Jump to content

Photo

Tron (Arcade Port)


50 replies to this topic

#1 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:04 PM

​Maybe not final just yet...  :)

​Tron

 

​NTSC only right now.  I'll get around to a PAL 60 version eventually.

Tron-tank.png

Tron-MCP.png

​Recommended controls:

​Port 1:  Mattell "M Network" Tron controller

​Port 2:  CX-22 Trackball in joystick mode.  (Not analog)

Attached Files


Edited by orange808, Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:06 PM.

  • NE146 , Inky , Arenafoot and 16 others like this

#2 TrekMD OFFLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 3,945 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:21 PM

This is cool!



#3 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 3,166 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:30 PM

and here I thought it was going to be another light cycle game. Nicely done! :) Please Keep working on it.

 

-Thom



#4 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:52 PM

Another stable playable build is in the works.  It should pave the way to get this completed.

 

The game now maintains rock solid sync with the OSSC, so I'm done playing with cycles. I also cannot find any issues using the Stella debugger.

 

High quality displays used to be built to handle VCRs--and they had pretty good tolerance for some odd sync.  Unfortunately, those days are fading and we're left with some very rigid signal boundaries.  :(

 

Next, I plan to optimise the code and wring out some more ROM.  Then, I'll tweak colors, movement speed, difficulty, and I would like to add one more piece of music.  

 

This core of the game is essentially finished and the four mini games are set.  The iconic four color game selection screen isn't going to make the cut; I don't have space for it.  

 

Lightcycles were originally implemented and nearly completed before I abandoned them and added the disks game.  The game had two enemy cycles.  Unfortunately, I couldn't make it fun.  In theory, it sounded great, but (when I actually got a chance to play it) having two enemies on the screen in Surround doesn't make it twice as fun.


  • Atari_Warlord and Mr SQL like this

#5 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • 3,052 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:27 AM

wonderful!!



#6 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    River Patroller

  • 2,094 posts

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:26 AM

Awesome! :)



#7 atarifan88 OFFLINE  

atarifan88

    Dragonstomper

  • 969 posts
  • Enjoying 8 bit gaming in HD!
  • Location:Middletown

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:22 PM

Wow, this is incredible for the Atari 2600! I'm glad you are trying a clone of the arcade Tron! Look forward to improvements!

#8 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:20 PM

​New build v00.01.06 is up.  I need help with debugging and some feedback--if possible**. 

 

**(I do understand that most users will not have a Tron ("flightstick style") controller and a trackball.  Sorry about that.)

​The game should now run on most digital displays. 

​Also, the Tron Scherzo made it back from the cutting room floor.  For many gamers, I'm certain it will be a welcome addition.  :)  I'm glad some more of my planned resources have made it back into the game.


  • TrekMD likes this

#9 bikeguychicago OFFLINE  

bikeguychicago

    Stargunner

  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:West Dundee, IL

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:42 PM

You totally need to make this work with a driving controller in port 2.


  • Dauber , Kaboomer and fluxit like this

#10 AtariLeaf OFFLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • 11,261 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:05 PM

Looks great will try it after the Leafs game. Just making a comment to follow the thread

Edited by AtariLeaf, Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:06 PM.


#11 Protestari ONLINE  

Protestari

    Dragonstomper

  • 910 posts
  • Location:Toronto Canada

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:09 PM

Wow, this looks great.



#12 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:48 PM

You totally need to make this work with a driving controller in port 2.

 

Unfortunately, that would require some custom kernel work that I'm not prepared to complete.  I looked over the community release of the Indy 500 rom to get an idea of what was necessary.  I don't think I could poll the controller often enough to get good results without tinkering with the DPC+ kernel.  I would also need to find rom space to hold the necessary lookup table.

 

I have some familiarity with assembler, but (I confess that) I have zero desire to spend the fabled "10,000 hours" mastering programming the Atari VCS kernel.  I dropped to asm in a few convenient places in Tron, but I really enjoyed how quickly things come together using Visual bB.



#13 Dauber ONLINE  

Dauber

    Quadrunner

  • 5,692 posts
  • What's for tea, luv?
  • Location:Right by where The Lone Ranger went to high school

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:18 PM

Good effing Jesus snorting Smartees on top of Stonehenge...are you effing SERIOUS?!?
  • groundtrooper likes this

#14 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Stargunner

  • 1,274 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:28 PM

So Stoked about this!!!!!!!


  • groundtrooper likes this

#15 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    Bit Player

  • 5,176 posts
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 4:28 AM

Excellent work here!

Driving controls can be polled once per frame with good results. Check out batari's zombie chase sample for an example. (it's distributed with bB)

You can even auto-detect driving controls, by looking for conflicting joystick positions.

#16 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Stargunner

  • 1,274 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:58 AM

does anyone else have issues with this working on a harmony cart?  it never loads on mine but loads fine with Stella.



#17 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:56 AM

does anyone else have issues with this working on a harmony cart?  it never loads on mine but loads fine with Stella.

 

That's odd.  It works fine on my Harmony.  I have both a 2600 and 7800.

 

Anybody else having this issue?


Edited by orange808, Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:56 AM.


#18 lapetino OFFLINE  

lapetino

    Dragonstomper

  • 555 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:22 PM

Killer! Can’t wait to try it out!

(End of line)
  • Mr SQL likes this

#19 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Stargunner

  • 1,274 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:09 PM

 

That's odd.  It works fine on my Harmony.  I have both a 2600 and 7800.

 

Anybody else having this issue?

its a harmony encore I am using.  maybe the firmware is out of date?  trying to find how to tell what is on it.  all the happens is the harmony carts just sits with the spinning circle in the middle of the screen but never loads the rom


Edited by thevnaguy, Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:09 PM.


#20 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Stargunner

  • 1,274 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:11 PM

 

That's odd.  It works fine on my Harmony.  I have both a 2600 and 7800.

 

Anybody else having this issue?

I have firmware 1.06 in my harmony cart.  what revision to you have in yours?



#21 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:39 PM

I have firmware 1.06 in my harmony cart.  what revision to you have in yours?

 

I'm on 1.06 as well.  

 

Hopefully, some others can chime in with their experiences and some ideas to get it running for you.

 

In the meantime, have you tried reformatting the card and copying everything you want on the card all at once?  I'm not familiar with the Harmony carts specifically, but some flash carts are picky about fragmented files.



#22 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Stargunner

  • 1,274 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:30 AM

 

I'm on 1.06 as well.  

 

Hopefully, some others can chime in with their experiences and some ideas to get it running for you.

 

In the meantime, have you tried reformatting the card and copying everything you want on the card all at once?  I'm not familiar with the Harmony carts specifically, but some flash carts are picky about fragmented files.

yep.  tried reformatting, tried different sd cards, tried just having the rom by itself on the card, tried the 1.00 rom.  the same thing happens, just get the spinning harmony cart logo (the green/white circle) spinning in the middle of the screen.



#23 Inky ONLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • 25,919 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:17 AM


  • groundtrooper likes this

#24 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 54 posts

Posted Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:20 AM

Can other users post their Harmony experiences with my rom?  :)

 

The game's kernel is untouched bB DPC+.  No minikernel.  

 

It works fine on my Harmony on my VCS and 7800.  So, I can't understand why it won't boot for vnaguy.


Edited by orange808, Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:21 AM.


#25 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ***Moon Patrol 5200*** *Moon Master2015* *Blue Max:Class 4*

  • 7,744 posts
  • *Star Raiders 2* **Captain -CL 2**
  • Location:*Star Raiders * *Star Commander -CL 1*

Posted Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:24 AM

Nice!!!   Always loved the tank portion in TRON.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users