Jump to content

Photo

Atari 80 column software/hardware


90 replies to this topic

#76 Nezgar ONLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,823 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 4:13 PM

Like this?

Fantastic! Makes perfect sense to me now looking at it in the Altirra executable viewer:

00000000: $FFFF
00000002: Load $0041-0041 ; 65
00000006 / $0041: 00
00000007: Load $0052-0052 ; 82
0000000B / $0052: 00
0000000C: Load $02C5-02C6 ; 709-710
00000010 / $02C5: 0C 02   ; 12 2
00000012: Load $02C8-02C8 ; 712
00000016 / $02C8: 00
00000017: Load $02D9-02DB ; 729-731
0000001B / $02D9: 0F 01 01 ; 15 1 1
0000001E: Load $02F0-02F0 ; 752
00000022 / $02F0: 00

 
Still learning fundamentals of programming at this low level, one more item crossed off of my Atari bucket list. Thanks for the lesson.


Edited by Nezgar, Fri Jun 1, 2018 4:14 PM.


#77 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,557 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 4:48 PM

Really, the fundamentals are easy.  Anyone who can PEEK and POKE in BASIC can code something in assembly.  Just a matter of knowing the syntax of your assembler and a bit of reading about opcodes but this in no different with BASIC where you also walk the way from A to B to C to D to reach your goal.  The difference is that the way in assembler doesn't stop at D but at Z in stead.  And beyond for some.  (and waaaay beyond for a few)

 

It's gets tricky once you're going into VBI's, DLI's and "beam racing".  You need to develop quite some know-how about O.S. vectors, hardware registers, etc...



#78 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,494 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 5:12 PM

Exactly how ACE80 works. It also redirects the S: handler.
 
 


Yep, as do the SDX 64 and 80 column drivers, screen accelerator, VBXE driver, etc.

#79 ClausB OFFLINE  

ClausB

    Stargunner

  • 1,596 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 7:02 PM

That was an advanced concept for microcomputers back then, a real OS with device handlers that could be replaced or added to. Hat's off to Atari!

#80 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,588 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 8:21 PM

That was an advanced concept for microcomputers back then, a real OS with device handlers that could be replaced or added to. Hat's off to Atari!

All in 10kB too.  I mention this every place I work.  Nobody these days seems to get it.  .NET is cool, but we're talking MBs fora minimum "hello world".  This OS, handcrafted in 6502 by the same guys who went on to found Activision mind you, that still impresses me.



#81 Nezgar ONLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,823 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:22 AM

Just checking in to say that the ATR Farb posted earlier in this thread also works fine with OmniView XE OS, and tf_hh's 512K memory board after running M256.COM to return bit 5 to ANTIC bank selection. (PORTB bits 2,3,6,7 for bank selection, instead of the default 2,3,5,6,7). This is in an 800XL, which with most 'old-school' RAM upgrades would not be capable of ANTIC bank switching. :)

 

As JR> previously noted, I also do not get a directory index, but it will save or load a file if I know the name...



#82 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,025 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:04 PM

 

What is a Googled Omniview XE ROM?

 

Can anyone REALLY be this stupid? Yeah, Hank Johnson (Guam), Elijah Cummings, MadMax... This is off the charts.

 

I know how bad those dummys are, but Huey, REALLY!

 

You don't know what a 'Googled' Omniview is?  Do you know what Google is? How about DuckDuckGo? Swisscows, etc. ??? REALLY?

 

Wow.



#83 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,588 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:58 AM

 

What is a Googled Omniview XE ROM?

Omniview XE ROM that has been patched to allow searching via Google.



#84 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 307 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:23 AM

Thank you Kyle22 for reminding me that not everyone on this forum actually is interested in being helpful and sharing information. I do know what google is and I did google Omniview XE ROM and although I was provided with much information, none of it pointed me to a way to achieve what I wanted to achieve. It is much the same as is someone said "I need to know how to prepare a Thanksgiving dinner" and you replied "google turkey".

#85 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,025 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:51 AM

Perhaps I was a bit harsh. It's better to look on a known Atari site rather than use the evil Goo for things like Omniview. Look here: http://ftp.pigwa.net...ROM/OMNIVXE.ROM



#86 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,494 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:28 AM

 It is much the same as is someone said "I need to know how to prepare a Thanksgiving dinner" and you replied "google turkey".

 

To which they rightly reply, "What's a Google Turkey?", obviously. :)



#87 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,726 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:13 PM

hmmm... what's a google, turkey!?

or what's a google gobbler?

or...                                       oh noes, it's all gone, all gone now..... :)

toe cutter... remember the night rider, remember him when you look up at the night sky...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:15 PM.


#88 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,930 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:01 AM

Hello guys

 

This might be country dependent, but when I google "turkey" (all lower case), the first thing I see is a Wikipedia-article about the country, not the bird.........   :grin:

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#89 gozar OFFLINE  

gozar

    Dragonstomper

  • 981 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:15 PM

Hello guys

 

This might be country dependent, but when I google "turkey" (all lower case), the first thing I see is a Wikipedia-article about the country, not the bird.........   icon_biggrinwink.gif

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy

 

 

Google attempts to show you the most relevant results, and apparently Google thinks you are more interested in the country and not the bird. :-)



#90 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,930 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:31 PM

Hello gozar

 

I "know" how Google works, that's why I googled "turkey" in the first place.  I tried to make a point.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#91 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,726 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:35 PM

boggled google, what to do, it's not in your history, it won't show you.. go to some cooking sites through google today, results full of turkey will begin to come that way. google suxors






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users