Jump to content

Photo

Is Opcode EVER going to Release Donkey Kong Arcade!

colecovision adam

68 replies to this topic

Poll: Is Opcode EVER going to Release Donkey Kong Arcade! (65 member(s) have cast votes)

Is Opcode EVER going to release Donkey Kong Arcade?

  1. Absolutely (23 votes [35.38%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 35.38%

  2. Maybe (3 votes [4.62%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.62%

  3. Perhaps (2 votes [3.08%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.08%

  4. In 2035 (13 votes [20.00%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 20.00%

  5. Quit Your Whining (10 votes [15.38%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 15.38%

  6. NEVER! (8 votes [12.31%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 12.31%

  7. Yes, but only for ValkerieSilk (6 votes [9.23%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 9.23%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#51 dj_convoy OFFLINE  

dj_convoy

    Dragonstomper

  • 870 posts
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:26 AM

Not a huge deal, but just a brief question... is there an upgrade path for those of us who already have the SGM? Like I say, not a huge deal... I'm not interested enough to buy a whole new version of the SGM, but if there's a cheap way to add the Pro functionality to my already existing unit, I'd be okay with that. 



#52 ten-four OFFLINE  

ten-four

    Dragonstomper

  • 912 posts
  • Here i am... again!
  • Location:Aalborg, Denmark.

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2018 12:15 PM

Not a huge deal, but just a brief question... is there an upgrade path for those of us who already have the SGM? Like I say, not a huge deal... I'm not interested enough to buy a whole new version of the SGM, but if there's a cheap way to add the Pro functionality to my already existing unit, I'd be okay with that. 

 

Hi dj_convoy.

 

As I understand can you not upgrade the Opcode Games Super Game Module.

SGM Pro is a whole new design, and there will be added a custom sound chip that can produce any sound you like to a given ColecoVision game.

So if there is a digital speech or sound in a converted game, SGM Pro can reproduce this sound.

As I understand will a large part of the new upcoming ColecoVision premium games have this function.

DKA, PMC DX, Gradius DX and so on.

So If you want this feature in you further ColecoVision game, will you have to invest in this SGM Pro.

If you don't want this extra sound feature, will these new ColecoVision DX games still work with your ordinary SGM module.

Your sound experience will be bigger with the new SGM Pro.

Just hope this will be added for CollectorVision Phoenix Video Game System. 

:-D



#53 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • 4,377 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 8:06 AM

Yeah, it's definetely been a trying couple years for you especially considering the whole Cardillo hoopla. No one needs to deal with the BS, any of it, when this is a hobby and an investment of ones own time and money.

Re. the SGM Pro boxes that have the Coleco logo on it... couldn't you just add a non-removable sticker to it. I know it wouldn't bother me and i'm sure most would be agreeable to this in order to save further expense and time in your part

Anyway, glad to hear (pun) the SGM Pro is back on and a decisiin re. the prometheus Lite was made for you due to the Phoenix without further expense to you.


I had the cv logo on the front, size and back of the boxes, so patching it with sticker would look terrible. :(



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#54 arcade124 OFFLINE  

arcade124

    Chopper Commander

  • 212 posts

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:57 PM

Ok, here is something. Hope it is a reasonable solution for everybody. Let’s wait another 6 months and if things with the Pro aren’t clearly sorted out by then (I.e. we have a clear timeline for the OMNIvox sound chip) then I will go ahead and release DKA as it is. Does that sound reasonable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Certainly.



#55 Shawn OFFLINE  

Shawn

    The Kraken

  • 18,499 posts

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:05 PM

I had the cv logo on the front, size and back of the boxes, so patching it with sticker would look terrible. :(



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

I don't think it would look bad at all. Lots of company's did exactly this back in the day. No point in wasting what you already have invested in the project. If anyone doesn't like the patch over on the boxes they don't have to buy one. I personally look at it as a nice "screw you" to the Cadeleco\RWBing jerks showing that the community will keep on going with or without the name they are only sitting on to exploit.



#56 Q*bertkid OFFLINE  

Q*bertkid

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:36 PM

Ok, here is something. Hope it is a reasonable solution for everybody. Let’s wait another 6 months and if things with the Pro aren’t clearly sorted out by then (I.e. we have a clear timeline for the OMNIvox sound chip) then I will go ahead and release DKA as it is. Does that sound reasonable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

a few questions here

 

1. You said you were going to implement some coding and graphic changes to DKA does that mean you will do the same thing to Pac-Man as well? ( not that there is anything wrong with it, in my opinion its still the best colecovision homebrew ever made)

 

2. If everything goes well with the Pro how long before we can buy one?

 

3. How many games do you plan to make for the Pro in the next 5 years?



#57 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • 4,377 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:15 AM

 

a few questions here

 

1. You said you were going to implement some coding and graphic changes to DKA does that mean you will do the same thing to Pac-Man as well? ( not that there is anything wrong with it, in my opinion its still the best colecovision homebrew ever made)

 

2. If everything goes well with the Pro how long before we can buy one?

 

3. How many games do you plan to make for the Pro in the next 5 years?

 

 

Hi!

