Jump to content

Photo

A Newbies Journey with the TIPI


145 replies to this topic

#126 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,030 posts

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:12 AM

A 30-06 should take care of the issue.  Either that, or some tannerite.

 

Elmo loves Tannerite.... but I've not gotten to that point yet!  HA HA!

 

82Wiy-.gif



#127 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:54 AM

To the community:

 

I understand debugging and being crowd-sourced QA is frustrating...  But it is that, or I hold these things back, and never release them trying to determine if they are perfect or not, or keep it for myself simply satisfied that it works for what I need.

 

Helping the community out with use cases, problem files, and debugging information is an essential contribution

 

99% of the time I only run what would be less than 1% of the software available. So I'm a horrible test case for what you guys expect out of a storage system.

 

You absolutely need your help

 

-M@



#128 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,279 posts

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:52 AM

Thanks for trying M@, but...

 

 

 

gallery_35324_1027_157242.jpg

Just out of curiosity, did you name the .HFe disk image with the label (volume) "TIPI"?   If so, you might want to change the label so that you know for sure the DSK1 you are accessing is the physical legacy drive versus the TIPI mapped drive.  (My assumption based on the screenshots is that "TIPI" is returned as the volume name for some or all catalog access on the tipi device). 



#129 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:32 PM

Just out of curiosity, did you name the .HFe disk image with the label (volume) "TIPI"?   If so, you might want to change the label so that you know for sure the DSK1 you are accessing is the physical legacy drive versus the TIPI mapped drive.  (My assumption based on the screenshots is that "TIPI" is returned as the volume name for some or all catalog access on the tipi device). 

 

That is a sharp observation... I'll have to check that code. The expected behavior is that the directory name that is mapped as DSK1 is used as the volume name. Maybe I'm interfering with the Catalog file when a drive is not mapped...  (checked: Devices "TIPI." "DSK0." "DSK4." and "WDS1." return a volume name of "TIPI", mapped DSK1-3 use the last segment of the name as mapped)

 

In this case, that record looks to me like it is coming from the real floppy, as tipi always returns - used: 0, size: 1440, free: 1438 - always.

 

I'm mulling around ideas to be appropriately accurate, as appropriate. 

 

-M@



#130 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,030 posts

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:45 PM

THANKS!  I have plenty of time to devote to this tomorrow.  I'll check that out, (just in case), do the log and even make a video if necessary.



#131 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:36 PM

I've got a few requests after receiving my TIPI-PEB card.

 

I would ask that there be a reference/card placed in the package indicating where one can go to get the information on setting up and wiring a RPI to the TIPI for future sales.  If I had seen the small print on the card for the cwfk.net website, I would not have known to even go there.  

 

My package had two sets of 4-wire connectors. It is not obvious to me what gets wired to which posts or connectors on the TIPI-Peb and on the RPI.  I did find one photo that indicated to NOT wire up the wrong end on the RPI, but other than that, I do not know where those wires connect on the RPI to where they connect on the TIPI.  The information at http://ti994a.cwfk.net/TIPI.htmldoes not show any pictures on how things should be cabled.

 

I thought I read in one of the topics here a mini-SD card would be included all setup.  Was surprised when I did not see  it in the packaging.  I did not see a second purchase option for buying a preconfigured mini-SD card was on ArcadeShopper.  Would suggest adding information to the product description detailing one can either order the card, or they would need to make their own SD card from the provided image.  Just a suggestion.

 

Beery



#132 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,030 posts

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:21 PM

I saw photos...

( I ripped off M@'s images and simplified it. )

Attached Files



#133 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:54 PM

I've got a few requests after receiving my TIPI-PEB card.

 

I would ask that there be a reference/card placed in the package indicating where one can go to get the information on setting up and wiring a RPI to the TIPI for future sales.  If I had seen the small print on the card for the cwfk.net website, I would not have known to even go there.  

