Jump to content

Photo

Looking for someone to repair my light sixer

repair atari

14 replies to this topic

#1 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 6:40 PM

alright, so I made a post here about a week ago asking for some tips on repairing my light sixer. nobody. responded so I decided to take matters into my own hands and tried to fix my Atari. so after about an hour trying to get it to work I gave up and decided to see if anyone can repair it.

 

 

So if anybody can repair my light sixer please PM me with details. (sorry for my grammar I'm a little bit agitated)

 

 



#2 InactiveX OFFLINE  

InactiveX

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 11:47 PM

Probably best to calm down, eh?

 

I don't know about everyone else but I wouldn't fix anything for someone with such a bad attitude.

 

Hope you get it repaired.



#3 Trinity ONLINE  

Trinity

    Stargunner

  • 1,826 posts

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 4:42 AM

So tell us what it's symptoms are and what you tried to do to fix it? And what kind of TV are you using?



#4 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 34,079 posts
  • I am the one who knocks!
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 6:30 AM

alright, so I made a post here about a week ago asking for some tips on repairing my light sixer. nobody. responded so I decided to take matters into my own hands and tried to fix my Atari. so after about an hour trying to get it to work I gave up and decided to see if anyone can repair it.
 
 
So if anybody can repair my light sixer please PM me with details. (sorry for my grammar I'm a little bit agitated)


Maybe in the wrong section of the forum, I could move this to the hardware forum, if you like.

#5 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,322 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 6:55 AM

Well, lots of us here work on, repair or restore our 2600's. Tell us what the symptoms are, preferably with photos or a short video of the problems. I'm sure someone can offer up suggestions. And once people understand what kind of problems you're having, you might get an offer to fix it for you.



#6 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 11:59 AM

alright, so first off sorry if I came off as rude. second, I'll post a video on my channel tonight to show you guys the symptoms.

 

 

 

 

 

have a great Saturday and God bless 



#7 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 12:16 PM

here's the video detailing the symptom: 

it just simply will not turn on 



#8 theor OFFLINE  

theor

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts
  • Location:Lyon, FR, EU

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 12:40 PM

To start with the basics, what's the voltage in front and after the voltage regulator?

 

You should have 9.x Volts in front , and 5.0 +-0.2 Volt after.



#9 Deteacher ONLINE  

Deteacher

    River Patroller

  • 3,287 posts
  • Location:Newark, DE

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 12:51 PM

A quick and simple test on the power supply is to slowly plug in the power supply into the back of the Atari.  9 times out of 10, you will see a tiny little blue spark as you plug it in.  If you see the spark, the power adapter is most likely good.  No spark after a few tries, the brick might be bad.

 

This is by no means a fool-proof method...a multimeter is obviously a more definite means of testing the power supply. it's just something I've noticed on the several units/power supplies I've had over the years.  I hope this helps.



#10 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 5:12 PM

okay, so I've hooked it up to a multimeter and here's what I got: AC 5.2 and DC 125.2



#11 theor OFFLINE  

theor

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts
  • Location:Lyon, FR, EU

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 5:39 PM

There's no way AC can leak inductively down the 7805. And no way to get 125V DC from a 9V/1A  AC adapter.

 

Did you mean 5V DC after the 7805 and 125V AC from the mains? If so, then the next step is to check the solders on the main board and reseat the 6507, RIOT and TIA. Use an antistatic wristband or at least periodically ground yourself before / while handling the circuit.


Edited by theor, Sat Jul 7, 2018 5:53 PM.


#12 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Sat Jul 7, 2018 5:52 PM

There's no way AC can leak inductively down the 7805. And no way to get 125V DC from a 9V/1A  AC adapter.

 

Did you mean 5V DC after the 7805 and 125V AC from the mains? If so, then the main step is to check the solders and reseat the 6507, RIOT and TIA. Use an antistatic wristband or at least periodically ground yourself before / while handling the circuit.

yes 



#13 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,567 posts
  • 5200 OE HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Sun Jul 8, 2018 7:23 PM

Does your system have a channel switch on bottom? I noticed you're on ch 2. There's a bunch of L6ers that use only ch 3, like mine.



#14 Magmavision2000 OFFLINE  

Magmavision2000

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Ghost Planet

Posted Sun Jul 8, 2018 10:06 PM

Does your system have a channel switch on bottom? I noticed you're on ch 2. There's a bunch of L6ers that use only ch 3, like mine.

I actually had it on channel 3 before switching it to channel 2, my VCR doesn't show the channel number  after 10 seconds



#15 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,567 posts
  • 5200 OE HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 12:40 PM

I actually had it on channel 3 before switching it to channel 2, my VCR doesn't show the channel number  after 10 seconds

 

Check for 5vdc on pin 3 of RF modulator. No matter which way you count, it's the same pin. :)


  • jum likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: repair, atari

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users