 

1. Pac-Man already got its graphic improvements last year. New sprite mode, improved Ms Pac Man mazes mostly. Minor stuff.

2. I was told February for the new sound chip. After that we need to test the chip and PCB. Good news is that we have packaging templates and other stuff that are usually time consuming.

3. That is hard to answer. Next year plans are for DKA, Pac-Man DX and Gradius DX. They are all mostly done gameplay wise, needing the new sound stuff (which was done at a point but for the old SGM Pro chip). Gradius DX should be the showcaser, with much improved soundtrack, sound effects and voices ("destroy them all!", power up names, etc). They will all work with the regular SGM. Perhaps next would be Castlevania...



#58 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:09 PM

I had the cv logo on the front, size and back of the boxes, so patching it with sticker would look terrible. :(

The community knows all too well that you are a perfectionist and we appreciate the heck out of that! Why not start a new poll thread to see what everyone's opinion is on the matter of adding stickers to the boxes you have already had made? I think you know most would be agreeable to the addition of stickers to the boxes so that they don't go to waste and then if there are further runs made, there will be a redesigned box style which means another variation for collectors to purchase.

#59 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 810 posts

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:59 PM

put 1 2 3 4 5 stickers on the box i dont care i want dk...

#60 AtariLeaf OFFLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • 11,103 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:46 PM

put 1 2 3 4 5 stickers on the box i dont care i want dk...

 

I like this set, I use them for all my Atari boxes, which I think are woefully lacking in sticker bling

 

sticker-starter-box_wof12_1_large.jpg



#61 cmart604 OFFLINE  

cmart604

    Intellivision Hoarder

  • 12,191 posts
  • Running out of things to buy.
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:19 AM

 
I like this set, I use them for all my Atari boxes, which I think are woefully lacking in sticker bling
 
sticker-starter-box_wof12_1_large.jpg


😂😂😂 Sticker bling! Nice.

#62 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,762 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:25 PM

Those are nice stickers.



#63 Master Phruby ONLINE  

Master Phruby

    Quadrunner

  • 9,513 posts
  • Location:Right behind you.

Posted Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:33 PM

Put stickers on the boxes. Then I can take them off.

#64 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,280 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:17 PM

I don't mind stickers at all. I'd love to play DK.

#65 128Kgames OFFLINE  

128Kgames

    Dragonstomper

  • 997 posts
  • Victory is mine! I am the Worrior!
  • Location:The Dungeons of Wor

Posted Fri Dec 7, 2018 9:35 PM

Btw, DK status has been discussed some other thread. Waiting for our new custom sound chip to get ready so we can release the SGM Pro.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

 

Let me explain why things are the way they are:

Back in late 2015, I was back, I shipped the SGM 2nd run, and I planned for 2016. We planned something like this:
First half 2016: Penguin, Gradius and SGM 3rd run
Second half: DK, Pac-Man and SGM Pro

In fact, boxes for DK and PM DX were printed with the SGM PRO support logo on it. We felt behind schedule with everything during the year, so we decided not to release Pro in 2016. Around the end of that year the idea for the new console come back, but we were still going to release the Pro later in 2017, so I had time to finish DKA and PM DX to release with it. Then Cardillo struck. In the process I lost a lot of investment, including 300 Pro boxes that had been printed with the CV logo.

I will be honest with you, the whole Cardillo thing took a toll on me. Really lost the drive for anything for a while. So we floated between an Intellivision module, a new Coleco compatible console. With the new console and considering the Pro high costs because of the way we were doing it, it seemed logical to cancel the pro and go with the console. Until we got into a race. In the meantime I am delaying and delaying DKA and PM DX, waiting for the sound solution.

Then, earlier this year, the exact week we had the Intellivision module up and running, Intellivision announces they were planning a new console. So now we had two active trademark owners on both CV and Intellivision fronts and that is when I took the courage to make the decision to go with my own console. And just recently the Phoenix made it clear there is no space for two CV compatible consoles (considering the costs and investment involved), so I don’t regret the decision.

DKA and PM DX are still on hold waiting though, so we resumed work on the Pro, the old original Pro, until something happened after RWX in September. The interest for OMNI was clearly there, and well, it isn’t everyday you get to work with Ted Mayer, Ed Averett, Rob Fulop and others, so we thought that OMNI deserved more. Gone was the off the shelf chipset, replaced by a custom chipset. It happens that the OMNI sound chip, the omnivox, is perfect for the Pro, and less expensive than the off the shelf solution we had before. So we now can have the Pro at about the same price as the regular SGM.

