Jump to content

Photo

Very cheap SCART to HDMI converter: be worth?


30 replies to this topic

#1 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:41 AM

Hello all,

 

I can find this converter for €1 (one Euro) including shipping from China;

OxIq.jpg

 

JdYq.jpg

M0z0.jpg

The price is that low that I don't feel confortable and wonder where is the problem and if it a scam nor not.

 

There are videos on YT showing this material plugged to a Jag and a TV via hdmi and it seems working...

 

Any opinion/experience with this device?

 

N.B: I know already it need to solder a resistor on the SCART to work properly but anything else to report??

http://atariage.com/...n-atari-jaguar/

 

It seems I can play my Jag on my iMac via an El Gate 60S: this devise is using a software: any idea what software I could use with that converter if it is OK?


Edited by Felyx, Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:46 AM.


#2 keepdreamin OFFLINE  

keepdreamin

    Stargunner

  • 1,565 posts

Posted Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:15 AM

It's going to treat 240P content as 480i, so that means once images start moving it'll be somewhat blurry.

 

I'd recommend watching the whole thing, but especially: 6:47 - 12:00

 



#3 marss OFFLINE  

marss

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:12 PM

Felix... Can you give the reference of the product? Thanks



#4 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:08 AM

Thank you for the video. So it will work but with a limited/poor quality if I understood well.

Now I wonder if I need to buy a flat screen monitor or if I can manage to plug it to my iMac and if I will have to install a software or not.



#5 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:40 AM

It seems this converter has no clear reference: it can be found easily from many places on the web and at various prices from €1 to more than 40 but the pictures are always similar showing a device without any reference written on it :/



#6 marss OFFLINE  

marss

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:17 AM

Felix... can you provide a link? Thanks



#7 Sporadic OFFLINE  

Sporadic

    Moonsweeper

  • 496 posts
  • Probably RB+ing
  • Location:UK

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:25 AM

I've got my Jag plugged in to one of these through scart. The hdmi then comes from this and into an Elgato Game capture HD. Then finally into a 15inch flatscreen via VGA cable. 

 

I can't feel any lag while playing on the flatscreen (which is the main point to worry about). The picture isn't bad either. 

 

I'm not saying it's the same or better than some of the more expensive options out there but for what it costs, you cannot argue.

 

Most of my YouTube vids are recorded through this setup.

 

Eg.

 

 

Or the Astrostorm trailer gameplay bits.

 

I got mine through Amazon though for about £17 but as said already, there are lots of variations of this device. I didn't need to solder anything either.

 

Edit: Something slightly annoying with it: The temporary blue overlay that states the resolution etc stays up for too long (about 15 seconds) which can be annoying if you want to start recording. This pops up whenever you reset the Jag. 


Edited by Sporadic, Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:42 AM.


#8 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:33 AM

Below are some links from eBay amongst numerous other links for the same device in ePay, Amazon, Price Minister, CDiscount and many other places:

https://www.ebay.fr/...353.m2748.l2649

 

https://www.ebay.fr/...5.c100005.m1851

 

https://www.ebay.fr/...5.c100005.m1851

 

Now it can costs up to €50 for a totally similar device:

eqaE.jpg

 

Even on eBay, you can find it at €25: sounds it is like open bar: come and pay what you want for it :D

s9q5.jpg

 

Difficult to see if we are talking about the same device or different devices inside a same black box...

 

Nothing very precise about ref nor specs nor technology, just a list of functions:

a0Bo.jpg

2BIO.jpg

RqqM.jpg

 

The price of €1 is that low I wonder how they can do any margin and how it is possible for that price to get something decent but for that price I bought one so let see.

 

My first idea was to plug the Jag to my iMac via HDMI port: this is something easy to do for for example a Nintendo Switch by using an Elgato 60S. It requires to install on the Mac their software "Game capture" and that's it.

 

 

The problem is: that Elgato converter doesn't have any SCART plug this is why I found that "€1 too cheap to be honest" converter.


Edited by Felyx, Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:43 AM.


#9 keepdreamin OFFLINE  

keepdreamin

    Stargunner

  • 1,565 posts

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:32 AM

Another problem with these cheap scalers is there's no way of knowing who's made it.  These have been around now for a quite a while.  That means you could be buying a clone of a clone of a clone of the original design. 



#10 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 8:59 AM

Sure that no brand no ref doesn't help and let me think of a something very cheap but at €1 anyway can't wait for a miracle.

I ordered one as the risk taken is quite low  :grin: so let see...

 

Now I wonder if that will be possible to plug it on my iMac and play Jaguar games on it or not.



#11 Christos OFFLINE  

Christos

    Stargunner

  • 1,014 posts
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted Tue Jan 2, 2018 3:22 PM

Can you provide a link for the 1 euro one?

#12 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 7:25 AM

I saw it is no longer priced €1: now the same auction is priced € 8.99.

 

U4y7.jpg

 

It is quite easy to find on eBay or other sites by searching for "smart to hdmi"

 

I realise I was at the right place at the right timeout €9 is still quite cheap even if I can say I paid 9 times less :)


Edited by Felyx, Sat Jan 6, 2018 7:58 AM.


#13 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 7:30 AM

I received mine and despite it costs me only €1 it is doing the job:

 

WDVV.jpg

IwtY.jpg

j5PQ.jpg

 

Now I have to see if I can get the picture higher but even if it stays like this it is for me a big step forward compare to the Atari tube screen the Jag was pugged to before.



