) but the features and the setup.... nice job.

 

Thanks for building this amazing software.

 

The first time I had it booting with the U1M BIOS after just 5min of fiddling I was speechless!



#567 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,603 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Mon Aug 6, 2018 7:58 AM

Another milestone in completeness...
 
2600 emulation?


Stella is already pretty damn good. Check out the current v5 releases. :)

#568 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Aug 6, 2018 8:55 AM

I downloaded and ran Altirra yesterday for the first time... I use OSX and have run atari800 for years. Yes, I'm used to no sound, I don't run it for everything.

 

But I did shed a small tear- Altirra is so nice and has so many features. I cried because there isn't something like this for OSX (yet..?)

 

It would be nice to have a master config file generated that could be edited (to cut down on too much UI clicking to setup a working profile) but the features and the setup.... nice job.

 

Thanks for building this amazing software.

 

The first time I had it booting with the U1M BIOS after just 5min of fiddling I was speechless!

 

If you run it via command line with a /portable switch at the end you will get the cfg / ini file you want, it will then use that until you delete it and then it will go back to using the registry..



#569 fujidude OFFLINE  

fujidude

    Quadrunner

  • 5,177 posts
  • Location:United States of America

Posted Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:18 PM

 

If you run it via command line with a /portable switch at the end you will get the cfg / ini file you want, it will then use that until you delete it and then it will go back to using the registry..

 

Yep there is that and it's great.  But also within a "single" Altirra configuration you can have endless setups and easily choose between them from within Altirra itself too.



#570 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,041 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 1:47 PM

To Avery: thanks to my Turbo Freezer debugger I might found another VBXE emu bug.

In XDL Altirra interprets x3 as wide screen while real hw switched back to narrow wide.

Real hw

0 narrow
1 normal
2 wide

And 3 is narrow again while 3 Altirra remains in wide.

Core 1.26. Havent checked core 1.24.

#571 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,135 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 3:13 PM

 

Yep there is that and it's great.  But also within a "single" Altirra configuration you can have endless setups and easily choose between them from within Altirra itself too.

 

Indeed, that was just for someone doing stuff by command line only to be easy.....The profile system on Altirra is great, could do with a spruce up which have been mentioned in the past (so no repeat requests)...

 

Paul.



#572 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,845 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 3:53 PM

I downloaded and ran Altirra yesterday for the first time... I use OSX and have run atari800 for years. Yes, I'm used to no sound, I don't run it for everything.

 

But I did shed a small tear- Altirra is so nice and has so many features. I cried because there isn't something like this for OSX (yet..?)

 

It would be nice to have a master config file generated that could be edited (to cut down on too much UI clicking to setup a working profile) but the features and the setup.... nice job.

 

Thanks for building this amazing software.

 

The first time I had it booting with the U1M BIOS after just 5min of fiddling I was speechless!

I always think warp and OS 'X' as something other than apple os ten (X)

No tears, I eat apples... :)



#573 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 9:47 PM

To Avery: thanks to my Turbo Freezer debugger I might found another VBXE emu bug.

In XDL Altirra interprets x3 as wide screen while real hw switched back to narrow wide.

Real hw

0 narrow
1 normal
2 wide

And 3 is narrow again while 3 Altirra remains in wide.

Core 1.26. Havent checked core 1.24.

 

Yes, confirmed from the VHDL, I'll fix it for 3.20.



#574 pajero_pn OFFLINE  

pajero_pn

    Star Raider

  • 76 posts
  • Location:Poland (Europe) / Swarzedz_City

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2018 9:13 AM

Altirra Command-Line

 

Usage: Altirra [switches] <disk/cassette/cartridge images...>

 

 

Please add a switch to indicate to the debugger the source code:

 

/source <txt.asm>



#575 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,630 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA, USA

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2018 11:47 AM

Altirra Command-Line

 

Usage: Altirra [switches] <disk/cassette/cartridge images...>

 

 

Please add a switch to indicate to the debugger the source code:

 

/source <txt.asm>

 

I'm not sure what this would do...? The debugger has source code support so it can map between addresses and source code lines. If it doesn't already know the source file, it won't know any line mappings either and this switch won't fix that.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: altirra, emulation

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users