Jump to content

Photo

Atari 80 column software/hardware


90 replies to this topic

#51 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Sun May 27, 2018 7:05 PM

My omniview is the actual omniview xl/xe os chip that was sold by CDY it has been piggybacked with the XE OS as a switchable homebrew. It would run the original disk but will not run the ATR.

Edited by hueyjones70, Sun May 27, 2018 7:15 PM.


#52 ACML OFFLINE  

ACML

    Dragonstomper

  • 926 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 28, 2018 9:52 AM

Here is a dump of AtariWriter Plus modified for the Omniview. Would someone mind testing this on a real Atari?

Farb,

      This is awesome!  I always wished that Atariwriter plus could utilize 80 columns.  I tried it on Altirra and could only get it to work right if it was a 130XE with Omniview.  I get the Omniview for the 80 columns, but is there anyway it could be modified to work on a 64K machine (i.e. 1200XL)?  Again, an amazing achievement.  I frequent AA a lot in the hope of finding a real gem like this pop up.  This is really fantastic!  37 years rolling and there is still new stuff to look forward to,  Bravo!



#53 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,168 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Mon May 28, 2018 11:40 AM

Farb,

      This is awesome!  I always wished that Atariwriter plus could utilize 80 columns.  I tried it on Altirra and could only get it to work right if it was a 130XE with Omniview.  I get the Omniview for the 80 columns, but is there anyway it could be modified to work on a 64K machine (i.e. 1200XL)?  Again, an amazing achievement.  I frequent AA a lot in the hope of finding a real gem like this pop up.  This is really fantastic!  37 years rolling and there is still new stuff to look forward to,  Bravo!

Have you heard of The Last Word Processor? 80 columns, 64K, no special hardware or OS required: https://atari8.co.uk/the-last-word/


Edited by Gunstar, Mon May 28, 2018 11:41 AM.


#54 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,493 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon May 28, 2018 11:54 AM

I can't see the 80 column patched AtariWriter being easily further hacked into working on a 64K machine. The 80 column display requires a frame buffer of almost 8KB, which is farmed out to one of the extended RAM banks (by virtue of ANTIC extended mode). The alternative is finding 8KB of free RAM in main memory which doesn't impinge on AtariWriter's own code and buffers. That's one of the nice things about ANTIC RAM access, despite the fact Atari's implementation did not foresee (or perhaps disregarded) RAMdisks and other mundane uses of extended memory which cause any display in extended memory to momentarily collapse every time the CPU accesses a different bank.



#55 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,896 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Mon May 28, 2018 12:16 PM

Here is a dump of AtariWriter Plus modified for the Omniview. Would someone mind testing this on a real Atari?

Thanks for this post,  the ATR includes Top-Dos 1.5+.  Haven't seen this version before :)



#56 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 6:38 AM

Has anyone made the ATR work on an actual Atari? I can't get it to load on my 130XE with Omniview.

#57 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,493 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 6:49 AM

Has anyone made the ATR work on an actual Atari? I can't get it to load on my 130XE with Omniview.


Yep: me in post 42. I used the ATR posted here with a Googled OmniView XE ROM.

#58 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,168 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 10:04 AM

Farb,

      This is awesome!  I always wished that Atariwriter plus could utilize 80 columns.  I tried it on Altirra and could only get it to work right if it was a 130XE with Omniview.  I get the Omniview for the 80 columns, but is there anyway it could be modified to work on a 64K machine (i.e. 1200XL)?  Again, an amazing achievement.  I frequent AA a lot in the hope of finding a real gem like this pop up.  This is really fantastic!  37 years rolling and there is still new stuff to look forward to,  Bravo!

There's always the option of getting an XEP80 80-column interface and a copy of Atariwriter 80, which IS Atariwriter+ in 80 columns. The XEP80 was made to hook up to any Atari 8-bit through the joystick port. You even get a parallel printer port to boot! I would have gone this route myself, if I didn't have a fantastic video upgrade for my 1200XL and FJC's TLWP. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • hardwareinterfacexep80.jpg
  • Atariwriter_80_d7.jpg

Edited by Gunstar, Thu May 31, 2018 10:10 AM.


