passthrough upgrade ram vector crazy cartridge better games

15 replies to this topic

#1 Trip2018 OFFLINE  

Trip2018

Space Invader

• 18 posts
  • young nerd

Posted Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:35 AM

So I was puting away my 2600 when an idea hit me, what if there was an advanced passthrough cartridge almost like the sega 32x. Here's a list of features it could include.

-Built in bios

-Extra 64k ram

-Cartridge pull out protector (If you pull out a cartridge, it will reboot to the bois)

-Sid chip (so we can finally have better music in our games)

-Upgradeable

-Dpc+ and Superchip compatible

I would love to do this myself but I'm not very good with electronics nor do I have the budget to do it. XD

#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 2,579 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:59 AM

SID chip? Hell, no. Keep that Commodore crap out of my Atari. If you want to hypothetically add more sound, you'd have to go with Atari's own POKEY. Problem is, the little 6507 processor has a limited address space as it is; adding more registers and the data to control a more capable chip gets problematic real fast.

Most of the rest of your wish list is already satisfied by the existing Melody board games that have on-board ARM co-processor chips. Play Space Rocks, Medieval Mayhem or Stay Frosty 2 to see what can be accomplished with those. 

#3 Trip2018 OFFLINE  

Trip2018

Space Invader

• Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • young nerd

Posted Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:11 AM

I was also considering uograded graphics chip but I like 2600 graphics.

#4 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

Quadrunner

• 6,356 posts

Posted Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:25 AM

So I was puting away my 2600 when an idea hit me, what if there was an advanced passthrough cartridge almost like the sega 32x. Here's a list of features it could include.

-Built in bios

-Extra 64k ram

-Cartridge pull out protector (If you pull out a cartridge, it will reboot to the bois)