Jump to content

Photo

Need line/dot drawing facilities for ti99 gcc.


40 replies to this topic

#26 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:41 PM

@BeeryMiller -is that source code somewhere else? perhaps attached here? I could really use a chalk talk on TI-99 IO, as this is not my native platform.

 

-Thom



#27 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:49 PM

I will try to support both, especially as there is no TIPI emulation _ANYWHERE_. I do not have TI hardware, and do not have access to any close by, so I am having to do ALL of my work in emulation. ANY help that anyone can give to push this thing along, would be most appreciated. (please?)

 

-Thom

 

I'll be happy to sell you what you need. Lmk

 

Greg



#28 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:55 PM

Can I borrow a machine to do dev work? I do not have a 99 setup, at all.

 

-Thom



#29 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Moonsweeper

  • 475 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:58 PM

@BeeryMiller -is that source code somewhere else? perhaps attached here? I could really use a chalk talk on TI-99 IO, as this is not my native platform.

 

-Thom

 

Look at this thread for Telnet.ark

 

http://atariage.com/...rm#entry3977627

 

That is an earlier version, but should give you pretty much something very similar to what someone else referenced as far as the CRU bits.  Further down in that link to the CRU bits, if I am not mistaken, was similar code for sending/receiving.

Beery



#30 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:05 PM

Thanks, is there something that can unpack that on a non-TI system? ;)

 

-Thom



#31 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:08 PM

Thanks, is there something that can unpack that on a non-TI system? ;)
 
-Thom

Tidir

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#32 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:09 PM

Can I borrow a machine to do dev work? I do not have a 99 setup, at all.
 
-Thom

A console is easy TIPI is new and in short supply..

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#33 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:11 PM

I do not intend to keep any hardware for any of these ports, as my workspace is very small, and I do not have the space. I am borrowing systems to finish dev work.

 

-Thom



#34 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:12 PM

I found a link to the author's site, but it looks like it's dead:

http://atariage.com/...load/?p=2763124

 

still looking...

 

-Thom



#35 chue ONLINE  

chue

    Moonsweeper

  • 254 posts

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:30 PM

I would guess that RS232 hardware would be hard to obtain as well.  You need either a PEB + RS232 card, or a NanoPEB.  The former is not shipping friendly, and latter is doesn't come around too often.

 

Perhaps there is some other configuration that I'm not aware of.



#36 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:41 PM

I found a link to the author's site, but it looks like it's dead:

http://atariage.com/...load/?p=2763124

 

still looking...

 

-Thom

 

that's his old link.. its http://ti99-geek.nl

 

He moved a few years ago..  lots of info stored in the FAQ pinned post on here.. including the link to that..and that http://ftp.whtech.comhas most of the TI software and source code on it..



#37 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:43 PM

I would guess that RS232 hardware would be hard to obtain as well.  You need either a PEB + RS232 card, or a NanoPEB.  The former is not shipping friendly, and latter is doesn't come around too often.

 

Perhaps there is some other configuration that I'm not aware of.

 

also a number of side-car rs232's including the TI, myarc and corcomp ones.. you can only test RS232 in MESS/MAME which is the only modern emulator that supports rs232 through a java program linking to the pc's serial port 

 

nanopeb doesn't follow the standard so it requires a few extra commands to enable the port and function.. on the v1.. the v2 is a totally different uart and isnt supported by anything except hdx/dsk2pc 



#38 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:20 PM

Which ones should I realistically support? 

 

Also, code estimates indicate that I will probably be about 16-20K of space. Would it be possible to make a cartridge that would run in an unexpanded console? (probably not, but just thought i'd ask.) 

I'm basically curious about deployment options for the audience which would use this terminal.

 

-Thom



#39 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:53 AM

Which ones should I realistically support? 

 

Also, code estimates indicate that I will probably be about 16-20K of space. Would it be possible to make a cartridge that would run in an unexpanded console? (probably not, but just thought i'd ask.) 

I'm basically curious about deployment options for the audience which would use this terminal.

 

-Thom

 

A cartridge for an expanded console will have only 384k of cpu ram and 16k of vdp available.  This will have to be written in 100% assembly language and use bank switching to bank in the cartridge ROM 8k at a time..  

 

Anyone with rs232 or TIPI is going to have 32k memory expansion.  I'd target that model..  The old platoterm required 32k as well.



#40 chue ONLINE  

chue

    Moonsweeper

  • 254 posts

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:34 AM

 

A cartridge for an expanded console will have only 384k of cpu ram and 16k of vdp available.  This will have to be written in 100% assembly language and use bank switching to bank in the cartridge ROM 8k at a time..  

 

Anyone with rs232 or TIPI is going to have 32k memory expansion.  I'd target that model..  The old platoterm required 32k as well.

 

I don't think too many TIs will have 384k.  Also I don't think a cart will have to be 100% assembly, I've done one in C and it seems to work.

 

I do agree though that targeting 32k expansion is probably the way to go.



#41 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,498 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:29 PM

Sorry not k bytes

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users