Jump to content

Photo

Atari Jaguar Composite Monitor Video Cable Broke.


20 replies to this topic

#1 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,111 posts

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:16 PM

Back story I just got back a Atari Jaguar box set from NYC this year and well last night I was playing Cybermorph and Checker Flag seeing those are the only two games I still love to play the Jag and my Composite Monitor Video Cable fell off and now i cant use it I know I can us any RF box to play it but I still wanted to fine one and also it did not came with a Atari Jag RF box so I was wonder if you know where online to fine the  Atari Jaguar Composite Monitor Video Cable/ RF box for cheap seeing Im broke as always^_^; I cant fine a real job Im living on SSI (state gov check) and all bills are pay so Im short on any income.

 

Or if you know a way to fix this Composite Monitor Video Cable here's a photo.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Atari Jaguar Composite Monitor Video Cable.png


#2 skip OFFLINE  

skip

    Moonsweeper

  • 392 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:20 PM

It's possibly (likely?) solderable, but it could get a bit messy as you may need to cut into the yellow plastic. Alternatively you could (possibly) get a yellow RCA male plug from any electronics store (probably $1 or $2), cut off the existing one, and replace it with the new one. The store may (or may not) be able to do it for you for a small fee.

'New' composite cables (some are original, some aftermarket): https://www.ebay.com...posite&_sacat=0

A new aftermarket composite and S-Video cable which is reasonably good value for what it is: https://www.etsy.com...1&more_colors=1

There are a few other sellers out there who make composite cables. Google is your friend. ;)



#3 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,796 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:24 PM

Cut off the broken plug, solder on a new RCA connector. Very simple to do. Or order a cable from Best.



#4 Bratwurst ONLINE  

Bratwurst

    Stargunner

  • 1,194 posts

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:47 PM

If you pay shipping both ways I will fix this for you free of charge.



#5 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:03 PM

Okay PM me and Ill see what I can do:)



#6 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 560 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:17 AM

I have a broken AV cable as well, pulled it out from the back and somehow it stuck and when i tugged it pulled one of the soldering points inside of the box/cube loose so it is all scrambled as well. I am like you and wish I knew how to solder os I could actually fix things like that!



#7 Bratwurst ONLINE  

Bratwurst

    Stargunner

  • 1,194 posts

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:25 AM

Always pull from the plug, never the wire. Will send this out tomorrow morning.

Attached Thumbnails

  • JagCable.jpg


#8 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:39 AM

Awesome nice fix.



#9 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,720 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:51 AM

Always pull from the plug, never the wire.

To be honest, some of these plugs are cheaply made and will eventually separate even if you do that.

#10 Bratwurst ONLINE  

Bratwurst

    Stargunner

  • 1,194 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:09 AM

This is true. Excessive twisting as you pull away will also damage the connection. Nevertheless it's good practice to avoid pulling by the wire in all cases.



#11 UHATEIT OFFLINE  

UHATEIT

    Dragonstomper

  • 560 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:16 AM

I need to learn how to solder and pull my plug apart to fix it. I have a guy that wants to buy my spare Jaguar and I can't bare to give him just the RF so I want to let him have the AV cable to get a better connection and need to fix that shiz!

#12 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,358 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:20 AM

Back story I just got back a Atari Jaguar box set from NYC

 

 

Oh cool was it a R@R3 LAUNCH edition? 


Edited by travistouchdown, Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:20 AM.


#13 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:09 AM

 

Oh cool was it a R@R3 LAUNCH edition? 

 

R@R3 LAUNCH edition? Don't know all I know back in 93 in NYC near china town electronic store I got it from first day releace but this one looks the same how can I tell if this too was this R@R3 LAUNCH edition is?

 

Funny fax I got the first Atari Jag system on November 23, 1993 on my birthday I was born on Nov 23rd 1972.


Edited by Atariboy2600, Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:12 AM.


#14 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:23 AM

 

Oh cool was it a R@R3 LAUNCH edition? 

 

Heres the box photo of the Jag with box all I missing from this set was the RF switch box, manuals and overlay for Cypermorph.

Attached Thumbnails

  • post-5587-0-18682300-1527705919.png


#15 Gummy Bear OFFLINE  

Gummy Bear

    Dragonstomper

  • 621 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:02 PM

That looks like the R@R3 LAUNCH EDITION™ to me!

#16 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:56 PM

That looks like the R@R3 LAUNCH EDITION™ to me!

 

How can you tell?



#17 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,111 posts

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:37 AM

Also some one ask me witch type of Cybermroph cart I have and I don't understand the meaning seeing I assume there was only one type as a packin but here's the photo I got

Attached Thumbnails

  • cybermorph cart.png


#18 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,720 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:59 AM

Cybermorph is the most common pack-in game, but it's not the only one. So it was also sold as a regular game for those who didn't get it with their console.
There are at least two versions of the game, one of them has a few things removed (some speech and animation) to use a smaller and cheaper ROM chip.

Edited by Zerosquare, Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:02 PM.


#19 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,796 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:39 PM

That is the 2mb variant.



#20 TheCoolDave OFFLINE  

TheCoolDave

    Star Raider

  • 96 posts

Posted Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:53 AM

That is the 2mb variant.

 

How do you tell the difference ?



#21 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,796 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:47 AM



 

How do you tell the difference ?

http://atariage.com/...the-difference/






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users