IGNORED

Lynx 2 - Dim screen on cold boot, then returns after 15 minutes?

Fabthegnome

Hello, I've used these forums as a resource for many years, but this is my first time posting here, so hi there!

Today I received a new old stock console, but unfortunately after powering on the console for the first time the screen appeared dead, but then on closer inspection it was view-able, but only with the assistance of a flash light.

(see here)

I then left the console on and went away for about 20 minutes, on my return the screen was just the opposite, it was so bright i had to turn down the brightness/contrast right away!

Oh, and I did test switching the console off/on after, waiting several minute in between and still the display continued functioning as it should.

I can't say if the issue will ever return as the consoles not been in my possession for more than several hours, but I wanted to ask here if anyone could provide an explanation?

Edited by Fabthegnome

Sounds like it could be a problem with the Backlight or High Voltage transformer/Capacitor. You could try changing the capacitor that is between the output of the HV Transformer and the backlight bulb to see if that cures it.

You could also try measuring the output of the transformer but be careful as it is about 2000V and will certainly make a bang if you short out or give you a nasty nip if you touch it.

Thank you for the advice, forgive me, my knowledge of electronics is rather limited, but can such a transformer hold a charge while the console is off?

I left the console powered off for 12+ hours and had no issues powering up the console again, I'm now going to leave it for the next 24 hours and see if I can replicate the issue.

Oh, I've also been in touch with the seller and he reports no such issues when the unit was tested 2 months ago, now the console did spend about 5 days in transit, wrapped in ordinary bubble wrap, is there a chance damage from static could have been the culprit?