Jump to content

Photo

OpenEmu 2.0 for Mac

OpenEmu Mac OS X

10 replies to this topic

#1 BillyHW OFFLINE  

BillyHW

    River Patroller

  • 3,549 posts

Posted Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:09 PM

Hey folks,

 

I just got a new Mac and can finally get a chance to play with OpenEmu.  Does anybody else on here use this emulator?  How are you finding it?

 

Looks like there's a lot of systems emulated in version 2.0:

 

System Cores Atari 2600 Stella Atari 5200 Atari800 Atari 7800 ProSystem Atari Lynx Mednafen ColecoVision CrabEmu Famicom Disk System Nestopia Game Boy / Game Boy Color Gambatte Game Boy Advance mGBA Game Gear Genesis Plus GX Intellivision Bliss NeoGeo Pocket Mednafen Nintendo (NES) / Famicom FCEUXNestopia* Nintendo DS DeSmuME Nintendo 64 Mupen64Plus Odyssey²/Videopac+ O2EM PC-FX Mednafen SG-1000 Genesis Plus GX Sega 32X picodrive Sega CD / Mega CD Genesis Plus GX Sega Genesis / Mega Drive Genesis Plus GX Sega Master System Genesis Plus GX Sega Saturn Mednafen Sony PlayStation Mednafen Sony PSP PPSSPP Super Nintendo (SNES) HiganSnes9x* TurboGrafx-16/PC Engine/SuperGrafx Mednafen TurboGrafx-CD/PC Engine CD Mednafen Virtual Boy Mednafen Vectrex VecXGL WonderSwan Mednafen
 

 

I finally get to try 7800 and Vectrex, w00t!

 



#2 davidmt OFFLINE  

davidmt

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:New Hampshire, USA

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:44 AM

I use it often, it has such a nice looking (and easy to use) interface.  I think you will like it. 



#3 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Dragonstomper

  • 710 posts
  • Lost in the Robot Factory
  • Location:Englishman in St. Louis

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:30 AM

OpenEMU is my primary console gaming emulator when not running a raspberry pi. 

On my mac, I also have dosbox, atari800, fs-uae, hatari, vice, fuse, dolphin and mame installed

 

Not strictly emulation, but I also use ScummVM, Spatterlight and ZDoom. 

 

Audio Overload for chipmusic. VirtualBOX if I need some windows app and wine, which I find I use a lot more than I used to (altirra in wine is great when atari800 won't run something)



#4 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,762 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:24 PM

Been using it for quite a while. Only thing I don't like is it's using a rather old version of Stella so I can't play Draconian in it  :(

 

I've documented how to rip some of your Playstation games for it.

 

TIP: If you download the Experimental version you can enable MAME support for arcade games.  On the OpenEmu page click the arrow instead of Download Now to find it.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.16.52 PM.png

 

Then in OpenEmu->Preferences, check Arcade on the Library tab:

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.18.16 PM.png

 

Install MAME on the Cores tab:

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.19.25 PM.png



#5 BillyHW OFFLINE  

BillyHW

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,549 posts

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:18 PM

Been using it for quite a while. Only thing I don't like is it's using a rather old version of Stella so I can't play Draconian in it  :(

 

I've documented how to rip some of your Playstation games for it.

 

TIP: If you download the Experimental version you can enable MAME support for arcade games.  On the OpenEmu page click the arrow instead of Download Now to find it.

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.16.52 PM.png

 

Then in OpenEmu->Preferences, check Arcade on the Library tab:

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.18.16 PM.png

 

Install MAME on the Cores tab:

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2018-01-28 at 6.19.25 PM.png

 

Hey thanks for the tip.  Really excited about MAME support.  I will have to see how it's implemented as MAME kind of has its own built-in UI.  And then you've got to find ROMs that match your version which is a big pain.

 

I was happy to see that they were using Stella for 2600, but didn't realize it was such an old version.  They are using 3.9.3.2 vs the current version of 5..0.2.  I wonder why they are using such an old version.

 

Right now I've gotten myself lost in the TurboGrafx library.  I've never had much of a chance to play it until now!  Keith Courage FTW!



#6 BillyHW OFFLINE  

BillyHW

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,549 posts

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:53 PM

Hey maybe I should have just resurrected the old 1.0 thread instead.  If the mods think it's a good idea maybe they can merge this one with that one.



#7 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Dragonstomper

  • 710 posts
  • Lost in the Robot Factory
  • Location:Englishman in St. Louis

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:07 AM

The MAME core in OE is a really old one (0.149), Current MAME is 0.193 so it's about 4 years old. There is no way to get to the MAME ui so it's impossible to reconfigure your controllers for 'special' games, no mouse for arkanoid or star wars, two sticks for kung fu master, that kind of thing. I build MAME from source every month when the new one is released (There's one due tomorrow) and put it online to download so thats easy to get working. I can walk you through setting it up if you like. 

 

Retroarch (which uses a similar 'core' system for a multi emulator) is also available for mac, it's updated more often than OpenEMU, new cores are added regularly as well. You might want to give it a try. It's a shame retroarch cores are not compatible with OpenEMU's front end. The RetroArch UI is not as nice as OE's



#8 cybercylon OFFLINE  

cybercylon

    River Patroller

  • 2,680 posts
  • Location:SW PA

Posted Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:48 PM

You do get more recent cores with Retroarch, but I could never figure out how to to get it to work... more accurately, I didn't want to spend time to figure it out. OpenEMU is almost plug and play, especially with certain controllers.

 

That said, even if you go with Retroarch, some of the cores are for Windows and/or Linux only (ReDream for example). I wonder if that has something to do with Apple sticking to a very old version of OpenGL...



#9 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,762 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Fri Feb 9, 2018 8:56 AM

In my blog post about the Playstation CDs:

 

Sometimes the analog control would get stuck. On occasion Spyro would keep walking even though I'd let go of the stick. If I move the stick around it'll unstick, but I did die a couple times when Spyro walked off a ledge. I have Playstation controllers paired with my Mini and have not run into this problem with other games, so there's something up with OpenEmu's emulation of the analog sticks.

 

 

I decide to revisit Spyro with the current build of OpenEMU and have been playing it a little bit each evening over the past couple of weeks.  I've made it to 84% the way through the game so far and haven't encountered any problems with the controls(ie: Spyro no longer walks off ledges on his own):

Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 8.52.46 AM.png



#10 BillyHW OFFLINE  

BillyHW

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,549 posts

Posted Fri Feb 9, 2018 8:47 PM

One thing I don't like about emulators is that for games that I haven't played before, I don't know if the emulation is accurate or whether things are screwed up like you just mentioned about Spyro on older versions.



#11 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,762 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:08 PM

Finished it!  The extra 20% is for finishing the bonus level, it unlocks when you hit 100%.

 

Screen Shot 2018-02-12 at 11.05.48 PM.png







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: OpenEmu, Mac, OS X

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users