Jump to content

Photo

Want to replace a CRT with an LED monitor. Does this work?

arcade monitor crt lcd led replacement

15 replies to this topic

#1 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:52 AM

I'm trying to restore an arcade cabinet from 1983.  The CRT monitor is shot and honestly, I'd rather have an LED/LCD screen in it's place.  (Don't get me wrong, CRT, when working, looks great) 

 

I don't know much about how to connect the monitor and most of what I see out there has DVI and/or VGA ports which are clearly not going to connect on an old system arcade cabinet like this.

 

Will this work?  https://na.suzohapp....ries/49-3223-01  Does this need an adapter to connect it to the arcade machine?

 

Thanks!



#2 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:16 AM

What does your old machine output? I think they are typically analog RGB + combined sync at 15khz.

You'd have to get the specification of that monitor's vga input. Vga typically doesn't scan below 30khz and uses seperate horizontal and vertical sync. There's a good chance this monitor scans 15khz on vga and takes combined sync but that's something to check. Otherwise you'd need a converter.

I understand you don't want a crt, just curious if sourcing a replacement crt is possible.

#3 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:31 AM

What does your old machine output? I think they are typically analog RGB + combined sync at 15khz.
You'd have to get the specification of that monitor's vga input. Vga typically doesn't scan below 30khz and uses seperate horizontal and vertical sync. There's a good chance this monitor scans 15khz on vga and takes combined sync but that's something to check. Otherwise you'd need a converter.
I understand you don't want a crt, just curious if sourcing a replacement crt is possible.


Where can I get that information? This is really all I have for info: https://www.arcade-m...hp?game_id=7306

#4 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:40 AM

The pinout and schematic is there. I see RGB + combined sync. Standard resolution means 15khz, all typical for the time.

#5 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:52 AM

The pinout and schematic is there. I see RGB + combined sync. Standard resolution means 15khz, all typical for the time.


So with the monitor I'm looking at, I wouldn't need a converter?

#6 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:14 AM

We'd have to know if it's vga can scan 15khz. I think so, because of the cga support. I think most modern vga monitors support combined sync but most don't scan below 30khz or support cga.

#7 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:39 PM

We'd have to know if it's vga can scan 15khz. I think so, because of the cga support. I think most modern vga monitors support combined sync but most don't scan below 30khz or support cga.

 

I think this is the same exact one https://www.8linesup...otective-glass/  and if that info is correct, it does do 15 khz.  So I might be in business.



#8 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:46 PM

Maybe I'm confused with the use of the term cga/ega.  When I hear those terms I think of digital/ttl video as opposed to analog video.  I didn't think any arcade games output cga/ega.  Maybe by cga/ega/vga they mean analog rgb 15/22/30khz.



#9 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:25 AM

Maybe I'm confused with the use of the term cga/ega.  When I hear those terms I think of digital/ttl video as opposed to analog video.  I didn't think any arcade games output cga/ega.  Maybe by cga/ega/vga they mean analog rgb 15/22/30khz.

 

I wrote to the company that is selling the LCD monitor and they responded:

 

Jennifer has answered your question below.

Your question:

Can the Vga scan 15khz?

Our Answer:

The VGA is 30 - 80KHz
The CGA is 15 - 30KHz

 

So I think I can get this monitor for the cabinet.  I think...



#10 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:27 AM

Ask if her if the cga support is digital or analog?

I'm assuming your machine outputs 15khz analog rgb but I'm guessing.

#11 Jess Ragan OFFLINE  

Jess Ragan

    Phanto of the Opera

  • 10,119 posts
  • Keys and Thank You
  • Location:The Arid Zone

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:17 AM

You might want to look into one of these...

https://www.mikesarc...pl?sku=GBS-8200

These are designed to connect arcade machines to more modern monitors. This particular one is $31 but you could probably get one for as little as $20 on eBay.

#12 curtishart001 OFFLINE  

curtishart001

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:58 AM

The only thing I recommend is make sure it's an LED and not an LCD screen.  I bought an arcade LCD screen last month for my Galaga-style cabinet and the viewing angle of the screen was really bad. Swapped to an LED version and immediate improvement.



#13 Tanooki OFFLINE  

Tanooki

    Quadrunner

  • 5,331 posts

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:40 AM

When the time comes I'll be going this way with my arcade cab which I'm sure will make some SNK fans howl but I don't care for the 25" glass monster.



#14 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:02 PM

Ask if her if the cga support is digital or analog?

I'm assuming your machine outputs 15khz analog rgb but I'm guessing.

Ok, I asked.  Now... I wait...



#15 JustinMSalvato OFFLINE  

JustinMSalvato

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Matamoras, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:59 PM

Ask if her if the cga support is digital or analog?

I'm assuming your machine outputs 15khz analog rgb but I'm guessing.

 

 

Jennifer has answered your question below.

Your question:

Is the CGA support digital or analog?

Our Answer:

The CGA supports Analog

 

Well, regardless, I have decided to go a different way with this project.  



#16 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,534 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Sep 3, 2018 4:58 AM

Well I don't know if these things actually support cga and ega which are digital signals. But it sounds like when they say cga and ega they mean 15.75khz and 22khz analog RGB. The same must go for those arcade video upscaling boards. I didn't think arcade machines output a digital/ttl video signal.

Edited by mr_me, Mon Sep 3, 2018 5:16 AM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: arcade, monitor, crt, lcd, led, replacement

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users