Jump to content

Photo

Trying to find a specific bootloader menu


31 replies to this topic

#1 x=usr(1536) ONLINE  

x=usr(1536)

    Dragonstomper

  • 864 posts
  • Location:913 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

Posted Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:13 PM

Hoping someone can help me figure this out - I've been spending the past couple of hours trying to dig it up on YouTube but with absolutely no luck at all.

 

There's a bootloader menu I can recall having on a few disks.  Background was the usual scrolling color bars (gold, I think) under a graphics 0 text screen.  There may have been two versions: one with the flying swan from the Xanth demo, and one without the swan.  Music was very similar to (but not the same as) the music in this video:

 

 

Does anyone else know which one I might be referring to?  I'm trying to figure out if a short piece of music I remembered was from that bootloader or not.



#2 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,853 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:28 PM

I have a feeling I might have it on a floppy.  But I've not got a machine setup at the moment to check.

Very possibly it's one of those annoying non-Dos types.



#3 x=usr(1536) ONLINE  

x=usr(1536)

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 864 posts
  • Location:913 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

Posted Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:46 PM

I have a feeling I might have it on a floppy.  But I've not got a machine setup at the moment to check.

Very possibly it's one of those annoying non-Dos types.

 

I'm almost positive it was non-DOS.  For some reason I have a vague recollection of trying to extract something from one of those disks and it ended up being a very annoying bit copy process.



#4 SenorRossie OFFLINE  

SenorRossie

    Star Raider

  • 63 posts
  • Rediscovering the atari 8bit after 30 orso years
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Local Group, Milky Way, Solar System, Earth, Europe, The Netherlands, Flevoland, Almere

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:11 AM

A quick reply as I'm rather busy with preparations for the Atari Invasion event. But IIRC the menu you're after was known (at least in my collection) as 'Rob C. Menu'.



#5 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:43 PM

Hoping someone can help me figure this out - I've been spending the past couple of hours trying to dig it up on YouTube but with absolutely no luck at all.
 
There's a bootloader menu I can recall having on a few disks.  Background was the usual scrolling color bars (gold, I think) under a graphics 0 text screen.  There may have been two versions: one with the flying swan from the Xanth demo, and one without the swan.  Music was very similar to (but not the same as) the music in this video:
 
https://www.youtube....h?v=zjD9i6Q0v0U
 
Does anyone else know which one I might be referring to?  I'm trying to figure out if a short piece of music I remembered was from that bootloader or not.






http://ftp.pigwa.net... A-Z/index.html

Hello check here on this side look search at rob c ........ all files to download.


Gr. Marco

#6 x=usr(1536) ONLINE  

x=usr(1536)

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 864 posts
  • Location:913 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:17 PM

http://ftp.pigwa.net... A-Z/index.html

Hello check here on this side look search at rob c ........ all files to download.


Gr. Marco


Thanks for the suggestion - I found it icon_smile.gif

The tune was 'Masters of Time' from the Rob C Menu Maker-Diskey II-Musical Menu Maker disk. When I heard the high trilling part, I knew that that was it. The tempo is slower on that disk than on the one I had, but I now understand why the video I posted above sounded so familiar.
 

One thing I don't understand, though, is how I managed to have a copy of Diskey without having that particular menu maker disk (which is why I didn't think it was a Rob C. disk to begin with).  Certainly had others, to be sure, but that one isn't ringing any bells.

 

It's also been a very long time since I booted any of those disks, so my memory could possibly be wrong as well.

 

In any event, thanks for the pointer, and I'll have to see what I can do to come up with something closer to what I remember, but that is definitely the tune!


  • jhd likes this

#7 x=usr(1536) ONLINE  

x=usr(1536)

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 864 posts
  • Location:913 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:58 PM

 

That's it at the speed and pitch I remember.  Had no idea this was ripped from a game for the bootloader; will have to check the game out.



#8 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:48 AM

 

That's it at the speed and pitch I remember.  Had no idea this was ripped from a game for the bootloader; will have to check the game out.

 

 

Hello

 

Maybe pal/ntsc problem 50/60 hz.

If it is pal and play on ntsc it will go faster and if it's ntsc and play on pal it wil go slower.

Please us the rob c menu maker and make a new disk and load a sound maybe it will work.

 

Grt marco



#9 x=usr(1536) ONLINE  

x=usr(1536)

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 864 posts
  • Location:913 S. Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:35 PM

 

 

Hello

 

Maybe pal/ntsc problem 50/60 hz.

If it is pal and play on ntsc it will go faster and if it's ntsc and play on pal it wil go slower.

Please us the rob c menu maker and make a new disk and load a sound maybe it will work.

 

Grt marco

 

I was wondering about that as well, but my memory of the speed of the tune was formed on a PAL system ;). I wasn't using NTSC until relatively recently.

 

Either way, mystery solved.



#10 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:41 AM

I was wondering about that as well, but my memory of the speed of the tune was formed on a PAL system ;). I wasn't using NTSC until relatively recently.
 
Either way, mystery solved.




