Jump to content

Photo

Sound to Ampified external speakers...


8 replies to this topic

#1 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:57 PM

I asked this in another thread but I think it is buried too deep, so I'll start a new one.

 

Is it possible to connect an internal wire to the sound input of the RF modulator and run it to a set of self

amplified external speakers?  I realize you couldn't get stereo out, but I have a set of 4" self amplified

speakers that I think could rattle my windows (it's an old Soundblaster Pro set).

 

Thanks,

DavidMil



#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,988 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:37 PM

I asked this in another thread but I think it is buried too deep, so I'll start a new one.

 

Is it possible to connect an internal wire to the sound input of the RF modulator and run it to a set of self

amplified external speakers?  I realize you couldn't get stereo out, but I have a set of 4" self amplified

speakers that I think could rattle my windows (it's an old Soundblaster Pro set).

 

Thanks,

DavidMil

 

You could also just wire up a DIN connector with just the Audio and Ground wires and terminate in a 1/8" male plug, and plug that into the Atari monitor port (assuming you're not talking about a 400 or 600XL that is). The signal from the Atari should be roughly line level, or at least hot enough to drive the input of a set of powered speakers.



#3 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Dragonstomper

  • 968 posts

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:41 PM

Sure, I've done the same for capture on a Sony MiniDisc
before, but I forget exactly how it was done. And
there I have input loudness control for setting
the recording level on both channels and/or the
option of recording as mono.

May have to experiment with adjusting the output
level I would assume too.

#4 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,143 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:50 PM

It's a normal thing to do with the dual Pokey stereo upgrade. I removed my RF box and mounted a stereo headphone jack there. Though those are direct from Pokey outputs, but yes, there are several ways to get line-level audio. With the Pokey stereo upgrade you make it line-level yourself with a couple small capacitors.



#5 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 568 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:50 PM

Originally I was wanting it for my 5200 and my 7800, but as I've thought about it I may do the same by pulling Audio from pin 3

of the DIN plug too.

 

Thank you all for the feedback!

 

David



#6 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,143 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 8:39 PM

Here is another option for audio/video output The Break-Out-Box for 8-bit monitor port: http://atari.boards....ri-bit-breakout

 

More Than Games: http://morethangames.a8maestro.com



#7 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 568 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:05 PM

Here is another option for audio/video output The Break-Out-Box for 8-bit monitor port: http://atari.boards....ri-bit-breakout

 

More Than Games: http://morethangames.a8maestro.com

 

The home page appears to be down but the price page is still up.  I sent an email to see if he's still selling them.  I'll let you know when I hear from him.

 

Thanks,

David



#8 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,143 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:47 PM

Maybe a temporary glitch? Everything seems to be working fine for me, I get all the pages, including the main page. It's probably best to make contact first anyway, I bought mine nearly 2 years ago now (man does time fly!). All I remember was I got it pretty quick and it's good quality.


Edited by Gunstar, Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:37 PM.


#9 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 568 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:12 AM

   Well I wimped out and decided not to cut up my good Sound Blaster Pro set of speakers.  Instead I used a set of Altec Lansing amplified

speakers.  I cut the end off the input cable (the one that normally plugs into the PC) and soldered both left and right wires together and the grounds

together too.  Then I got an old audio type plug and soldered the grounds to the ground on the plug and both left and right speaker wires (the

two I had already soldered together) to the center.  Next I used a female audio plug and soldered the ground to ground and the other connector

to the sound input to the RF modulator on my 5200.  Man that worked great!  I now can adjust the volume, treble and bass from the front

of the speaker!

   Flushed with success, I got out my experimenting 1200XL (just a motherboard and bottom RF shield) and made another female connector,

but this time I soldered it to the under side of the board on pin three on the monitor connector.  When I cranked up the bass while playing

Defender, it wasn't long before my wife was asking me to turn it down, and she's in the other end of the house.  Reminds me of when we

used to yell down the hall to the kids to do the same thing...  I think I'm going to make this mod on all my machines.  I just need to buy a few

more female audio connectors.  I won't even have to make any new opening in any of the machines.

 

David






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users