#14 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,178 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 8:41 AM

Wait a minute... you ordered this from CHINA and you got it in one week?

 

How is that possible?  When I order a small item from China on eBay or Amazon, it takes at least a month!  



#15 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 9:19 AM

eBay auction shows the product was in France already:

bWX4.jpg

 

I still don't understand how it is possible to do some money when sending this device only €1: the shipping costs alone is higher  :?  but anyway the converter is home and I spend only €1 as incredible it can be.

 

Now the price is € 8.99 for the same auction but I paid for it € 1 as the price was €1 one week before:

gcbY.jpg

 

In this quest to plug my Jag on HDMI, nothing is normal since the beginning: the converter was found at silly price, purchased from a a Chinese vendor but shipped from my country so I get it in less than one week and this morning while looking for a PC monitor to replace my good old Atari ST screen, I found a Philips 40' with almost 60% off  :-o

PAWg.jpg

LvSd.jpg

 

My first idea was to plug the Jag to my iMac 21' screen but I took it :)


Edited by Felyx, Sat Jan 6, 2018 9:41 AM.


#16 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 11:25 AM

OK now I am fully happy with that combo (1€ converter + €299 40' monitor) as I can play my Jag games in full screen and guess what? against all odds that Chinese converter is not that bad at all, probably beating devices like Elgato and others but the quality of the pictures I get is not bad at all. 

ueKe.jpg

So thank you to this converter  :thumbsup:



#17 madman OFFLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,741 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 12:27 PM

How can people stand playing 4:3 games stretched to 16:9? Drives me nuts just seeing pics of that.



#18 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,136 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 4:39 PM

How can people stand playing 4:3 games stretched to 16:9? Drives me nuts just seeing pics of that.

Thanks - I didn't want to mention that!



#19 Felyx OFFLINE  

Felyx

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Angers, France, Europe, planet Earth, Solar System, Universe

Posted Sun Jan 7, 2018 1:34 AM

How can people stand playing 4:3 games stretched to 16:9? Drives me nuts just seeing pics of that.

 

Guys do you realize I opened this topic to share with you the info about a €1 SCART converter, that I bought yesterday a 40' monitor and the pics I shot are taken almost out of the box?

 

You don't even give me the time to understand how to setup the monitor and you're posting or approving unfriendly reactions: WTF??

Nothing more interesting to do with your lives than shitting sarcasms?

 

Next time I find something interesting for the Jag don't count on me to share it with the community as I am fed up with this kind of behaviour.


Edited by Felyx, Sun Jan 7, 2018 1:45 AM.


#20 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,178 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Sun Jan 7, 2018 9:29 AM

Relax.  I didn't notice any sarcasm; Madman made a valid comment.  Older games stretched out from 4:3 to widescreen _do_ look awful.  

 

I see no comment that assumes that is your final result.  In fact, when I saw your photo my reaction was exactly the same as Madman's,  If I had that result straight out of the box, my first reaction would have been, "Okay, that's a start - now how do I adjust it so it looks normal?"



#21 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,136 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sun Jan 7, 2018 2:38 PM

I say you should really relax.  If you think that was a harsh or sarcastic post, you will never survive 2 days here :)



#22 ave1 OFFLINE  

ave1

    Moonsweeper

  • 440 posts

Posted Tue Jan 9, 2018 10:30 PM

Glad it works and works probably better than hooking things up with the S-video connector. Pretty awesome :)

#23 Jagosaurus OFFLINE  

Jagosaurus

    Dragonstomper

  • 521 posts
  • Location:Houston, TEXAS

Posted Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:15 AM

I was reading reviews for the Akura HDMI box for the Dreamcast and certain TVs will automatically stretch the 4:3 it is outputting to 16:9. The solution was to run it through a Framemeister (HDMI in, then HDMI out) which somehow the TV would then display the game image as 4:3. Worth noting, I read several reviews where the TVs shook hands at 4:3 480p over HDMI just fine directly from the box itself.

 

If some TVs have issues with 4:3 out of the higher end $85 Akura, I bet this this budget box is 16:9 out of the gate. Even if it is passing 4:3 across, your TV might not like the signal and automatically stretch it. I know my TV doesn't have option to go 4:3 on HDMI within the menus although it is there on others such as component, composite, s vid. If the upscaler device and TV shake hands as 16:9 there is no manually changing it on the TV side on my gameroom setup. I also assume this budget box lacks a menu system with manual settings? This is where the in depth menu system and many options intended for retro gaming come into play on the Framemiester. 

 

Essentially, 4:3 over HDMI can be tricky and depend on your upscaler, as well as the TV/monitor. Going cheap is rolling the dice. Overall, if you're okay with 16:9 and/or your TV only has HDMI (and you're not shelling out the $300+ for a XRGB), this is an interesting budget set up as an option.



#24 TonVH OFFLINE  

TonVH

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Wed Mar 7, 2018 11:23 AM

I found this ( on Amazon.de. Anyone have experience with this?

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 61YsjJTLfOL._SL1000_.jpg


#25 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,178 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Wed Mar 7, 2018 4:45 PM

Yes.  I bought one of those Minis about two months ago, and use it with a Dell 27" monitor that has only HDMI and VGA inputs. 

It's okay; the picture quality is still only AV composite quality, but now blown up onto a larger screen.

 

It works decently for the Jaguar, though I've found for some other systems I sometimes get red smears along edges. 

I don't complain though; I only paid $10 including shipping from China.


Edited by ls650, Wed Mar 7, 2018 4:47 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users