Jump to content

Photo

Altirra 3.10 released

altirra emulation

151 replies to this topic

#76 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 503 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:55 PM

Hi Avery,

 

http://atariage.com/...ased/?p=4097311

 

Perhaps you missed my second reply/remark.

When I start-up altirra its 7F, but later, when I use shift+F5 its FF

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.

 

 

Works for me.

 

Note that FDC status bit 7 is not universal for all drives. It is only valid for drives with certain floppy drive controllers and which have a drive latch hooked up, i.e. 1050 derivatives. 810 and XF551 drives do not.



#77 NSonic OFFLINE  

NSonic

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:23 PM

Hello Phaeron

Can you add the cassette loading option called Injektor? For you to understand me better, look at this pair of videos.

 

 

 



#78 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,936 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:31 PM

Avery has looked in to this but there were problems, I don't know if any progress has happened apart from a unit has been recreated in the real world by others....

 

Just for info....

 

http://atariage.com/...-7#entry3838999



#79 NSonic OFFLINE  

NSonic

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Sat Sep 1, 2018 7:47 PM

Avery has looked in to this but there were problems, I don't know if any progress has happened apart from a unit has been recreated in the real world by others....

 

Just for info....

 

http://atariage.com/...-7#entry3838999

 


Thanks for that information. Now it is possible to add to the Altirra emulator the option to load games from real cassette? As does the ZXspin emulator?


Edited by NSonic, Sat Sep 1, 2018 7:47 PM.


#80 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,936 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sun Sep 2, 2018 3:56 AM

Firstly neither I or anyone bar Avery can answer for him so who knows what options will be added to Altirra but although Avery has added far more tape items to Altirra than seemed likely I personally would doubt that being added. The reason I mainly think so is that Avery has went out of his way to add various emulated ways to load tapes as digital images, I doubt he would like to move it in to the real world considering his comments in the past regarding tape usage..

 

I don't even know if there's an interface to allow tapes directly from an Atari cassette unit to attach to any emulator or sampling software actually out there....If there is then great..Not really my sort of thing

 

Also from what little technical knowledge I have I would imagine syncing all this up to a complex (unit based?) emulation engine would not be very fun and take a lot of time and break stuff on the way..

 

Best advice, don't hold your breath waiting for such things...If Avery is / was interested he would most likely say..



#81 256 colors ONLINE  

256 colors

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts
  • Location:Not So Great Britain any more

Posted Thu Sep 6, 2018 12:50 AM

Any chance of Multi Joy 16 and a net-play feature in a future release at some point please :-D


Edited by 256 colors, Thu Sep 6, 2018 12:50 AM.


#82 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

    Dragonstomper

  • 528 posts
  • Location:Czech republic

Posted Thu Sep 6, 2018 5:39 AM

The INJEKTOR loader would be tough.

 

If it is to be ever implemented, we would need at least full schematic of the INJEKTOR circuit, or very detailed explanation on how it works. Altirra would have to emulate the extra circuitry in the data recorder that comes with INJEKTOR.

A video of the loader is not enough. From what I have seen at atariware.cl, even enhancements of the POKEY and PIA emulation might be needed.



#83 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,936 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Sep 6, 2018 5:47 AM

I know Avery likes a challenge but that's a big ask to do all that  just (and I know you love your tapes Baktra) for a tape loader that isn't overly known..

 

At least Avery has a more detail source to look at thanks to you..I think the original request maker confuses (and its so easy to do so no gripes at him) with soldering a few wires and adjusting the code of an emulator even its its all module based..

 

BUT, Avery is known for throwing a huge curve ball on what you are least expecting so who knows, only him...

 

Paul..



#84 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,584 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:08 PM

http://www.virtualdu...-3.20-test2.zip

http://www.virtualdu...0-test2-src.zip

 

  • Breaking change: Debugger scripts (*.atdbg) are no longer automatically loaded for images unless the debugger is enabled (/debug or via menu).
  • /portabletemp runs off an INI file but doesn't save any changes back to it, for testing.
  • Added support for ATX physical sector size tagging.
  • Fixed disk Not Ready status bit updating inconsistently in some cases.
  • Rotational delays are skipped for disk drives that have a ready signal -- 1050 emulated modes no longer have long delays reading from uninserted disks.
  • Fixed Not Ready being signaled for drives that don't support it (810).
  • Optimizations to ANTIC emulation and NTSC standard artifacting.
  • @(...) in debugger expressions evaluates the subexpression immediately. Example: bx pc=@(pc+100)
  • The .diskdumpsec debugger command now shows all physical sectors associated with the given virtual (logical) sector.
  • Added 'widescreen' overscan mode for the horizontal area commonly shown by modern widescreen LCDs. The visible area is 176 color clocks.
  • Added setting for scanline intensity.
  • Added intensity scale setting.

The intensity scale setting allows the entire display image to be easily scaled up or down without adjusting the rest of the controls. This could be done previously but required moving several controls in sync. The reason for this is to make it easier to darken the image produced by the emulator and turn up the physical monitor brightness for better color reproduction. This is especially useful when trying to match the colors from an 800, which naturally produces a dimmer and highly saturated image. Without this adjustment, the colors are warped due to hitting the limits of RGB space:

 

ultima4-100.png

 

Turn the image down to 66%, and the purple turns to blue:

 

ultima4-66.png

 

With regard to some requests:

 

  • Netplay: Sorry, not currently interested. Networking code is a hassle and multiplayer has a lot of real-time synchronization problems that I'm not wanting to deal with right now.
  • Injektor: Not enough information about the hardware. The difficulty is that there is no schematic for the hardware and it is somehow able to read both FSK and Manchester encoding without having a signal from the computer to switch.
  • Live tape: Sorry, pass. Pre-recording the audio is a much better idea, and on top of that the Atari is able to stop and start the tape by computer control, which the emulator would not be able to do with a tape player connected to line-in. The emulator does support loading WAV files directly as tapes.

