Jump to content

Photo

2609 vs 2609A and a few questions about them...


6 replies to this topic

#1 kheller2 ONLINE  

kheller2

    Stargunner

  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 8:24 AM

I'm not an Intellivision gamer by any means but i do happen to have two nice units and recently considered selling them along with maybe two dozen or more boxed games.  I noticed one was a 2609 and the other a 2609A.  I have yet to find any technical details on the difference between these two units other than an off handed mention they use different screws.  I didn't see anything in the FAQ either. So what is the difference?

 

I also noticed that the controllers fit snugly into the 2609 but not the 2609A plastic.  On the 2609 they almost become part of the case, where on the A they extend out the side just a hair. Also, of the four controller (two on each unit) one of them does not have a lip at the top of the controller but is rounded smooth.

 

And I also noticed that on the 2609 unit the controller cables are excreting an oil but the 2609A's are not.  These units have been packed away and stored in climate controlled rooms for decades, so I don't think its an environmental issue.



#2 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,389 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 8:35 AM

What are the serial numbers of the two units?

The 2609A should be Intellivisions manufactured in Hong Kong (or Taiwan) for the US market. Serial numbers are larger than 300k.

The 2609 should be the early Intellivisions made in the USA. Serial numbers under 180k. Perhaps yours is one of the earliest because it lacks the lip on the controllers. Sounds like there are some other subtle differences.

A 2609 made in Hong Kong should be an Intellivision for the Canadian market and have a serial number over 1M prefixed with RH. There are some rare US models made in Hong Kong with serials starting at 4M.

As far as I know they should all have the same Exec ROM inside, and the same sound chip. Over time there were some minor changes to the mainboard e.g. number of ram chips. There were also sone changes with the power supply board as indicated by the maintenance guide. Not sure if that has anything to do with some models saying 15W others 18W.

Edited by mr_me, Sun Aug 5, 2018 9:09 AM.


#3 JasonlikesINTV ONLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,203 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 10:09 AM

The SN Database may be of some help, although it doesn't distinguish between 2609 and 2609a (all are listed as 2609).
http://www.intellivi...l-intellivision

Intvfunhouse also has a helpful page:
http://www.intellivi...l-intellivision

Edited by JasonlikesINTV, Sun Aug 5, 2018 10:09 AM.


#4 kheller2 ONLINE  

kheller2

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 11:42 AM

Database is not responding for new submissions (We're sorry, too many people are accessing this website at the same time. We're working on this problem. Please try again later.)

2609   024780 15W thin power cord

2609A 445627 18W thicker power cord



#5 kheller2 ONLINE  

kheller2

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 11:43 AM

The SN Database may be of some help, although it doesn't distinguish between 2609 and 2609a (all are listed as 2609).
http://www.intellivi...l-intellivision

Intvfunhouse also has a helpful page:
http://www.intellivi...l-intellivision

 

um 2nd link is the same as the first... typo?



#6 JasonlikesINTV ONLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,203 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 12:32 PM

Oops, here's the proper link to Intvfunhouse console variations:
http://www.intvfunho...dware/consoles/

#7 intvsteve OFFLINE  

intvsteve

    River Patroller

  • 3,123 posts
  • Location:At the keyboard

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 1:34 PM

Oy, that's an old page.  I really need to update that thing.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users