Jump to content

Photo

Doodle Jump INTV


142 replies to this topic

#1 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:49 AM

After a ton of problems, I have finally started work on a version of Doodle Jump for the Intellivision using INTY Basic. Right now it's just a square jumping up but I want to change it to a creature of some sort. I have one in mind. I also am going to add a 2-player version where the object is to make the other player go off the screen downwards. As well as sound and other stuff.

 

Let me know what you think or if you run into any bugs or something.

 

dj1.gif

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj1.rom   3.06KB   26 downloads


#2 Gray Defender OFFLINE  

Gray Defender

    Chopper Commander

  • 110 posts
  • Location:San Bernardino, California

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:52 AM

Sweet.  I'm impressed.



#3 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,494 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:13 AM

After a ton of problems, I have finally started work on a version of Doodle Jump for the Intellivision using INTY Basic. Right now it's just a square jumping up but I want to change it to a creature of some sort. I have one in mind. I also am going to add a 2-player version where the object is to make the other player go off the screen downwards. As well as sound and other stuff.

 

Let me know what you think or if you run into any bugs or something.

 

attachicon.gifdj1.gif

 

 

Wow!  It looks really cool! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

 

You may want to check your collision detection, for it seems that sometimes the Doodle-Block goes "through" the platforms when it bounces.  Other than that, it looks very nice! :)

 

    -dZ.



#4 Gernot OFFLINE  

Gernot

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:50 AM

looks like one of the games which i can't play because of laughter.

 

cool, does it need to be a creature? i like the square.

 

what about a timer or counter for the platforms this would force you a little (while i'm shit already without such).

in general i like those small games for which you need fine motor skills.

it differs so much to "let play"

 

i wrote already that a small boy watched me playing flapee bird he was fascinated, i guess this will work the same.



#5 Gernot OFFLINE  

Gernot

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:54 AM

i know i'm easy to please - i even like a senso. ;-)



#6 vprette OFFLINE  

vprette

    Stargunner

  • 1,525 posts

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:04 AM

in a while it can become this 



#7 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:22 PM

This is an upmonster:

upmonster.gif

So called because of his tendency of (and the fact that he likes) going upwards.

 

I fixed a few other things.
+ I discovered that the fact the guy doesn't land on the platform is because of my gravity code. So I had to take it out. The upmonster still jumps up and down, just not as fancy as before.

+ I discovered that sometimes a platform disappears. I think I fixed this as well.

 

Please tell me what you think of this latest version.

 

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj2.rom   3.56KB   16 downloads


#8 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,494 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:28 PM

This is an upmonster:

attachicon.gifupmonster.gif

So called because of his tendency of (and the fact that he likes) going upwards.

 

I fixed a few other things.
+ I discovered that the fact the guy doesn't land on the platform is because of my gravity code. So I had to take it out. The upmonster still jumps up and down, just not as fancy as before.

+ I discovered that sometimes a platform disappears. I think I fixed this as well.

 

Please tell me what you think of this latest version.

 

 

 

 

Would it be possible to have the fancy gravity physics and good landing?  I'm sure we could help you achieve that. :)

 

  -dZ.



#9 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 3,713 posts

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:31 PM

The game looks cute in an endearing kind of way. There are not enough of these in the Intellivision library. Keep going on this game.

#10 atari5200dude82 OFFLINE  

atari5200dude82

    Stargunner

  • 1,323 posts
  • Location:ATLANTIS

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:37 PM

Looks cool. Kinda like Imagic  Quick step on the Atari



#11 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:08 PM

Added back in the gravity. I thought of a way to do collision detection other than the COL0 and HIT_SPRITE1 way.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj3.rom   3.56KB   18 downloads


#12 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,494 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:12 PM

Added back in the gravity. I thought of a way to do collision detection other than the COL0 and HIT_SPRITE1 way.

 

 

I tried playing it and it feels a little weird.  Sometimes, when I bounce and move to the side, the jumper just goes waaaaaay up high and off the screen before coming back down.  Perhaps you need to control better your gravity and jump acceleration.

 

    -dZ.