 

My package had two sets of 4-wire connectors. It is not obvious to me what gets wired to which posts or connectors on the TIPI-Peb and on the RPI.  I did find one photo that indicated to NOT wire up the wrong end on the RPI, but other than that, I do not know where those wires connect on the RPI to where they connect on the TIPI.  The information at http://ti994a.cwfk.net/TIPI.htmldoes not show any pictures on how things should be cabled.

 

I thought I read in one of the topics here a mini-SD card would be included all setup.  Was surprised when I did not see  it in the packaging.  I did not see a second purchase option for buying a preconfigured mini-SD card was on ArcadeShopper.  Would suggest adding information to the product description detailing one can either order the card, or they would need to make their own SD card from the provided image.  Just a suggestion.

 

Beery

 

Doh, I forgot to update that for the Peb board... it's sooooo the same as the sideport board, that I overlooked it. 

 

-M@



#134 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,851 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:58 PM

I've got a few requests after receiving my TIPI-PEB card.
 
I would ask that there be a reference/card placed in the package indicating where one can go to get the information on setting up and wiring a RPI to the TIPI for future sales.  If I had seen the small print on the card for the cwfk.net website, I would not have known to even go there.  
 
My package had two sets of 4-wire connectors. It is not obvious to me what gets wired to which posts or connectors on the TIPI-Peb and on the RPI.  I did find one photo that indicated to NOT wire up the wrong end on the RPI, but other than that, I do not know where those wires connect on the RPI to where they connect on the TIPI.  The information at http://ti994a.cwfk.net/TIPI.htmldoes not show any pictures on how things should be cabled.
 
I thought I read in one of the topics here a mini-SD card would be included all setup.  Was surprised when I did not see  it in the packaging.  I did not see a second purchase option for buying a preconfigured mini-SD card was on ArcadeShopper.  Would suggest adding information to the product description detailing one can either order the card, or they would need to make their own SD card from the provided image.  Just a suggestion.
 
Beery

Thanks Berry it states they are required in the description and they are listed below as related items. I'll be putting up Pi's as well.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#135 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,818 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:26 PM

I'll work on revamping the docs...   And getting a more concise description to Greg to put up on the store-front.. 

 

I want to drive people to github for the reference material. And improve the material there to be a worthy single source...

 

For instance, this page is accurate, but not user friendly:  https://github.com/j...PI-to-PI-Wiring

 

-M@



#136 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:18 AM

 

Doh, I forgot to update that for the Peb board... it's sooooo the same as the sideport board, that I overlooked it. 

 

-M@

 

Easy enough to overlook.  You have a lot on your plate.  What is obvious to you wasn't immediately obvious to me, and I did not want to wire something up incorrectly.  I knew if I had questions, others could be scratchng their heads as well.

 

Beery



#137 jonecool OFFLINE  

jonecool

    Chopper Commander

  • 130 posts
  • Location:Harvest, AL

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:39 PM

I forgot to add the video below to this thread, may be helpful to assist new TIPI users or those who haven't seen it yet.  Most of this video should be applicable to the PEB or Sidecar version of the TIPI, however I'm only currently using the sidecar version which is shown primarily at the very beginning.

 


Edited by jonecool, Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:43 PM.


#138 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:14 PM

Well, I am finally online with the TIPI-PEBox card.  I've got a Myarc HFDC with with the Myarc 512K card in the system.  Ended up changing the DSR to >1800 and got things working.

It did take some time to figure out how to run the Telnet client as it was not immediately obvious I needed to go to EA, Option #5, and type in TIPI.NET.TELNET<return>.  

 

So, all works as far as I know.

Now, need to take some time to read the details on Atariage about the use and make sure I understand it on the TI-99/4A.

Beery



#139 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,436 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:34 PM

Well, I am finally online with the TIPI-PEBox card.  I've got a Myarc HFDC with with the Myarc 512K card in the system.  Ended up changing the DSR to >1800 and got things working.

