Photo

Sega Master System/Atari 7800 controllers

4 replies to this topic

#1 sidney OFFLINE  

sidney

Space Invader

• 16 posts

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:30 AM

As I've recently just got my ST I have been really enjoying some gaming on it. I have been using an Atari 2600 joystick which works fine (naturally) but I'm not really big on sticks as I have always preferred pads. I have a couple of Master System and Atari 7800 joypads I'd prefer to use but I am scared of frying any chips inside the ST if they were in any way incompatible. I know I won't get 2 button compatibility but I'm not concerned with that. I know that the C64 hates MegaDrive pads and I'm pretty sure the Amiga does too, I have never had a definitive answer as to whether using MS/7800 pads on Commodore machines is either ok or terrible so I'm in a quandary there and now I'm wondering the same about their use on an ST. As usual----Any advice gratefully received.

#2 MrMaddog OFFLINE  

MrMaddog

Dragonstomper

• 845 posts
  • Not a 'gamer' but a video game player...

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:31 AM

Just don't even try it...

The extra signals will lock up the IKBC which controls the keyboard & mouse which will freeze the ST.

You can safely use a Sega controller in the mouse port though for two player games but not in the primary joystick port.

#3 Christos OFFLINE  

Christos

Stargunner

• 1,020 posts

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:31 AM

I am pretty sure that you can use a Master System controller but not an atari 7800 one.

I am using a PS2 controller on mine after some arduino tinkering.

#4 MrMaddog OFFLINE  

MrMaddog

Dragonstomper

• 845 posts
  • Not a 'gamer' but a video game player...

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:14 PM

You're right I forgot, the Master System controller will work since it doesn't use 5V through the extra pins.

The mushy D-pad is actually great for diagonal jumping. :)

#5 Zogging Hell OFFLINE  

Zogging Hell

Moonsweeper

• 420 posts

Posted Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:41 AM