Jump to content

Photo

Eclaire XL Power Up issue


12 replies to this topic

#1 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Thu Jul 5, 2018 1:11 PM

I PM'd Panos about this yesterday, but I'd thought I'd ask here also for others' input.

 

After I turn the power switch on, the only thing that happens is the 3 LED's light up.

 

If I push down lightly on the main board 2 inches around the FPGA area and turn the power switch on it will boot up.  Otherwise no video or sound..

 

As soon as I release pressure on the board, video goes dark.

 

I've  tried on HDMI and VGA...

 

Any ideas  / thought on what / where to check???



#2 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Thu Jul 5, 2018 2:49 PM

That sounds like a dry joint to me which would be disappointing since these were professionally soldered. Do you push anywhere in particular? Did you try without the 40 pin cables attached?

#3 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Thu Jul 5, 2018 3:20 PM

If I push anywhere around the FPGA or on the FPGA, Flash Mem or SDRAM it behaves normally.

 

Yep, tried removing the 40 pin cables too, no change.

 

Been looking for a cold solder joint on the Flash Mem or SDRAM,  but nothing jumps out at me.



#4 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Thu Jul 5, 2018 4:04 PM

Guess I need to get something like this?

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 362015334517



#5 BigBen OFFLINE  

BigBen

    Chopper Commander

  • 194 posts
  • Location:Garbsen, Germany

Posted Thu Jul 5, 2018 4:45 PM

I have the same problem. At the last meeting I had the board with me and wanted to test it for the first time. At first it also ran, but the longer it was in operation,

it came to intermissions. My first guess was the power supply. Since I had no other power supply I could not carry out the experiment.
Right now I'm holiday, I'll call when I checked it.



#6 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 12:01 AM

I have the same problem. At the last meeting I had the board with me and wanted to test it for the first time. At first it also ran, but the longer it was in operation,
it came to intermissions. My first guess was the power supply. Since I had no other power supply I could not carry out the experiment.
Right now I'm holiday, I'll call when I checked it.


This does sound like the power supply.

#7 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 12:10 AM

If I push anywhere around the FPGA or on the FPGA, Flash Mem or SDRAM it behaves normally.
 
Yep, tried removing the 40 pin cables too, no change.
 
Been looking for a cold solder joint on the Flash Mem or SDRAM,  but nothing jumps out at me.

Did you also test with another psu? There can be odd capacitance effects sometimes on touching a board.

I think rather than buying a hot air tool (this board is not a good starting one) the next step should be some test cores to see what is going on. Do you have a USB blaster?

Edit: never mind, I see there is more info in the pm discussion.

Edited by foft, Fri Jul 6, 2018 12:18 AM.


#8 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:55 PM

I figured out the problem with mine.  It seems the Postal Apes really mishandled the package along the way and the FPGA developed bad connections with the 400 odd solder balls that are used to adhere to the PCB.

 

So now I need your (AA Members)  assistance in locating someone state side who is qualified in FPGA re-work.

Anyone know of such a person or repair shop???

 

Thanks,

Jay



#9 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,242 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:05 PM

I figured out the problem with mine.  It seems the Postal Apes really mishandled the package along the way and the FPGA developed bad connections with the 400 odd solder balls that are used to adhere to the PCB.
 
So now I need your (AA Members)  assistance in locating someone state side who is qualified in FPGA re-work.
Anyone know of such a person or repair shop???
 
Thanks,
Jay


I’ve never done it myself but I’ve read for years of people using heat to rework stuff like this, either carefully with a heat gun or in an actual (food) oven. With modern solder-free stuff that’s *probably* not a health risk using the oven afterward, but I’m still not sure it’s something I’d do.

#10 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:25 PM

Yeah,  thought about using a hair dryer and a make-shift reducer to narrow the heat flow, but Panos said without regulating the heat, it could cause further damage.  Also thought about buying a Hot Air Rework station and trying that too, but as Foft pointed out that this isn't the best option since it isn't the best to start learning on ;)



#11 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,698 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:12 PM

I know you asked about stateside, but have you considered asking Panos.  He is in Athens Greece, but he sent my an Atari 600XL with all the trimmings installed.  It took about 2 week to get here.  So if he would agree you would have it back in a month.



#12 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:24 PM

Yes,  but with sending to Greece is that it would be about $100 round trip.  I would be using a small 9x9x2 inch  Digi-key box for that if I did for peace of mind.



#13 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,713 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:56 PM

It's nuts, postage into the US from Europe is fairly low cost but going the other way is nuts. I recently picked up an Eclaire and  I am really hoping I don't have any issues with mine (I wish these had come mailed in a box)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users