Jump to content

Photo

Need .hfe formatted by HFDC


118 replies to this topic

#26 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:42 AM

Hi Beery,

 

thanks, but sorry, no, there is nothing on the track except for a gap spanning the whole track. You can easily check this with my tool:

 

java AnalyseHFE DSDD2.hfe 0 0 sect

 

and then try the other options (raw, cell, byte).



#27 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,430 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:53 PM

Just an update to the tool. I should mention that it can show the contents of non-standard disks like Diskassembler.

  • raw = track bytes from the HFE file
  • cell = FM/MFM cells encoding
  • byte = cells interpreted as bytes, showing address marks
  • sect = show layout of the track, including sector contents.

Eventually, I will add this tool to TIImageTool.

 

 

 

Amazing job!



#28 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:04 PM

Michael,

 

I'm not sure what is going on.  I can format with MDOS a Lotharek image with a Myarc FDC.  When I pull the FDC, and connect it to the Myarc HFDC, I always get an error.  Not sure what to do.

 

Beery



#29 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:11 PM

You mean you get an error during the format procedure? Please check the output of SETDSK.



#30 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,244 posts

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:39 PM

Alas, SETDSK only applies to the floppy controllers; the HFDC relies upon the DIP switches on the card. 

 

Check REMAP output.  If you used CYA, be aware that MDOS cannot override the settings that were selected (or defaulted) when you saved the OS back to disk.  Be sure your drive is set for the HFDC floppy.



#31 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:56 AM

OK, will do when I get home tonight.  To my knowledge, I do not believe CYA was used.  However, I will check SETDSK and REMAP to see what my settings are.  I did check my Autoexec to make sure I did not have anything in it.

Beery



#32 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:14 AM

Alas, SETDSK only applies to the floppy controllers; the HFDC relies upon the DIP switches on the card.

 

Seems as if I keep guessing the wrong way. :)



#33 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:52 PM

I have already tried every combination possible with the dip switches.

 

That leaves me with nothing left to try.

 

Beery



#34 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:53 PM

Just a FYI, I will be going out of town Wednesday PM and will not be back online until the following Monday when I leave.

 

Going to have fun south of Atlanta at a Fly-In.



#35 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:09 PM

OK, thanks, Beery.



#36 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue May 1, 2018 5:30 AM

One more thing to try: Just go for the 80 tracks, don't try to make it 40 tracks. However, I don't know whether you have to configure something on your HxC.

 

Alternatively, if anyone happens to have a HFDC-formatted disk and a Kryoflux, we could create an image from the floppy disk.



#37 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Tue May 1, 2018 5:43 AM

I've got a TI-99/4A formatted Myarc HFDC diskette, but not Kyroflux.

 

I can mail the diskette to someone if they can do the next step.

 

Beery



#38 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu May 3, 2018 6:39 PM

I am hooking up my lotherek this weekend..



#39 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,430 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu May 3, 2018 6:58 PM

I've got a TI-99/4A formatted Myarc HFDC diskette, but not Kyroflux.

 

I can mail the diskette to someone if they can do the next step.

 

Beery

 

 

I can Kyroflux it.  PM me and I'll reply with my address. :)



#40 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 11:30 AM

Not so much d99f3fb3453cbf651de5f335322b458d.jpg

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#41 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 11:49 AM

Also won't let me format in gpl/dm2k with and without rompage.. goes through tracks but fails all verify

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#42 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,383 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 12:16 PM

I'm afraid I need some more information here. Does it mean that you cannot format a HxC image? Or that you cannot do it via a HFDC? Or in MDOS? I suppose these screenshots are from real Geneves, not emulated.



#43 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 12:29 PM

Real Geneve hfdc lotherek drive
Dsdd hfe I used in the 4a previously

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#44 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 12:38 PM

Also I was able to read the disk fine before formatting

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#45 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 1:48 PM

That was the same error message I was receiving when trying to format an image with the Myarc HFDC on the Geneve.  No problem with a regular Myarc FDC, just the HFDC.

 

Beery



#46 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,430 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 3:54 PM

I've always used premade images and never tried formatting one. Come to think of it, Falcor tried formatting one on his Myarc and Gotek and the resulting image he said was unreadable. HxC bug?

Sent from my moto x4 using Tapatalk

#47 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,430 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 5:35 PM

From the author of HxC:

The discussion on atari age is confusing. Is the problem occurring with a particular controller ? Also : On some machines the write speed of the usb stick / sdcard may be important. Some machines don't like the write latency introduced by the flash memory (sdcard or usb stick...). In these cases there is no choice, you must have a good sdcard / usb stick.
Anyway would be nice if you can share the HFE files after the failed attempts. (Please also note that an new gotek firmware is available that may fix some write issues)

#48 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Dragonstomper

  • 657 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 5:49 PM

From the author of HxC:

The discussion on atari age is confusing. Is the problem occurring with a particular controller ? Also : On some machines the write speed of the usb stick / sdcard may be important. Some machines don't like the write latency introduced by the flash memory (sdcard or usb stick...). In these cases there is no choice, you must have a good sdcard / usb stick.
Anyway would be nice if you can share the HFE files after the failed attempts. (Please also note that an new gotek firmware is available that may fix some write issues)

 

On the first page of this thread, I posted a file, DSDD.HFE, that contains my attempt at formatting.  I am using a SDHC Class 4 SD card, 16 gb

 

I was formatting with the Myarc HFDC.



#49 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,732 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 6:18 PM

I'm using a actual lotherek drive

From the author of HxC:

The discussion on atari age is confusing. Is the problem occurring with a particular controller ? Also : On some machines the write speed of the usb stick / sdcard may be important. Some machines don't like the write latency introduced by the flash memory (sdcard or usb stick...). In these cases there is no choice, you must have a good sdcard / usb stick.
Anyway would be nice if you can share the HFE files after the failed attempts. (Please also note that an new gotek firmware is available that may fix some write issues)


Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#50 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,430 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 6:45 PM

I’m going to try again this weekend when I have some cycles. Plus, I’m going to read Beery’s disk with my Kryoflux and translate that into a HFE.

Going to run some speed tests on my flash sticks to see how fast they are in a USB 2 port.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users