Jump to content

Photo

install SCSI2SD in Atari SH204


10 replies to this topic

#1 PK-DC OFFLINE  

PK-DC

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Mon Jan 8, 2018 10:42 AM

It is possible to install a SCSI2SD V5 inside of SH204 for use with my 1040STF?

 

I read somewhere the SH204 has SCSI support

 

Thanks for any advise



#2 anzac OFFLINE  

anzac

    Chopper Commander

  • 149 posts
  • Location:Portugal

Posted Mon Jan 8, 2018 10:51 AM

I wish i could help. i had an SH204 years ago. served me good when my STe was still my main machine.

 

i do have a SCSI2SD adapter that i ordered for my TT, which is going to be tested now with MSTE and Stacy for compatibility purposes.

 

i also have an SH205 that is in unknown working condition, but i didn´t even think to try the SCSI2SD there.

 

i thought these old drives used pre-SCSI technology, but i did read some forum posts that people were sucessfull in installing 200MB SCSI drives on SH204s, so...

 

sorry i can´t be more helpful.



#3 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,168 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Mon Jan 8, 2018 11:07 AM

The SH204 has a RLL Controller so I don't you can use the SCSI2SD adapter.



#4 Lynxpro OFFLINE  

Lynxpro

    River Patroller

  • 3,601 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:44 AM

I was just thinking about this in the shower the other day.  What can you do with an SH204 today if the hard drive flakes out?  Has anyone put an UltraSatan inside one before?



#5 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Stargunner

  • 1,311 posts

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:18 AM

I was just thinking about this in the shower the other day.  What can you do with an SH204 today if the hard drive flakes out?  Has anyone put an UltraSatan inside one before?

'Inside' ? All you can do with SH204 is to donate it to some computer museum. And use UltraSatan without it :) 



#6 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,168 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:16 AM

I was just thinking about this in the shower the other day.  What can you do with an SH204 today if the hard drive flakes out?  Has anyone put an UltraSatan inside one before?

Best best electronics has NOS if you want to replace a drive. ;) ;)


Edited by walter_J64bit, Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:16 AM.


#7 Lynxpro OFFLINE  

Lynxpro

    River Patroller

  • 3,601 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:48 PM

Best best electronics has NOS if you want to replace a drive. ;) ;)

 

I meant are there any adapters that could be used in the place of the antiquated RLL stuff? Are there any adapters that could be plugged in or soldered on the SH204's board so it could be useful with more recent tech? SCSI? IDE? 



#8 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,168 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:14 PM

 

I meant are there any adapters that could be used in the place of the antiquated RLL stuff? Are there any adapters that could be plugged in or soldered on the SH204's board so it could be useful with more recent tech? SCSI? IDE? 

Oh, OK, I have read about a RLL to SD card but it's pricey.

 

https://www.drem.info/buy


Edited by walter_J64bit, Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:15 PM.


#9 Lynxpro OFFLINE  

Lynxpro

    River Patroller

  • 3,601 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted Sat Feb 3, 2018 11:32 AM

Oh, OK, I have read about a RLL to SD card but it's pricey.

 

https://www.drem.info/buy

 

Something tells me they are aiming for desperate industrial customers with ancient hardware that's still working but require RLL/MFM devices. Surely the VGA output and keyboard ports aren't the reason why that sucker is so expensive.



#10 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,168 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sat Feb 3, 2018 5:20 PM

 

Something tells me they are aiming for desperate industrial customers with ancient hardware that's still working but require RLL/MFM devices. Surely the VGA output and keyboard ports aren't the reason why that sucker is so expensive.

I think your right, this why I've got a NOS drive from Best Electronics when I was working on my SH205 AKA "Megafile 20" But I would love to get my hands on a  3.5" HH RLL Hard Drive with 50 MB or more but any way. I do have fun using my SH205 as is.



#11 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:36 PM

Just to let folks know, DREM has released their version 2 of the DREM board that replaces MFM and or RLL drives.  It can also serve as a floppy emulator.  Present support is for either 2 floppies or 2 hard drives.  I bought two to replace aging MFM drives on two computers for the TI-99/4A.  The developer, Oleksandr, was on top of things and within about 3 days, had my TI-99/4A and Geneve 9640 that used a slightly different chipset working as it should.

 

At $269, it is not cheap, but it is a LOT cheaper than other MFM emulators out there that are over $1500.

 

Check out www.drem.info for details.

 

Beery






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users