#59 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 10:49 AM

Yep: me in post 42. I used the ATR posted here with a Googled OmniView XE ROM.

 

What is a Googled Omniview XE ROM?



#60 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,807 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 11:45 AM

There's always the option of getting an XEP80 80-column interface and a copy of Atariwriter 80, which IS Atariwriter+ in 80 columns. The XEP80 was made to hook up to any Atari 8-bit through the joystick port. You even get a parallel printer port to boot! I would have gone this route myself, if I didn't have a fantastic video upgrade for my 1200XL and FJC's TLWP. 

 

Heh, Always wanted an XEP80 back in the day to do BBS'ing with BobTerm in 80 columns. I was watching eBay for the last year for an XEP80... Then a few months ago I contacted Best for the first time and they still have them NIB. So I still have it here shrinkwrapped. So strange to get this 'rare' thing new, I think i feel obligated to do an 'unboxing' video on youtube when I do!!



#61 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,557 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 12:17 PM

Atari must have produced an awful lot of XEP80's.  About 10 years ago those things seem to come out of the walls as they popped up everywhere in Europe.  A big Atari club, literally, gave them away, all NIB.

 

Too bad there isn't much supporting software for it.  It may be a bit slow but it's a nice device nevertheless.  On an 800 you can even connect up to four of those and I think that a simple wire-swap enables the use of 4 of those per port.  Nice, in theory, but no idea what to do with 17 displays.



#62 JR> OFFLINE  

JR>

    Moonsweeper

  • 376 posts

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 12:21 PM

It only took me about 17 years to finally get around to trying my XEP80!  Nice crisp 80 column display for composite, but pretty much useless on modern monitors....I lose 3-4 lines that are completely or partially beyond the visible screen.  I'll have to fire it up with one of my old monitors with vertical size adjustment one of these days.  Hopefully that won't take another 17 years....lol.

 

Hueyjones - yes it works on my 600xl + Antonia using an OmniviewXE rom.


Edited by JR>, Thu May 31, 2018 12:23 PM.


#63 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,584 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 12:32 PM

It only took me about 17 years to finally get around to trying my XEP80!  Nice crisp 80 column display for composite, but pretty much useless on modern monitors....I lose 3-4 lines that are completely or partially beyond the visible screen.  I'll have to fire it up with one of my old monitors with vertical size adjustment one of these days.  Hopefully that won't take another 17 years....lol.

 

Hueyjones - yes it works on my 600xl + Antonia using an OmniviewXE rom.

I can't even get full output on properly calibrated PVMs.  The overscan is SO far out of spec.  I have never seen a display that can show all 25 text lines, even those with v-size adjustment.



#64 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,168 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 2:19 PM

I can't even get full output on properly calibrated PVMs.  The overscan is SO far out of spec.  I have never seen a display that can show all 25 text lines, even those with v-size adjustment.

I didn't realize the XEP80 had overscan issues. Not that it matters to me personally, between SpartaDOS X 80 column mode and Omniview 80 OS with my 32-in-1 and 80 column The Last Word Processor I've no use for the XEP80 because these software 80-column alternatives are crystal clear with my video mod, on either my Commodore 1084s monitor or with my S-video-to-VGA converter for my LCD screens. I have 80 columns for DOS, BASIC or other language on cart, and the best word processor for the Atari between these 80-column options. The only thing I don't have is 80-columns for Syncalc and Synfile, but at least they scroll. I'd like to see patches for the Syn-series apps with Omniview.

 

Is there other software besides Atariwriter 80 that works with the XEP80? What about while using a DOS or language like BASIC? Can the XEP80 be used for 80 columns for them?


Edited by Gunstar, Thu May 31, 2018 2:26 PM.


#65 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,493 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 2:32 PM

Basically anything which writes to the screen via the E: handler can have its display redirected to the XEP80, so: BASIC, DOS, etc. Programs which write directly to the screen RAM won't work without actual patching of the executables.



#66 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,168 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 2:36 PM

Basically anything which writes to the screen via the E: handler can have its display redirected to the XEP80, so: BASIC, DOS, etc. Programs which write directly to the screen RAM won't work without actual patching of the executables.

So basically the same as Omniview 80, but real hardware 80 column.



