Jump to content

Photo

Apple IIe Craigslist find

IIe

14 replies to this topic

#1 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:19 PM

I have wanted one of these for ages (ever since I used one in elementary school.  Beautiful machine, motherboard is stamped 1986.

 

Came with a lot of software, fine literature and goodies.  Even the 1MB RAM expansion card.  And a second 5 1/4 floppy (not hooked up.)

 

Guy was asking $120, paid $80.  A win all around i'd say!  And no it did not come with that joystick, lol.

 

Have been playing some Atari Games from my Apple II collection (Have a IIc and IIgs currently) as well as some educational software with my 3 year old.  

 

Attached File  IMG_20171222_215115472.jpg   680.08KB   2 downloadsAttached File  IMG_20171222_231258753.jpg   525.15KB   1 downloadsAttached File  IMG_20171222_223904788.jpg   627.66KB   2 downloadsAttached File  IMG_20171222_224932073.jpg   506.55KB   2 downloads


Edited by travistouchdown, Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:20 PM.


#2 spacecadet OFFLINE  

spacecadet

    River Patroller

  • 2,809 posts

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:08 PM

Great find! Not many deals for Apple II's like that around anymore.



#3 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:29 PM

I have a IIe platinum myself...but all the same. This is a GREAT model! You got a killer deal there...had I found it I would have jumped on it as well. Did it come with that monitor?

#4 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:31 PM

Closest I came to this locally on Craigslist was an Apple II plus set a few months ago. Guy said it went unused shortly after purchase because he didn't know how to use it.

 

Well, he DID know how to fry it. It was dead and I found a large transistor radio antenna floating around inside of it. I only paid $50 and met him in a parking lot (so no testing) but that sucked. I sold it off as dead for $100 so I still made out, but still...I wanted the machine! Thankfully my IIe came along a short time later for the cost of nothing as it was donated to me. I still scour CL every other day for Apple hardware because I have found a real liking to these machines. Built so well and so much expand ability. Some hate it for gaming due to its non-sprites and inferior graphics and sound (to other machines of the time) but I find the graphics and sound really unique and really enjoy them.

 

Now you need a VGA scaler if you do not have one. This thing is the bomb...one of my favorite homebrew devices.



#5 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:51 PM

Thanks everyone, was very happy to find it at this price. I think with old computers people tend to check ebay less than with old videogames. I did come with the monitor.

I saw the vga scaler, those allow you to use a modern monitor I take it?

I need the floppy disk emulator as well, which I could also use with my IIc and IIgs

Edited by travistouchdown, Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:52 PM.


#6 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:03 PM

Yes, the scaler allows you to use a modern VGA display, but it does so much more. It has a momentary push button to cycle through various modes like amber, green monochrome, color of course, scanlines for each mode as well. It is awesome.

 

For now if you have a 3.5MM audio cable and a smartphone you can send games to it as I have been doing for the past few days:

 

http://asciiexpress.net/gameserver/

 

Or make disks:

 

http://asciiexpress.net/diskserver/



#7 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Thu Feb 1, 2018 7:54 AM

Wow, that's awesome!  I have a bunch of nice blank 5 1/4 floppy disks and I was wondering what to do with them so this is perfect timing.  Thank you so much. 

 

This store seems to have the VGA scaler and some other cool goodies so I will pick one up soon:

 

http://www.a2heaven.com/



#8 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Feb 1, 2018 1:03 PM

A few things I have found with making disks from the server:

1. Your disk controller card MUST be in slot 6
2. It gives a checksum error if you have an accelerator card enabled
3. The media volume on your phone or tablet must be set to MAX

#9 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 8:56 AM

So from my picture above, do I need to move my disk controller card one down? Thanks.

#10 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 21,027 posts

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 6:00 PM

It looks like it's in slot 6 to me.



#11 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat Feb 3, 2018 11:29 PM

Yep, you should be good there as stated above. The web server unfortunately does not give the option to specify a slot. Found out the hard way :) Other than that, it works fantastically. I still can't believe something like that which is so easy and requires basically what most people already have (a phone and an audio cable) exists for the Apple II. JUst way too cool. I have Bill Loguidice to thank for tuning me into that little gem (and now you!)

 

The VGA scaler is awesome but is hard to get. I purchased it from A2Heaven as well (the only place you can get it) but ha to keep checking the stock every day for months. It is certainly worth it so I would suggest to keep the page bookmarked like I did and check once a day. Once you see it is in stock do not hesitate...buy it right away. When I found it in stock there were QTY 2 available. After I placed my order the final one took about 30 minutes to sell.



#12 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:08 PM

I've been able to load games right to my computer,  but no luck making disks.  Would the 1mb RAM card I have in be creating the problem?

 

I either get error or checksum error, no matter which audio file I use.

 

Thanks. 



#13 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:46 PM

I was having the same issue. What was going on is that this stupid android phone I have (older S5) automatically sets the media volume for the headphones to an "acceptable level" each time I plug the wire in, so you have to go in and make sure you MAX the volume out. If you do not, it will error. The ram expansion has nothing to do with it.

#14 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,192 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Fri Mar 16, 2018 7:26 AM

I was having the same issue. What was going on is that this stupid android phone I have (older S5) automatically sets the media volume for the headphones to an "acceptable level" each time I plug the wire in, so you have to go in and make sure you MAX the volume out. If you do not, it will error. The ram expansion has nothing to do with it.

 

Thanks.  I was using a windows 10 laptop turned all the way out so I will have to experiment with ways to get the volume maxed out further or maybe try my phone or wifes macbook pro. 



#15 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:08 AM

Yeah, its really picky with the volume. It basically has to be blasting into the IIe ;) Also, your disk controller card MUST be in slot #6 to make disks off of the server. The server will only send them to slot 6, so if your card is in any other slot this would be another reason why you cannot make disks.

Edited by eightbit, Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:11 AM.




Reply to this topic



  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: IIe

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users