Jump to content

Photo

Atari 5200 - UAV Installation Video

UAV Atari 5200 mods Bryan rocks!

17 replies to this topic

#1 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Feb 5, 2018 10:01 AM

Here is a video I did on my UAV installation into a 4-port 5200. I had some issues in that this particular 4-port refused to work without the 4050 still in the mix. Since I wanted to keep the RF shield in place, it required some modification of the mod board.

 

Bryan's procedures are pretty much dead on so unless there is a need for something with more pictures...etc I'm leaving it with just my video and Bryan's instructions.

 

 

 

Bryan's instructions for installation are found on his blog here:

 

http://atariage.com/...ac-in-the-5200/



#2 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,925 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:27 AM

Because of the 5200 reset issue, I'm making a small 4050 add-on board I'll send out for free to those wanting one. Basically, if the 4050 is socketed (this seems to be mostly 4-ports) then the only way the Plug-In board fits under the shield is to remove the 4050 which causes problems as the 4050 also handles the reset signal. The options are to solder the 4050 in (either by removing the socket or soldering it onto the UAV or the bottom of the motherboard) or building a low-profile version of UAV using the Kit. This LP version could have the terminal and jumpers soldered under the board instead of on top.

 

If there's ever a new revision (some day, I hope), I'm going to include the 4050 functionality on the UAV itself and make it a little easier to have manufactured.



#3 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:23 PM

I know the current design is set in stone. But why not just make the UAV already have the jumpers soldered on the bottom? It would only be needed on preassembled boards anyway so it wouldn't pose a problem with their being located on the bottom to be used in installations. The only other tricky part besides that is mounting the socket ontop of the UAV but it isn't that bad.

 

I also wondered, that if instead of using actual headers and jumpers, why not just provide some really small U-shaped leads to be placed into the holes instead and soldered onto? Would serve the same purpose as the jumpers and give an ultra low profile to make soldering the socket ontop easier as well and not have to do as much.

 

Course, that also means there is a FAR less tolerance for putting the jumpers into the wrong places, but it is all pretty well documented now that I don't think it would be much of an issue?



#4 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,925 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:06 PM

Well, that's kinda why I offered the Kit, so people could flip things around any way they wanted. For most installations, the top mounted jumpers are much easier to get to and the green terminal is still the highest thing on the board. If you flip both the terminal and the jumpers to the other side, then it should work well mounted on a socketed 4050.

 

Once I get the 4050 boards in, I'll post pictures of them in use.



#5 Swami ONLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • 2,041 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:57 PM

These always seem to be 4-ports with the AV or UAV mods. Can this be done on a 2-port? Are 4-ports somehow better?



#6 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:31 AM

It can be done on a 2port in the same manner. In fact I believe the original pics that Bryan posted are from a 2 port if I remember correctly. My advise is that if the 4050 is in a socket, then do the installation as Bryan has originally written it up and try installing without the 4050. If it doesn't work, then you would have to do as I ended up doing with leaving the 4050 in place. 

 

But yes, to answer your question this can be done on the 2port model as well and the instructions would be the same. As for whether the 4port or 2port looking better over the other, I really doubt it since both models have the same video circuitry essentially. 


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:32 AM.


#7 moja OFFLINE  

moja

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:07 AM

I'd love to post pics of my 2-port with UAV installed, as soon as I get my hands on some more boards.  While the 4050 add-on would be awesome, I've been working around it.  Next time I might try offsetting the 4050 on a small breadboard or something, unless Bryan gets them in soon.



#8 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:45 PM

I'd love to post pics of my 2-port with UAV installed, as soon as I get my hands on some more boards.  While the 4050 add-on would be awesome, I've been working around it.  Next time I might try offsetting the 4050 on a small breadboard or something, unless Bryan gets them in soon.

So yours still requires the 4050 as well? Again it appears to be hit and miss with it. The one I modded for someone refused to show a picture without it in circuit so that is why in my video I had to modify the UAV as I did for the installation.



