Jump to content

Photo

Installed a network card in my LC 475...stupid question probably


13 replies to this topic

#1 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:45 PM

I received one of those new old stock Farallon cards on ebay and installed it. Seems to work but when running tests two fail. One being the cable connection (which is expected because I do not have it connected yet...just bought it for future use) and the other test that failes is the Loopback:Transceiver test.

 

As far as the small help section in the app goes, it says all should pass other than the cable connection if it is disconnected. But is that true? Is there something up with this card or is that loopback test requiring some kind of loopback cable? The two other loopback tests (loopback controller and loopback encoder/decoder) pass tests just fine.

 

Any insight is appreciated!



#2 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:56 PM

NVM. Answered my own question my taking a spare router, connecting it and testing. All passed :) Now I just have to get wired internet closer to where this thing is!



#3 Osgeld ONLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,241 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:29 PM

might be able to get something like 1Mb half duplex over phone lines, I did that in my apartment after disconnecting them from the outside world (but the run from wall to junction box to wall was really short in terms of telephone cables)


Edited by Osgeld, Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:30 PM.


#4 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:41 PM

Only got it because it was $15 and change, brand new, and something to put in the NuBus slot :) That and I figure I might find some use for it down the road. Better to have network ability than not I say. For those interested:

 

https://www.ebay.com/itm/231332620598


Edited by eightbit, Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:54 PM.


#5 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    ANGRY TACO

  • 12,676 posts

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:52 PM

Now it's a real computer!

I would set up a file share and run almost everything from the network drives if it were my setup. Problem is AppleTalk is deprecated so you'll have to kludge around it. Some ideas here: http://lowendmac.com...-file-exchange/

#6 cybercylon OFFLINE  

cybercylon

    River Patroller

  • 2,396 posts
  • Location:SW PA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:33 PM

I remember when we had one of these, complete with that Apple IIe card and the old floppy drivers. What a Frankenstein set up.....



#7 Osgeld ONLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,241 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:00 PM

Only got it because it was $15 and change, brand new, and something to put in the NuBus slot :)

that is a pds card not nubus

 

IMG_6116.jpg

 

for what its worth I bought that exact same card from that same seller like 4 years ago lol


Edited by Osgeld, Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:01 PM.


#8 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:01 PM

that is a pds card not nubus

 

attachicon.gifIMG_6116.jpg

 

 

Yes, I meant processor direct. I had NuBus stuck in my head for some reason :)



#9 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:06 PM

Now it's a real computer!

I would set up a file share and run almost everything from the network drives if it were my setup. Problem is AppleTalk is deprecated so you'll have to kludge around it. Some ideas here: http://lowendmac.com...-file-exchange/

 

 

Good info, thanks! Looks like another old Mac (well not as old) is needed to communicate via AppleTalk....obviously. Man, Apple really had a way of keeping you inside of their ecosystem!



#10 Osgeld ONLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,241 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:21 PM

well appletalk predates consumer Ethernet so for compatibility it made since on the protocol side of things



#11 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:37 PM

I would imagine I can simply use some FTP application on the 475 and transfer files over the network from any Windows PC serving them up tho? That would be ideal.


Edited by eightbit, Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:38 PM.


#12 Osgeld ONLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,241 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:01 PM

i forget if its internet toolkit or tcpip toolkit on something like macgui, there's a tcpip stack with all the normal stuff from apple for 7.xxx ... course its extensions so it might be worth while to not waste ram and make a boot disk for when needed 



#13 eightbit ONLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,240 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:52 AM

Looks like I found the FTP answer:

 

http://www.stairways...main/netpresenz

 

Its free now which is a plus and I should be able to send things over to it using any PC and FIlezilla. Nice!



#14 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    ANGRY TACO

  • 12,676 posts

Posted Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:46 AM

That looks nice enough. The FTP client of choice back in the days of your old LC475 was Fetch, which runs on older versions of MacOS. 

 

I wish I could remember the name of the (expensive, proprietary) utility we used to make Windows shares available to old Macs over AppleTalk, but it's been too long and the cobwebs in my brain are too thick. There's something very nice about mounting a network share as if it were locally connected on these ancient machines. They just worked. You could probably set up an old Windows server in a VM if you choose something from when they supported AppleTalk natively. I think Microsoft called it "Apple File Sharing Services." 

 

Here is a comprehensive rundown of old Apple networking information should you choose to take it to the next level. I suspect some of the background info might be useful even for what you're trying to do. 

http://www.applefool.com/se30/

 

Edit: Ooh! I remembered the name of the utility. ExtremeZ-IP from GroupLogic. If you can find and get that running, I will buy you a weird piece of beige 90s hardware with a stupid legacy Apple-only connector.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users