#67 gozar OFFLINE  

gozar

    Dragonstomper

  • 981 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 4:58 PM

I can't even get full output on properly calibrated PVMs.  The overscan is SO far out of spec.  I have never seen a display that can show all 25 text lines, even those with v-size adjustment.


A monitor that came with my grandparents C64 can display all of the XEP-80 display.

XEP80 working! Now what?
https://r.tapatalk.c...36&share_type=t

I know nothing about the monitor, and I don’t have he space to keep it set up. :(



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#68 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,924 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 5:04 PM

Hello guys

 

There's some stuff on my Special Stuff Page about the XEP80 you might not know about.  Some of it tells you why the XEP80 seems to be slow.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#69 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,807 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 11:38 PM

I can't even get full output on properly calibrated PVMs. The overscan is SO far out of spec. I have never seen a display that can show all 25 text lines, even those with v-size adjustment.

I'm pretty sure it would have been good on my little Zenith monitor I had back then... hard to find a pic of online, but found this: http://www.hennek-ho...o/zenith-pc.jpgI remember there being a decent amount of overscan space above and below the main text area when used on the XE
 

There's some stuff on my Special Stuff Page about the XEP80 you might not know about.  Some of it tells you why the XEP80 seems to be slow.

Interesting reading about it there! I never knew a modified driver was made to work at 9600 instead of 4800. Although it looks like it's for 50hz machines only.
 



#70 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,924 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 1:11 PM

Hello Nezgar

 

Have you read Erhard's articles on that page?  Shouldn't be too hard to edit the code.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#71 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,807 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:20 PM

Have you read Erhard's articles on that page?  Shouldn't be too hard to edit the code.

I'm honoured that you think I'm smarter than I really am. ;) but the farthest I ever got in assembly was a 42 byte program in Atari Assember Editor that poked my preferences for screen colour, key repeat speed, quiet SIO, and left column 0 since you couldn't do this from command prompt on SpartaDOS 3 like you can in SDX. I was proud of myself because a compiled BASIC program doing the same thing was 4.5K... So I'll rely on those better than I to make an NTSC 9600bps XEP80 driver :grin:
 
This is OT, but thinking about this inspired me to extract the file from the hard drive backup I made last year: (Datestamp was May 1995!)

10  *=$600
20  LDA #2
30  STA 710
40  LDA #12
50  STA 709
60  LDA #0
70  STA 712
72  STA 82
74  STA 65
76  STA 752
80  LDA #1
90  STA 730
0100  STA 731
0102  LDA #15
0104  STA 729
0110  RTS
0200 END

I was able to optimize the code by grouping STA's of the same value with 1 LDA. I also now think I could re-create this program with no executable code using purely 1 byte init segments.. last segment just RTS maybe ... I'll have to try this now :D

Attached Files


Edited by Nezgar, Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:23 PM.


#72 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:37 PM

I have a feeling that my problem may be caused by my disk drive emulator. I am using a Sdrive ARM and somehow I don't think it can handle Double Density or I don't know how to make it handle DD.

#73 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,168 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:41 PM

I'm honoured that you think I'm smarter than I really am. ;)

Don't mix up ignorance with a lack of intelligence, too many do and it's a world of difference. I've been rated a genius level intelligence every time I've taken any I.Q. test (low to moderate on the genius scale, so no, I'm not a Hawking. 150 was my highest score, 138 the lowest), and I've taken about half a dozen in my life, but I'm ignorant of a LOT of things...like programming. The difference is lack of learning, not intelligence. ;)  


Edited by Gunstar, Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:43 PM.


#74 ClausB OFFLINE  

ClausB

    Stargunner

  • 1,596 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:54 PM

Exactly how ACE80 works. It also redirects the S: handler.

 

Basically anything which writes to the screen via the E: handler can have its display redirected to the XEP80, so: BASIC, DOS, etc. Programs which write directly to the screen RAM won't work without actual patching of the executables.

 



#75 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,557 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:56 PM



I also now think I could re-create this program with no executable code using purely 1 byte init segments.. last segment just RTS maybe ... I'll have to try this now :D

 

Like this? 

 

Spoiler

 

Attached File  CUSTOM.XEX   35bytes   21 downloads

 

:-)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users