800XL Audio volume

800XL

5 replies to this topic

#1 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

Chopper Commander

• 240 posts

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 7:35 PM

I have an 800XL that suddenly is having audio problems.  The volume will be OK for a few minutes then will go almost completely out.  The problem occurs only with the monitor cable.  The RF audio output seems to be constant.  Any ideas about where I could start trouble shooting.

#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,708 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 7:38 PM

I have an 800XL that suddenly is having audio problems.  The volume will be OK for a few minutes then will go almost completely out.  The problem occurs only with the monitor cable.  The RF audio output seems to be constant.  Any ideas about where I could start trouble shooting.

Have you swapped monitor cables? I have one with a breaking/broken audio wire; I have to wiggle the wire around the base of the strain relief housing where it flows into the DIN plug to get audio. Fortunately, I have other cables. 

#3 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

Chopper Commander

• Topic Starter
  • 240 posts

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 8:07 PM

I have used two different cables on two different monitors.

#4 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,708 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 8:12 PM

Start working your way back - have you checked the solder points of the DIN jack on the computer motherboard? Do that, and if you have a soldering iron, reflow the solder for all the pins while youre at it. Then do a continuity check back from there, component by component, back along the audio line.

#5 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

• 6,232 posts

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 9:12 PM