It did take some time to figure out how to run the Telnet client as it was not immediately obvious I needed to go to EA, Option #5, and type in TIPI.NET.TELNET<return>.  

 

So, all works as far as I know.

Now, need to take some time to read the details on Atariage about the use and make sure I understand it on the TI-99/4A.

Beery

 

in TI Basic can't you just do a CALL TIPI("TIPI.NET.TELNET")  ???  I think I did it that way before I setup the 9640 menu system, if i recall correctly.  



#140 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,030 posts

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:53 PM

Ended up changing the DSR to >1800 and got things working.

 

I'm going to try that tomorrow evening.  I've been getting some seriously funky issues with one new program that is driving me totally stark raving nuts.  I'm hoping (although it would not make any sense) that the change may fix it.



#141 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:02 AM

Discovered last night that somewhere in the process of installing the TIPI-PEBox, possibly with cables getting pulled or possibly the HFDC dip switch "quirky", not sure which, that Fred Kaal's Disk Manager (or was that Disk Utilities) was not seeing the HFDC CRU bases.

 

It is seeing it now, but somewhere along the route, there was an issue over the weekend.

 

I've got enough of a handle on the situation with the TIPI now, that I am going to move it over into my Geneve system either tonight or tomorrow.

 

Beery



#142 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:39 AM

A couple of questions.......

 

I am in the process of  using TIDIR to copy some source files into a subdirectory on TIPI.  The main source file has references to DSK1.  I assume there is no issue changing the path to TIPI.SOURCECODE.SRC_FILE1, TIPI.SOURCECODE.SRC_FILE2, etc. and assembling the object files and saving out on the TIPI as well?

 

Can I assume correctly that when I go to link and then save the program image file out, there will be no problems saving it to a TIPI subdirectory?

 

Beery



#143 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:47 AM

Second question in this thread.  Has anyone already setup Funnelweb with all the utilities, etc. on the TIPI?  If you have, could someone zip up those files to be ready and go?  Hopefully, Funnelweb is configured outside of a DSKx directory and rather something like TIPI.FWEB. file path.

 

Just trying to save some time getting some basic stuff setup on the TIPI as I would rather spend more time modifying source code to use the TIPI than utilizing what free time I have getting all the utilities ready to go.

 

I've got some time this weekend, and I am going to try and modify the Mass Transfer source code I have to use the TIPI for Telnet to make available file transfer capability.  Yes, I realize it uses sector i/o and I need to go to a real floppy drive versus a TIPI emulated drive.

 

Beery

 



#144 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,851 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:08 AM

Second question in this thread.  Has anyone already setup Funnelweb with all the utilities, etc. on the TIPI?  If you have, could someone zip up those files to be ready and go?  Hopefully, Funnelweb is configured outside of a DSKx directory and rather something like TIPI.FWEB. file path.

 

Just trying to save some time getting some basic stuff setup on the TIPI as I would rather spend more time modifying source code to use the TIPI than utilizing what free time I have getting all the utilities ready to go.

 

I've got some time this weekend, and I am going to try and modify the Mass Transfer source code I have to use the TIPI for Telnet to make available file transfer capability.  Yes, I realize it uses sector i/o and I need to go to a real floppy drive versus a TIPI emulated drive.

 

Beery

 

 

hadn't considered this yet..  I assumed funlweb is on whtech somewhere.. i found a buncha files in CAT20 in 9640news folders

 

Greg



#145 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,851 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:09 PM

so it runs fine with DSK1 pointed to the folder.. some parts require sectorio which isnt supported but the editor works fine



#146 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,279 posts

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 3:20 PM

I've got some time this weekend, and I am going to try and modify the Mass Transfer source code I have to use the TIPI for Telnet to make available file transfer capability.  Yes, I realize it uses sector i/o and I need to go to a real floppy drive versus a TIPI emulated drive.

 

Only the disk catalog routine is sector-based.  The file transfers use level 2 IO so you should be good for any single file transfers.

 

It would be good to have an assembly language set of routines for tipi.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users