Jump to content

Photo

TIPI Usage and Support

TIPI

266 replies to this topic

#251 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,828 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 1:24 PM

Beery, you should pull the 74'245 so the 32k side port never asserts anything on the data bus.

-M@

#252 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,828 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 1:30 PM

Oh, unless your 32k side port card doesn't have one... Then just the memory chip should do fine.

-M@

#253 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 734 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 1:55 PM

Seems like I recall someone posted a 3D printed case for their TIPI that may have included the PI inside the case with the sidecar 32K and TIPI?  Did I remember correctly?  If so, was someone offering this case?  

 

Trying to find a case that has everything in one tidy package without exposed wiring other than power line feed.

 

Beery



#254 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,207 posts

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 2:28 PM

Seems like I recall someone posted a 3D printed case for their TIPI that may have included the PI inside the case with the sidecar 32K and TIPI?  Did I remember correctly?  If so, was someone offering this case?  

 

AFAIK, there are two POSSIBLE, future cases, nothing YET completed.

 

The first was referenced in my blog entry << HERE >> the second mentioned in passing by a message from AA user broettger in a message

<< HERE >>.



#255 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 734 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 2:44 PM

 

AFAIK, there are two POSSIBLE, future cases, nothing YET completed.

 

The first was referenced in my blog entry << HERE >> the second mentioned in passing by a message from AA user broettger in a message

<< HERE >>.

 

Your blog entry is what I recalled.  The second I remembered seeing after reading the link again.  Not looking for something that would include the sidecard speech as speech is already built in to the 99/5C.

 

Beery



#256 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:42 PM

Got my TIPI today. Whoever added the new ribbon cable with 40 pin connector to the PI on one end and then a keyed connector to the TIPI get my thanks! It will now be very easy to connect the PI!

 

I need to go to the hardware store to see if I can find some nylon washers to mount the PI.



#257 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:56 PM

Got my TIPI today. Whoever added the new ribbon cable with 40 pin connector to the PI on one end and then a keyed connector to the TIPI get my thanks! It will now be very easy to connect the PI!

 

I need to go to the hardware store to see if I can find some nylon washers to mount the PI.

 

that would be me..  I ran out of the other kind.  I'm finding some reliability issues with the length of the cable though.   I may need to swap you out for a shorter one.  Will let you know, make sure you plug it in with the ribbon near port 49

 

Greg



#258 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:16 PM

 

that would be me..  I ran out of the other kind.  I'm finding some reliability issues with the length of the cable though.   I may need to swap you out for a shorter one.  Will let you know, make sure you plug it in with the ribbon near port 49

 

Greg

 

 

Greg,

 

Here is how it's connected. Should I wait to hear from you before installing in the PEB?

 

Attached File  IMG_3613.jpg   1.29MB   3 downloads

 

Do I need to remove the jumper to get CRUBASE >1000?

 

Thanks



#259 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:32 PM



 
 
Greg,
 
Here is how it's connected. Should I wait to hear from you before installing in the PEB?
 
attachicon.gifIMG_3613.jpg
 
Do I need to remove the jumper to get CRUBASE >1000?
 
Thanks


No that's the default. The jumper is on 2 grounds.. perfect install of said cable

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#260 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:35 PM

No that's the default. The jumper is on 2 grounds.. perfect install of said cable

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

 

 

Thanks now I need to get the screws and nylon washers :)



#261 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:25 PM

 
 
Thanks now I need to get the screws and nylon washers :)

The long cables work mostly but i am getting errors sometimes with chatti now and then causing it to time out and hang up during refresh. For everything else it seems ok. Up to you if you want to install the longer one. I will send you a shorter one and you can mail the other back when you get it.

Greg

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#262 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:27 PM

The long cables work mostly but i am getting errors sometimes with chatti now and then causing it to time out and hang up during refresh. For everything else it seems ok. Up to you if you want to install the longer one. I will send you a shorter one and you can mail the other back when you get it.

Greg

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

 

 

OK once I get the shorter cable I will send the long cable back.

 

The LED on the TIPI goes toward the from of the PEB correct?



#263 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:41 PM

 
 
OK once I get the shorter cable I will send the long cable back.
 
The LED on the TIPI goes toward the from of the PEB correct?

Yes towards the front like the rest of the cards have theirs

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#264 videofx OFFLINE  

videofx

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts

Posted Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:09 PM

I am looking at the TIPI image on my SD card, I don't see any TIPI or TI directories. Where do I copy the 4A DOS files?



#265 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:07 PM

I am looking at the TIPI image on my SD card, I don't see any TIPI or TI directories. Where do I copy the 4A DOS files?

 

From the PC?  Boot up the pi with the disk image.

 

on another computer open \\tipi\  in a file browser, that will open the file share OR open http://tipi:9900in a browser



#266 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,207 posts

Posted Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:24 PM

 

OR open http://tipi:9900in a browser

 

I've wondered what would happen if I had both my TIPI's running at the same time and tried to connect with that method instead of the IP address.



#267 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,950 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:50 PM

 
I've wondered what would happen if I had both my TIPI's running at the same time and tried to connect with that method instead of the IP address.

If you have two it will pick the first one that got an address from your router ymmv i changed the hostname on the peb one to tipipeb to allow me to address it without the conflict.

Type the following command to edit/etc/hostname using nano or vi text editor: sudo nano /etc/hostname. Delete the old name and setup new name.

Next Edit the /etc/hosts file: sudo nano /etc/hosts. ...

Reboot the system to changes take effect: sudo reboot.



Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: TIPI

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users