There you have it, the full story. And yes, DKA and PM DX and Gradius DX will all work just fine with the regular SGM but will offer much improved sound with the Pro.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

So I'm not subscribed to this thread as it was just a poll so I missed these posts, not even sure how I stumbled upon it today but I've been spending time with my Arcade1Up machines lately so maybe I'm out of the loop.

 

Anyway so I'm at the latest post and going "is this April Fools?" 'cause this has to be some kind of joke, right?

 

SGM Pro again? Really?

 

I'm sorry man, and you know I've been a supporter since Space Invaders Collection and sure as hell am not a troll, but I think its time for me to tap out on this one.  

 

I've gotten the first run SGM, rode along waiting for DKA and any other SGM games, stuck with this when you were going to make a clear shell for the SGM the said "no" then released some protos years later for crazy $$$ on eBay to raise funds for another project. 

 

Then you were making a Pro at some point, then cancelled it, said you weren't going to make it, moved on, came out with some more runs with the new packaging and the "smoked" shell and like an idiot I picked one up and got rid of one of my first run SGM's cause who needs three of them, am I right?

 

All the while waiting and waiting and waiting for DKA, not giving up when you said we'd need the SGM Pro to play it, then we wouldn't when you cancelled it, then you moved onto an entirely new retro console that wouldn't play ColecoVision games then yet another that would, and DKA was going to be out by Christmas cause you said it would. 

 

Now we're back to the SGM being back on, DKA needed it again for whatever reason, and you're going to do this along with two other consoles and develop games all the while?

 

I'm sorry man but its all been just a little too much for me at this point.  

 

I wish you the best I really do but I'm gonna stick with my 3/4 arcade games for now and leave this one by the side of the road. 



#66 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • 4,377 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Fri Dec 7, 2018 9:49 PM

You don't need the SGM Pro to play DKA. I never ever said you needed. It will run just fine (as in fact it already does) on a regular SGM. And there is no "two other consoles", there is just one, OMNI. But OMNI is being done on a very different level, where possibly I won't be the main programmer and will only coordinate things. 

 

And since we are talking DKA, I am glad to announce Grazi is back and will be taking care again of most Opcode related stuff while I use some of my time to put together the OMNi team and brand. I am sure she will come here to announce some exciting stuff soon. 



#67 128Kgames OFFLINE  

128Kgames

    Dragonstomper

  • 997 posts
  • Victory is mine! I am the Worrior!
  • Location:The Dungeons of Wor

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 4:28 PM

You don't need the SGM Pro to play DKA. I never ever said you needed. It will run just fine (as in fact it already does) on a regular SGM.


There you have it, the full story. And yes, DKA and PM DX and Gradius DX will all work just fine with the regular SGM but will offer much improved sound with the Pro.

 

 



#68 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • 4,377 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 7:37 PM

 
 


What exactly you don’t understand about the two statements above? You seem to imply they are somehow conflicting.

On both I am saying games will run just fine no matter what version of the sgm you have, but you get improved, closer to arcade sound with the Pro.

Those who have been around since before the sgm was released, circa 2010, know that I looked for pcm/adpcm sound solution for a couple of years. Unfortunately I couldn’t find one back then. I eventually found something in 2016, but it wasn’t cheap. Now with OMNI I have the chance to use a custom solution that is everything I have always wished, for about the same price. Again, you don’t have to buy it. And you don’t have to like it either. And in fact as I indicated above it could never happen if the timing isn’t right, or could happen after DKA. We will know soon.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#69 128Kgames OFFLINE  

128Kgames

    Dragonstomper

  • 997 posts
  • Victory is mine! I am the Worrior!
  • Location:The Dungeons of Wor

Posted Sat Dec 8, 2018 10:13 PM

What exactly you don’t understand about the two statements above? You seem to imply they are somehow conflicting.

On both I am saying games will run just fine no matter what version of the sgm you have, but you get improved, closer to arcade sound with the Pro.

Those who have been around since before the sgm was released, circa 2010, know that I looked for pcm/adpcm sound solution for a couple of years. Unfortunately I couldn’t find one back then. I eventually found something in 2016, but it wasn’t cheap. Now with OMNI I have the chance to use a custom solution that is everything I have always wished, for about the same price. Again, you don’t have to buy it. And you don’t have to like it either. And in fact as I indicated above it could never happen if the timing isn’t right, or could happen after DKA. We will know soon.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Eduardo I understand the two statement perfectly.  And I've been around here since 2004, and I remember it all.

 

And like I said, I wish you luck, I really do. 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: colecovision, adam

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users