#13 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:58 PM

I need help with platform placement. Sometimes it makes it up so high that the upmonster can't reach it. Other times, the platforms are so low, the platforms won't reset.

shot0020.gif shot0021.gif

 

Attached Files



#14 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,494 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:19 PM

I need help with platform placement. Sometimes it makes it up so high that the upmonster can't reach it. Other times, the platforms are so low, the platforms won't reset.

attachicon.gifshot0020.gif attachicon.gifshot0021.gif

 

 

Are you placing them randomly?  How about designing levels, like Doodle Jump?  You could just store their offsets in DATA arrays and read them during game-play.

 

    -dZ.



#15 artrag OFFLINE  

artrag

    Stargunner

  • 1,149 posts

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 6:43 AM

For random platforms you should set a minimum offset from the last posed one and a random increment within the screen range

#16 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:34 AM

I'd like random levels so it'd be a different game each time you play. I think I got it nailed though, with this code:

get_new_platform1: procedure
    platform1x=(RAND/2)+20
    wait
    platform1y=(rand/8)+16
    if platform1y>platform5y-20 then platform1y=platform1y-20
    return
    end

get_new_platform2: procedure
    platform2x=(RAND/2)+20
    wait    
    platform2y=(rand/8)+16
    if platform2y>platform1y-20 then platform2y=platform2y-20    
    return
    end    

get_new_platform3: procedure
    platform3x=(RAND/2)+20
    wait
    platform3y=(rand/8)+16
    if platform3y>platform2y-20 then platform3y=platform3y-20    
    return
    end

get_new_platform4: procedure
    platform4x=(RAND/2)+20
    wait
    platform4y=(rand/8)+16
    if platform4y>platform3y-20 then platform4y=platform4y-20    
    return
    end

get_new_platform5: procedure
    platform5x=(RAND/2)+20
    wait
    platform5y=(rand/8)+16
    if platform5y>platform4y-20 then platform5y=platform5y-20
    return
    end  

I was able to get over 10,000 points in this build.

shot0024.gif

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj5.rom   4.06KB   18 downloads

Edited by atari2600land, Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:34 AM.


#17 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    Processorus Polyglotus

  • 5,633 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:24 AM

You don't need to use WAIT if you change RAND/8 to RANDOM(32)

#18 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:16 PM

Added a title screen and two player game.

At the title screen, press 1 for a one-player game and 2 for a two-player game. In the two-player game, whoever drops down off the screen first loses.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • shot0018.gif

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj7.rom   7.06KB   19 downloads


#19 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:33 PM

Argh! Completely messed up the 2-player version because I didn't understand jzINTV. I think I fixed it now. Player 2 can move now. It uses s for left and d for right on a computer keyboard. I also added a wins counter for both players.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj8.rom   8.06KB   15 downloads


#20 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:41 PM

Made it so the win counter is accurate before either player presses a button. I am wondering though, how 2 people downloaded the game in under a minutes' time. Or is there some way to automatically download files?

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj9.rom   8.06KB   17 downloads


#21 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Jun 26, 2018 1:01 PM

Made a menu at the beginning.

 

Next I'm going to put in an ending in case someone actually reaches 65,535 points.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • shot0020.gif

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj10.rom   10.56KB   21 downloads


#22 cimmerian OFFLINE  

cimmerian

    Moonsweeper

  • 309 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Canada

Posted Tue Jul 3, 2018 10:43 AM

Fun game and good controls! I've noticed that sometimes the upmonster pokes his head up on the bottom of the screen on especially high jumps.

 

You can see it in the video here at around 17s, 31s and 45s:

 

 



#23 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Jul 3, 2018 4:20 PM

Yeah, I know about that problem. Thanks for letting me know, though.

 

PS. How are you playing this in emulation? The letters look all odd.


Edited by atari2600land, Tue Jul 3, 2018 4:21 PM.


#24 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Jul 3, 2018 4:28 PM

I think I fixed that problem.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  dj12.rom   11.06KB   21 downloads


#25 cimmerian OFFLINE  

cimmerian

    Moonsweeper

  • 309 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Canada

Posted Tue Jul 3, 2018 4:49 PM

I was using the Nostalgia emulator version 5.0. It had a LOT of other dependent software that I had to install as well to make it run so I wasn't super keen on installing it. Let me know if there's a less cumbersome GUI based INTV emulator out there that you can suggest.

 

Yeah, I know about that problem. Thanks for letting me know, though.

 

PS. How are you playing this in emulation? The letters look all odd.

 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users