 

 



#85 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,936 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:25 AM

The intensity is a brill addition...Well it all is but being honest I probably would not spot what the other things are doing bar maybe the artifacting....Top update..(as always)..

 

Thank you...From all that love Altirra...

 

Paul..


Edited by Mclaneinc, Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:26 AM.


#86 Docwiz OFFLINE  

Docwiz

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:29 AM

 

  • Netplay: Sorry, not currently interested. Networking code is a hassle and multiplayer has a lot of real-time synchronization problems that I'm not wanting to deal with right now.
  • Injektor: Not enough information about the hardware. The difficulty is that there is no schematic for the hardware and it is somehow able to read both FSK and Manchester encoding without having a signal from the computer to switch.
  • Live tape: Sorry, pass. Pre-recording the audio is a much better idea, and on top of that the Atari is able to stop and start the tape by computer control, which the emulator would not be able to do with a tape player connected to line-in. The emulator does support loading WAV files directly as tapes.

 

What about Atari 8-bit Printer Support to PDF?  So, you can take the input of different types of native Atari printers and others such as Dot Matrix and print them on to PDF files so we can print them out on today's printers.  Also output of ATASCI would be awesome too for dot matrix printers and other printers with graphic support. 


Edited by Docwiz, Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:30 AM.


#87 serj OFFLINE  

serj

    Chopper Commander

  • 213 posts
  • Location:Russia, Omsk city.

Posted Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:59 AM

setting for scanline intensity.

thanks Avery.

I've been waiting for this for a long time.



#88 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,613 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:24 PM

Any chance for 1400XL V: PBI ROM and emulation of the Votrax SC-01A chip?



#89 danielcg OFFLINE  

danielcg

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts

Posted Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:50 PM

Scanline intensity is one I wanted for Altirra and I waited for very long time for this feature! Stella already have adjustable scanline intensity. Thank you!



#90 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,176 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:29 PM

Any chance for 1400XL V: PBI ROM and emulation of the Votrax SC-01A chip?

 

Might as well take the 1400XL T: along with it - a buffered PBI serial handler that doesn't lock out the SIO bus could be interesting to explore...



#91 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 503 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:52 PM

Like this ? :-)

Attached Files



#92 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,936 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:58 AM

Mr Fish, was that a potato you film ed it with :)

 

If I know you it was an Atari doing the capture...

 

Sounded great....Not sure what bootleg VHS film I was watching tho :)



#93 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,822 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:38 AM

Is there any possibility of wrapping the memory window back to $0000 in 6502 mode? The segment numbers knock the alignment out:

 

Capture.PNG

 

In 65C816 mode, perhaps the base segment could be labelled 00 to keep things lined up? Hardly a big deal, anyway, but something I just noticed with a recent test build.



#94 Atari_Force OFFLINE  

Atari_Force

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts

Posted Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:52 PM

Thanks for the new release.

About Injektor, it looks complicated. Meanwhile, Is it too much to ask to add fsk mark writing in a8cas format (simple recording)?



#95 morelenmir OFFLINE  

morelenmir

    Stargunner

  • 1,541 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire, Great Britain

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:20 PM

is Altirra BASIC v1.44 still the newest? For some reason I can never find the latest release whenever I check for a new one, although I am absolutely sure it is staring me in the face!!!



#96 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,936 posts

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:25 PM

The latest version of Altirra Basic I have is V1.55 - though I would not be surprised if there are already newer versions...



#97 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 21,479 posts

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:44 PM

is Altirra BASIC v1.44 still the newest? For some reason I can never find the latest release whenever I check for a new one, although I am absolutely sure it is staring me in the face!!!

 

You can use Tools> Export ROM Set> to get the Altirra BASIC Rom. Then you can drag and drop it to the Altirra window to boot it. When the emulated machine starts it will show the version and drop you into BASIC.

 

You can also configure the emulated system to start straight away into BASIC - using either an external ROM or the built-in Altirra BASIC.



#98 morelenmir OFFLINE  

morelenmir

    Stargunner

  • 1,541 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire, Great Britain

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:19 PM

The latest version of Altirra Basic I have is V1.55 - though I would not be surprised if there are already newer versions...

 

and

 

 

You can use Tools> Export ROM Set> to get the Altirra BASIC Rom. Then you can drag and drop it to the Altirra window to boot it. When the emulated machine starts it will show the version and drop you into BASIC.

 

You can also configure the emulated system to start straight away into BASIC - using either an external ROM or the built-in Altirra BASIC.

 

Many thanks indeed guys!!!  It looks like I need to update my U1MB!

 

In regards getting at the Altirra BASIC ROM, that is pretty much what I was wondering. I have been away from the A8 so long, especially as emulated that I am a bit out of touch. Exporting the ROM image seems like a way to reliably get hold of the newest whenever a new iteration Altirra appears. I guess Phaeron no longer offers it as a separate file from the get go?



#99 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,741 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:21 PM

is Altirra BASIC v1.44 still the newest? For some reason I can never find the latest release whenever I check for a new one, although I am absolutely sure it is staring me in the face!!!

The additions.atr shipped with the test versions has the executable file.  Just load the atr and copy to where ever you want to store it..



#100 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,500 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:27 PM

The latest version of Altirra Basic I have is V1.55 - though I would not be surprised if there are already newer versions...

 

Huh. I have v. 1.51 flashed to my U1MB. I need to get hold of the newer version from the Additions disk or something. :) 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: altirra, emulation

3 user(s) are browsing this forum

2 members, 0 guests, 1 anonymous users