Nice to here atari 8 bit rules.
I like the Rob C menu and a have also boot disk to rob c menu with more games on it.
But now we like it orginal.
I like to see other atari users from that time there floppy's.

I hope someone here in the Netherlands have Steve Zipp floppy's or papers he has make a editor for speed intitlizer blue menu from E. Reuse change colours but he have second version what i can rember but i dont have any copy of it.

Allso Steve Zipp he has solid everthing from atari 8 bit long time ago thats why o hope someone have it an can make atr files.

Gr. Marco

#11 SteveZipp OFFLINE  

SteveZipp

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts
  • Location:Ede, right here.

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 4:48 PM

Hey Marco,

 

It's correct about the SSI (Speed Start Initializer) editor I once wrote, though I cannot provide you wtih any copy of it. Sorry.



#12 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,053 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 3:16 AM

I have a few versions of a Speed Start initilizer but its by E, Reuss?

 

Same or not?



#13 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Thu May 10, 2018 6:49 AM

Those are indeed done by Erwin Reuss (Compy-Shop).  I have an editor somewhere to change the default blue background to any color.  Of course, no idea where it is now.  Didn't use it very often as it was quicker to change that one byte with a sector editor.



#14 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 6:03 AM

I have it ssi editor from Steve Zipp back in 1988. I will post it here but i know there is all so a 2nd editor with multi colors.
Steve Zipp allso has a freezer editor i have it all so.

@Steve Zipp sent me a pm with your email adres.

Gr. Marco

Attached Files


Edited by marcokitt2000, Fri May 11, 2018 6:10 AM.


#15 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 6:11 AM

So i will later upload the freezer editor.
The freezer was a tool for big cassette files to save on floppy all so some protection boot disk.
The editor you give some text.


Gr.

Edited by marcokitt2000, Fri May 11, 2018 6:15 AM.


#16 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 7:58 AM

The Atari Utilities...  I wonder who ever made that compilation.  I have the exact same disk since the early nineties or so.  Same collection and sequence.

 

The Freezer was a nifty thingy.  Pressing start+select would freeze the memory and option would dump it as a boot disk.  The editor was a nice addition.



#17 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:01 AM

The Atari Utilities...  I wonder who ever made that compilation.  I have the exact same disk since the early nineties or so.  Same collection and sequence.

 

The Freezer was a nifty thingy.  Pressing start+select would freeze the memory and option would dump it as a boot disk.  The editor was a nice addition.LOL

LOL ,

 

I have copy from Jacky Willems aka Terminator was his atari name my was computerwolf (see my name logo from the serie airwolf )(in begin 1984-1987 csg copy service groesbeek later1987-1988-89 dpo Dutch pirate organisation) lol.

 an here is the freezes and editor from Steve Zipp.

 

floppy 70 is the freezer but i am searching in my floppy image and can't find the the freezer editor maybe i have it on other utilitie disk but don't have a image file and i cant not get my floppy's its in storage i will do this later.

 

 

Gr. Marco

Attached Files


Edited by marcokitt2000, Fri May 11, 2018 11:31 AM.


#18 brenski ONLINE  

brenski

    Stargunner

  • 1,657 posts
  • How should we f**k off, oh Lord ?
  • Location:Ventura Highway, in the sunshine [UK]

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:12 AM

this ^^^ says "sorry you don't have permission"

won't download



#19 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 11:33 AM

this ^^^ says "sorry you don't have permission"

won't download

I have open the editor i save first text and i was added the image file but now you can downloaded. Only the freezer not the editor i must search for it.

 

 

Gr. Marco



#20 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 12:09 PM

I have the disk with the editor right in front of me but no way to transfer it to PC right now.  How frustrating...

 

The utility disk... no idea where mine came from.  I've got hundreds, if not thousands, of 5,25 disks that I got from quite a lot of different users who wanted to trash them because they either sold their stuff or it was me who wanted the hardware and had to take all the disks too.



#21 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 4:30 PM

I found it on the internet.

 

ihttp://ftp.pigwa.net...ezer Editor.atr

Gr. Marco

Attached Files



#22 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 4:37 PM

That's the one.  Saves me some time to dump it myself.

 

The "Freezer" I have is Ver. 1.0, 1986.  I wonder if there were other versions.



#23 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,053 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 2:09 AM

Is there anything The freezer works on, booted it and tried numerous bits with no interaction by the freezer when start and Select pushed?

 

Does not like emulation?

 

Doing sommit wrong?

 

Booting, insert disk to rip / save from, press select, IF the disk loads (most seem to hang) then START + SELECT does nothing..

 

Just me?

 

(not expecting the quality of rippage that the Turbo freezer has but not getting any results)

 

Paul..



#24 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 4:10 AM

That should be SELECT+OPTION to freeze, then START to save.

 

Just tried it with Altirra 3.10-iest21 and a random ATR (Lode Runner, color modded) and it works.

 

Mileage will vary. It functions pretty much the same as the TurboFreezer but it's just software in RAM so clashes may be expected.



#25 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 6,053 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 8:56 AM

Thank you Fox, was following your previous instructions :)

 

As said, don't expect much but never seen this software before..

 

Cheers....






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users