Jump to content

Photo

Would this stepdown voltage converter work in the UK?


9 replies to this topic

#1 Spector OFFLINE  

Spector

    Dragonstomper

  • 662 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:22 AM

If I were to buy a USA Colecovision power supply with the intention of using it in Britain, would this stepdown converter make it safe to operate in the UK?

 

https://www.amazon.c...L70_&dpSrc=srch

 

 

If you have a better stepdown converter to recommend, then let me know  :)


Edited by Spector, Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:28 AM.


#2 masschamber ONLINE  

masschamber

    Stargunner

  • 1,310 posts

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:27 AM

Don't go with that. It isn't a transformer and will damage the power suply

#3 Spector OFFLINE  

Spector

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 662 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:22 AM

Don't go with that. It isn't a transformer and will damage the power suply

 

But I thought that I needed to bring the voltage down to from 240v to 120v, and that's what this stepdown voltage converter does. Why would that not be enough?



#4 Spector OFFLINE  

Spector

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 662 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:45 AM

Okay what about this then - would this work with a US colecovision power supply?

 

https://www.amazon.c...FG8K044FAQBZ2P5



#5 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 7,298 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:39 PM

As far as I understand, the US Colecovision supply is rated at 120 VAC, 0.25 A on the primary side which equals 30 VA. The first stepdown converter you linked to is rather at max 45 VA which should be enough. The second one you linked to is rated to a maximum of 100W which is more than enough.



#6 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 773 posts

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:41 AM

why not just mod your colecovision to use a more useful power supply rather than that useless brick that is the legit thing.  i dont know about us power supplies but i had a colecovision power supply that died which i wanted to repair.  upon getting the thing apart it was filled with grey epoxy, so ended up throwing it out.

 

i have since modded mine to use a internal powersupply that outputs 5v 1A,  to do that though you need 5v ram and a F18A failing that you can get a replacement one that uses a din sicket that is adiquate, someone is selling them on ebay for an inflated price i cant recall the part number at the moment but if you look up the part number it is a fraction of the cost that guy is selling them for.

 

if that is of interest i could look the part number out for you?



#7 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 7,298 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:51 AM

Is there a such thing as a part number for the 4 prong power connector? I've seen there is a project to make a power supply from an USB charger, with custom connector but I've never come across a part number.



#8 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 773 posts

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:09 AM

no that would be a 3d print job which i could do for you i guess, the proper coleco plug is not manufactured any more.  the power supply i was mentioning was a din socket so would require a hole drilling in the case

 

the power supply part number is AP12UV-01

it outputs +5, +33 (not needed), +12, -5

ther does not appear to be any on ebay at the moment though but you will probably get one under £10 however, google it, ther are some pictures

 

it does 100 - 240 ac input so your good whatever voltage



#9 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 7,298 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:15 AM

For that matter if Spector buys a Colecovision from the US with power supply, he could cut off the cable and wire a modern power supply like the one you mention or any other that outputs +5V, -5V and +12V, without needing to drill holes for new power connections. Actually if using the old brick with a step-down is not recommended, I would probably try the cut off and rewire approach.



#10 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 773 posts

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:28 AM

either would be acceptable and work perfectly fine






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users