#9 moja OFFLINE  

moja

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:51 PM

TBH, I just included the 4050 in-circuit to avoid any potential issues, so I can't say if my 2nd 5200 worked without it or not.



#10 mtarallo OFFLINE  

mtarallo

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:41 PM

Nice work - I am trying to get a chip, is there any easy process to get one - do I just send Bryan the money and he'll send one out - or do I need to go through some ordering process like Best has. Thanks



#11 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:32 AM

Send the email to Bryan through a PM here asking about them. Tell him what you plan to install it in and he will give you the best options on which type of kit to purchase. For the 7800 it is best to go with the basic board and solder everything in. for the 5200 he might suggest the complete kit that isn't assembled so you can solder on the components how you see fit. Or get the complete assembled kit and just not use the RF shield on the top..etc. The pricing is a tad different for each as will the shipping. Once he gives you those options, he will also provide you with his paypal to send the money to. 

 

At least, that is how my transactions with him have gone.



#12 SINGLE TOOTH OFFLINE  

SINGLE TOOTH

    Stargunner

  • 1,651 posts
  • The first rule is: Obey all rules!
  • Location:Greasystache, Wisconsin

Posted Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:20 PM

Is it always this big of a problem to install as your video shows?

I want one of these now.  How much about do these run?



#13 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:05 PM

No it wouldn't normally be that large an issue. I was modding this 5200 for a customer and they requested that the RF remain intact. So that meant I had to find a way to get everything mounted and still low profile enough to fit under the top RF shield. if you never plan to use the RF again, then I would actually advise removing the RF adapter completely. Then you no longer need the top RF shield either and hence there would be plenty of room.

 

The previous kit from electronicsentementalities that I would use prior still required that you remove and carefully lift and reform 5 pins from the GTIA that you solder the PCB onto. Wasn't really hard but you still had to be careful all the same. The UAV isn't that big a deal. Just pop the 4050 off, solder the socket you get with the kit ontop of the 4050. Plug the 4050 back into the 5200 and then plug the UAV into the socket you soldered onto the 4050. Then just run your wires from the output points to your RCA/S-video/TMSS connections. 


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:08 PM.


#14 The Lizard King OFFLINE  

The Lizard King

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:28 AM

Here is a video I did on my UAV installation into a 4-port 5200. I had some issues in that this particular 4-port refused to work without the 4050 still in the mix. Since I wanted to keep the RF shield in place, it required some modification of the mod board.

 

Bryan's procedures are pretty much dead on so unless there is a need for something with more pictures...etc I'm leaving it with just my video and Bryan's instructions.

 

 

 

Bryan's instructions for installation are found on his blog here:

 

http://atariage.com/...ac-in-the-5200/

 

You should be a hand model.

 



#15 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:10 AM

 

You should be a hand model.

 

Nah, my hands actually shake too much for anything like that. But hey! Sarcasm noted...



#16 The Lizard King OFFLINE  

The Lizard King

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:29 AM

 

Nah, my hands actually shake too much for anything like that. But hey! Sarcasm noted...

 

I wasn't being sarcastic.  Your hands look a hell of a lot better than mine!



#17 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,243 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:46 AM

 

I wasn't being sarcastic.  Your hands look a hell of a lot better than mine!

Ahh..okay...

 

Well, I just make sure they are clean before I video since you see them as a representation of me. Required since the focus isn't really on my hands nor me, but what my hands are holding, or pointing to that matters.



#18 The Lizard King OFFLINE  

The Lizard King

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:48 AM

Ahh..okay...

 

Well, I just make sure they are clean before I video since you see them as a representation of me. Required since the focus isn't really on my hands nor me, but what my hands are holding, or pointing to that matters.

 

Of course.  However, it's clear that you take care of your hands!   :)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: UAV, Atari 5200 mods, Bryan rocks!

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users