Jump to content

Photo

TIPI Usage and Support

TIPI

336 replies to this topic

#326 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:10 PM

You know, years ago there was a program that used a mouse...

 

post-24673-0-83679300-1458577906_thumb.j

 

... if it could only be located and updated to work with the TIPI mouse...



#327 Stuart ONLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • 864 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Mon Apr 1, 2019 1:37 AM

You know, years ago there was a program that used a mouse...

 

post-24673-0-83679300-1458577906_thumb.j

 

... if it could only be located and updated to work with the TIPI mouse...

 

Looks like potential for an Internet Browser calculator app!



#328 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Tue Apr 2, 2019 10:55 PM

As reported in the development thread, I've updated the TIPI software so that PI.CLOCK reads like a Corcomp clock... 

 

https://github.com/j...i/wiki/PI.CLOCK

 

I've also fixed a bug Stuart reported, when using the web-ui. It was allowing caching of TIFILES that you download, which prevents getting your latest version :(   This has been fixed in a small update tonight.  :)

 

-M@



#329 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Tue Apr 2, 2019 11:18 PM

AWESOME M@!! 

This will make it super simple to set the time on the CorComp card since the strings can be easily read from the Internet/TIPI now and written to the CorComp.  The days of manually setting or updating the Corcomp will soon be over.



#330 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Wed Apr 3, 2019 10:21 AM

For those with CorComp real time clocks and a TIPI's installed, the program below should take the TIPI time from the Internet and save it to your CorComp card without the hassle of typing anything...

 

** REMOVED **
 
....of course this would be even better compiled into an E/A5 program we could run out of 4A/DOS or even made into a BIN file for the FR/FG99.

Edited by --- Ω ---, Thu Apr 4, 2019 8:48 PM.


#331 BeeryMiller ONLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 901 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed Apr 3, 2019 10:56 AM

What may be nice is if someone has a Horizon ramdisk and someone can put into the menu autostart function the ability to do all that as well.

 

Beery



#332 jrhodes OFFLINE  

jrhodes

    Moonsweeper

  • 314 posts

Posted Thu Apr 4, 2019 8:01 PM

I attached USB drive holding a handful of ti files, but it apparently does not auto mount.

I am used to linux's auto mounting my USB drives.

When i do a lsusb from the command prompt, it does show up.

But i have no idea how to mount it. Even better, i would like this drive auto mounted when i start the pi, to access my library of ti files on it.

Any help?



#333 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Apr 4, 2019 10:33 PM

Auto mount is usually a function of whatever linux desktop suite you are running... TIPI's linux - raspbian, is raspbian-lite with no desktop ( I think... ) I've never attached an hdmi display.  

 

https://elinux.org/R...ding_USB_Drives

 

Not sure if it solves the problem...   I find it easier to mount the smb://tipi/tipi share on my laptop, and just push files... or use http://tipi:9900, and upload them...  or use scp...

 

 

TI files are so small... it takes more time to plugin and then unmount drives than to network mount... 

 

ElectricLab had some procedure in place for automounting usb drives on the PI in the early development phase... 

 

-M@



#334 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Thu Apr 4, 2019 10:35 PM

Oh, and if you want it to be the drive all your TIFILES are served from a.k.a.:  "TIPI."  then mount it at /home/tipi/tipi_disk

 

There are some files in tipi_disk already, you may want to copy them over first, as a mount will hide the real tipi_disk folder.

 

-M@



#335 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Fri Apr 5, 2019 8:11 AM

Interesting...

 

In some way's it would be nice to have all my TI programs and files on an easy to access USB stick, leaving the SD card strictly for TIPI related operations giving it fewer re-write cycles and prolonging it's operational life.  Swapping USB sticks could also give a different 'personality' to different sticks/setups and would be easy to transport between multiple TIPI units.

 

The USB ports are easy to access on my sidecar unit, but not so much on the P-Box version.  The question I have is what kind of USB extension to go with?  Any extension must be functional, good looking and mountable.  If I did not already have stuff in my disk drive area I'd get one one these...

 

sml_gallery_35324_1027_123394.jpg

 

... but I'll have to look for something more like this...

sml_gallery_35324_1027_40503.jpg

 

What would make a nice upgrade for the TIPI is if there was an option to toggle such a feature on and off.  The end user could easily decide what configuration to run by calling up the TIPI program and checking a box.



#336 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sun Apr 7, 2019 11:29 AM

I've pushed a small functional change to allow PI.CLOCK to be opened with an explicit record length of 24, to get the old python time.asctime() formatted string you had before I made it default to the Corcomp style.

I have also pushed the code to a 'release' branch instead of what has been called 'unstable' for all this time.

After update completes, to 1.0betav036, press space, then R to reload status. You should see another update to 1.37 (no more ugly beta string). U to update again, and all should be caught up.

Link to history for this new branch is here:

https://github.com/j...commits/release

-M@

#337 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sun Apr 7, 2019 1:47 PM

Someone was asking in the arcadeshopper new stuff thread, about the status of Geneve compatibility.

 

A modification was found to the CPLD code on the board that needs to be flashed... A method of flashing that from the raspberry PI has been outlined... requires carefully wiring 5 additional lines temporarily from the JEDEC port on TIPI to the GPIO on the PI. 

 

This modification fixes a timing issue with the Geneve. It should not be necessary for any 4A users, however it has been tested against the 4A and also works fine there.

 

Instructions are on the tipi wiki... see:  CPLD-Programming-With-PI - https://github.com/j...ramming-With-PI

 

I'm cross posting here, cause the original inquiry was off in a random thread, implying that, I forget who, probably doesn't read the development threads... 

 

Anyway, TIPI is supported on Geneve in ROMPAGE mode now. 

 

This has been tested only by myself so far... There are no confirmations from any other users. 

 

-M@







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: TIPI

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users