Jump to content

Photo

Skunkboard Help Please


14 replies to this topic

#1 Morkai2 OFFLINE  

Morkai2

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 5:36 PM

Hi All,

 

I received a new Skunkboard today but have had some issues getting it going. Let me summarize the steps I've taken:

 

1. Downloaded Skunkboard software including drivers

2. Powered on Jaguar with Skunkboard and got the green screen

3. Installed drivers on both my Windows 7 and Windows 8 computers (I can see Skunkboard listed in my devices)

4. Downloaded both Jiffi and Skunkgui along with some software to test

 

When I load a program into Jiffi or Skunkgui they both seem to not be able to recognize and/or communicate with the Jaguar. Skunkgui closes when I hit go after about 3 seconds, and Jiffi says "retrying" about 3 times before it too closes.

 

Am I missing a step? Does anyone have any troubleshooting ideas?

 

Thank you!



#2 Morkai2 OFFLINE  

Morkai2

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 13 posts

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 5:37 PM

I forgot to mention that I get the same results with both Windows 7 and 8 on two separate devices.

 

Thank You



#3 Saturn OFFLINE  

Saturn

    River Patroller

  • 3,530 posts
  • Pillar of the Jaguar Community
  • Location:TX

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 6:10 PM

Don't know if it will make a difference but the only step I don't see listed is the installation of Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) located here: https://www.microsof...ls.aspx?id=5638

 

Might be worth a shot.



#4 Morkai2 OFFLINE  

Morkai2

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 13 posts

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 6:31 PM

Thank you for the suggestion! I tried it on both computers and nothing changed.

 

:(



#5 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,397 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 6:33 PM

Try a (crap and cheap) usb hub.



#6 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,522 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2018 7:37 PM

What does skunkgui say? Can you even reset the Jag?

#7 LinkoVitch OFFLINE  

LinkoVitch

    River Patroller

  • 2,542 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:43 AM

When you connect the Skunk to your PC do you get the usual Sound/Notification to say that new hardware was connected?  Have you checked in Device Manager to see if it appears in there? (Ezhost is what it will come up as in USB devices).

 

There was a run of Skunks made that came with USB cables that only connected power and had no data lines, might be you have one of those cables? (suitable for charging only).. I'd suggest try a different USB cable, if you have one you know works for data transfer.  Or also try the cable you have with your Skunk on some other device. 

 

Hopefully just a bad cable.



#8 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,397 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:55 AM

Don't forget Zadig for windows 8.1/10

 

https://zadig.akeo.ie/



#9 Morkai2 OFFLINE  

Morkai2

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 13 posts

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:23 AM

Hi All,

Thank you for the help and suggestions!

My pc does make the sound when connecting and disconnecting the skunkboard.

I dont see EZ-Host listed under usb. Skunkboard does show up in my devices though.

Ill try the program linked when I get home and let you know if it works.

Its very possible that I have a charging cable and not one that transmits data. I bought it off of Amazon but didnt really look too hard before I bought it.

The error that I get is something along the lines of cannot connect to EZ-Host

Thank You All!

#10 LinkoVitch OFFLINE  

LinkoVitch

    River Patroller

  • 2,542 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:38 AM

If you are seeing it in the Device Manager then the cable is fine.  If it were just a charging cable then you'd not see even that.

 

Have you tried the latest version of JCP the CLI tool?  Could check if that can see it

jcp -s 

will communicate with the Skunk and just give you the serial info from it, hence proving all is good.



#11 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Moonsweeper

  • 487 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:09 AM

I was never able to get Jiff to work myself on mine (screen just blips and shuts off) but SkunkGUI works like a charm. You mentioned the cable, definitely try a different one if you have one, they use the same ones as a GoPro if you have one of those. Also definitely suggest a USB hub, that sped the hell out of mine made it work twice as fast when flashing the skunk. I put some notes about that in the skunk thread last year with screen shots of the times on my phone showing how fast it would flash the 2mb and the 4mb. BUT that's what you get it to work.

 

if interested I did a how to video on flashing and put it on youtube that goes step by step on the flashing if you want to see how to do it.

https://youtu.be/k3UU_wL5cAI



#12 Morkai2 OFFLINE  

Morkai2

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 13 posts

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:30 PM

Hi All,

Thank you again for the help troubleshooting this. Nothing I have tried or that has been suggested has helped as of yet. I still need to try another cable and getting a usb hub. Here is a video of everything. Take a look and please let me know if Im missing anything obvious:



Thanks again!

#13 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,522 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:39 PM

Get a usb cable from dollar tree. They work fine while you're waiting for your good one.

#14 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,673 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:57 AM

If the device is detected and doesn't show an exclamation mark, this is not an USB cable problem.

 

At this point I think you should ask Tursi directly.



#15 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,236 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:55 PM

If the device is detected and doesn't show an exclamation mark, this is not an USB cable problem.

 

At this point I think you should ask Tursi directly.

 

But yeah.. you guys saying try another cable - I'm not sure how exactly you think USB works... ;) If it shows up, a bi-directional exchange of information has already happened. The cable likely works.

 

Looks like the current build of JCP. But "Can't open EZ-Host" is a driver issue. Basically JCP enumerates the USB devices that LibUSB can see, and none of them matched the Skunkboard's device information. (The other, related error, is "Found, but can't open, EZ-HOST.")

 

So, try reinstalling your drivers (I second the recommendation for the zadig tool, libUSB mode). You might have a signing issue. Make sure the Skunkboard is unplugged when you update the drivers. Try a reboot and see if it still detects correctly. I don't remember seeing issues where it looks right in Device Manager but doesn't show up, but you have to remember a lot of the development happened in XP, which was a lot more permissive. That said, I can run mine in Windows 10 without any hacks.

 

And as much as I tease about the cable - try another cable. USB is a finicky thing and the Skunkboard's USB is even more finicky. I've /never/ seen it show up but not work due to cable, but in telephony we always use to say "when you KNOW it's not the cable, change the cable." ;)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users