IGNORED

A very noob question/proposition.

darkfalzx

Hello,

I am a pixel artist and indie developer familiar with only the high-level dev languages like basic (ZX Spectrum variety) and GameMaker Studio. I have published several games for PC and modern consoles (PS4/Xbone/OUYA(?!)), and was wondering if Jaguar could be a feasible target to re-code my games on. Now, at the moment I'm only testing the waters to get an idea of how complicated Jag development would be, and to see if anyone in the community would be willing to come along for the ride. Here are some videos of my games in action:

Ultionus: A Tale of Petty Revenge

https://youtu.be/9nFw09e7TDs

Mystik Belle

https://youtu.be/LZvCqdcBiNY

Maziak

https://youtu.be/9MfgVYvIPYo

Ultionus is the simpler and more straight-forward of the two finished commercial games. It's a sidescrolling shooter with minimal special effects. It is rather asset-rich, and does include a fair number of skeletal-ish sprite animations for bosses, but I'm sure those could be worked around or pre-baked.

beX8AdS.gif

Mystik Belle is the more complex game. It's a combination of a point-and-click adventure and a metroidvania. The light effects, though real-time in the original, could either be greatly simplified or pre-baked into the scenery. Personally, I would much rather see this game on the Jag, as the system, in my opinion, severely lacks games with a plot and large, pretty 2D sprites.

Maziac was my very first finished PC game all the way back in 2004. Though it's primitive, it is likely that it could be re-done on Jag with less effort than the others. It uses a tile-based lighting system that could serve as a testing ground for effects used in Belle.

Please let me know if I'm insane to even propose something like this, or if someone here would be willing to at least play around with those games' assets to see if they are interested.

Edited by darkfalzx
  • Like 13