Jump to content

Photo

Atari 2600 Heavy 6er issue


17 replies to this topic

#1 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:07 AM

Just testing a heavy sixer. Without a joystick even plugged in the player 1 (left port) moves the player to the right. As in the right direction is locked on. I have taken the machine apart and tested all the caps on the board right by the joystick port and none seem shorted. All pins on the port seem intact. Any suggestions? Thanks, Mike


Edited by atariaction, Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:16 AM.


#2 Jason_Atari OFFLINE  

Jason_Atari

    Moonsweeper

  • 401 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia.

Posted Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:57 PM

I had a light sixer with a similar issue, left joystick had fire button constantly on. Replacing the TIA solved the problem for me.



#3 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,742 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:29 PM

tia chip is most likely the problem



#4 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:59 AM

OK thanks guys! Do you have a go to place to buy them?



#5 -^CrožBow^- ONLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,362 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:04 AM

Best Electronics carries the TIA chips. Best to call them or send them an email and inquire about this:

 

Atari NTSC/US "TIA" Custom Chip CO10444D $19.95

 

http://www.best-elec...0_Tech_Tips.htm

 

Another option, and the one I do, is I try and find junker 2600s just for parts to have on hand. So if you can find a cheap junker it might be worth that as well. I know I picked up a lot of 5 2600s recently in various states of non-working for $5 each locally. The ICs alone in them are worth more than that these days.


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:05 AM.


#6 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:35 AM

Excellent thanks. I think I have a couple machines I can use for parts!



#7 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:02 PM

I swapped TIA's with one from another Atari 2600 and issue not resolved. So swap joystick port next?



#8 nick3092 OFFLINE  

nick3092

    Chopper Commander

  • 138 posts

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:10 PM

It's a H6, so could the hex buffer on the port be bad? I think the normal failure mode of the hex buffer is rapid fire though. So it might not be the case.

Edited by nick3092, Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:11 PM.


#9 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Stargunner

  • 1,173 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:52 PM

Joystick directions are connected to the RIOT (6532), not the TIA.



#10 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:58 AM

Ok ill swap the 6532 and see what happens thanks!



#11 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:08 AM

Swapped 6532's and we are in business (sort of)...I put the system back together and not getting any power now. That heavy aluminum shield on the heavy sixers actually touches the circuit board....weird or intentional for grounding?. I will have to take it all apart again and see what happened.



#12 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,742 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:03 AM

it touches around the edges and near the cart slot for grounding 



#13 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:52 PM

Ahh ok so it IS grounding! It turned out to be the ribbon cable so game powers on again and the player 1 locked moving to the right is resolved!

 

I think I may need to replace player 1 joystick port now though. Sometimes if you move the controller plug a bit the fire button stops working (testing with driving paddles for the moment) or at least reflow the solder.


Edited by atariaction, Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:02 PM.


#14 Shawn OFFLINE  

Shawn

    The Kraken

  • 18,245 posts

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:32 PM

Ahh ok so it IS grounding! It turned out to be the ribbon cable so game powers on again and the player 1 locked moving to the right is resolved!

 

I think I may need to replace player 1 joystick port now though. Sometimes if you move the controller plug a bit the fire button stops working (testing with driving paddles for the moment) or at least reflow the solder.

 

 

Holy shit Mike! Been a long time! If you need a DB9 port I'll send you one. 



#15 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:41 PM

 

 

Holy shit Mike! Been a long time! If you need a DB9 port I'll send you one. 

 

Haha yes indeed! I'm still kicking around but have gone hardcore into the pinball hobby so you will see me in those forums these days :) Learned a lot about repairing pins over the years so can use that for this kind of stuff now :) Thanks so much for the offer man. I will let you know. I may try to reflow the solder 1st. Will see if that works!



#16 Polish.Gasoline OFFLINE  

Polish.Gasoline

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:47 PM

Check and see if the DB9 port is missing a piece (pin) where it connects to the controller you'll know then.


Edited by Polish.Gasoline, Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:48 PM.


#17 atariaction OFFLINE  

atariaction

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 285 posts
  • Location:canada

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:25 PM

Check and see if the DB9 port is missing a piece (pin) where it connects to the controller you'll know then.

 

Likely not the case but good call. A joystick controller will move in all directions and button works no problem until you move the joystick plug in the port around a bit. Then some function is lost. Move it around again and function regained. It could also possibly be the joystick I am using. When I plugged it in it did not seem very tight at all. Pretty loose actually. I will have to test another joystick with a better plug.



#18 atari-dna OFFLINE  

atari-dna

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Glen Allen, VA

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:38 PM

Possibly bad solder joints on the pcb where the joy connectors are. If they were handled roughly there may be cracks, intermittent connections.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users