Jump to content

Photo

Newbie questions regarding SIO2SD

sio2sd

13 replies to this topic

#1 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Chopper Commander

  • 125 posts
  • Location:Antwerp, Belgium

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:26 PM

Since I now own a AVG Cart, UnoCart, SDrive2 and even an Atari 1050 and a XF551,  I do keep having one issue with Demo ATR's.

 

I can load them perfectly using a poor man's SIO2PC cable hooked to RespeQt but would prefer to load them on the Atari without having a Mac/PC next to it.

 

As such I was considering a SIO2SD .

 

But

  • anybody got the grey version from Lotharek , does it match a 130XE ?
  • am I correct that it's powered via SIO ?
  • should I wait until AVGcart becomes more compatible with XBIOS ATR's and/or IRQ Loaders

Demos I can think off that I would like to run are :

 

  • Timeless Announcement
  • Cool Emotion 
  • Bitter Reality

Would these load from SIO2SD ?



#2 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,961 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:42 PM

I'd wait for the bugs to be ironed out of sdrive max atx... then all of the disk based stuff is no problem. Of course copy to real disks is another way to go..


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:43 PM.


#3 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:45 PM

Another vote for going Sdrive-Max instead of SIO2SD...



#4 JR> OFFLINE  

JR>

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:10 PM

Sounds like a great time to get an Ultimate 1MB! then your SIDE2 can do that for you. :-D :grin: :D



#5 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Antwerp, Belgium

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:52 PM

OK, I'll have a look at the SDrive-MAX but it needs USB power, the SIO2SD is powered from the SIO bus , correct ?

 

So the SIO2SD won't load any of these and the SDrive-MAX would ?

  • Timeless Announcement
  • Cool Emotion 
  • Bitter Reality


#6 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:29 PM

No, I power my Sdrive Max from the SIO port.

#7 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 6,321 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:23 AM

<p>
 
So the SIO2SD won't load any of these and the SDrive-MAX would ?

  • Timeless Announcement
  • Cool Emotion 
  • Bitter Reality

If you post these demos I can try them on both devices.

#8 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Antwerp, Belgium

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:01 AM

If you post these demos I can try them on both devices.

 

 

You can find them here 

 

Cool Emotion - HARD

 
Timeless Announcement - BitBusters
 
Bitter Reality - Slight
 
Thanks a lot for wanting to do this.


#9 Fred_M OFFLINE  

Fred_M

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:Schiedam, Netherlands

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:41 AM

I cannot imagine why these demos would not load on both devices. They are just plain ATR-files.

 

But these demos are (I think) European demos, so there can be problems when you load them on NTSC machines. That is not caused by the SIO2SD or SDrive Max. It is caused by the differences in PAL and NTSC machines.

 

The SIO2SD has less bugs than the SDrive Max (at the moment). But the SDrive Max is cheaper and the firmware is constantly updated and has great support. My personal experience (I have both) is that Lotharek, who sells the SIO2SD, sells a great product but does not give a lot of support. SDrive Max supports ATX-files (original disk dumps with copy protection) and SIO2SD does not.


Edited by Fred_M, Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:42 AM.


#10 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Antwerp, Belgium

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:34 AM

I cannot imagine why these demos would not load on both devices. They are just plain ATR-files.
 
But these demos are (I think) European demos, so there can be problems when you load them on NTSC machines. That is not caused by the SIO2SD or SDrive Max. It is caused by the differences in PAL and NTSC machines.
 
The SIO2SD has less bugs than the SDrive Max (at the moment). But the SDrive Max is cheaper and the firmware is constantly updated and has great support. My personal experience (I have both) is that Lotharek, who sells the SIO2SD, sells a great product but does not give a lot of support. SDrive Max supports ATX-files (original disk dumps with copy protection) and SIO2SD does not.


Thanks for the details.

I should have specified that I own a PAL 130XE.

I can’t run them from my cart solutions nor the Sdrive2.

#11 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,961 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:05 AM

make sure your sdrive 2 is using the latest firmware, and make sure to adjust speed down for sio if having issues with some software it is in a config or menu or some such thing somewhere...



#12 Fred_M OFFLINE  

Fred_M

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:Schiedam, Netherlands

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:05 PM

Exactly Doctor ;)

 

I don't have a sdrive 2, but when I googled for it I found this topic: http://atariage.com/...ssuesquestions/

 

It looks like there was a problem with ATR-images larger than 128k. The cool emotion disks are 133k each. According to the topic, a firmware update should be available :)



#13 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 6,321 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:01 PM

You can find them here 

 

Cool Emotion - HARD

 
Timeless Announcement - BitBusters
 
Bitter Reality - Slight
 
Thanks a lot for wanting to do this.

 

 

All three loaded without a hitch via my SIO2SD.

 

"Cool Emotion" and "Timeless Announcement" loaded fine with the SDRIVE-MAX (v0.09).  I could not get "Bitter Reality" to boot up with the SDRIVE-MAX, however.  It starts to load and then the whole process just stops; no BOOT ERROR or anything, it just stops dead.  

 

I mighty add, though, that I have had a problem or two with getting my SDRIVE to communicate with other peripherals properly.  Hopefully I will be able to get the firmware upgraded this weekend and then I will try the "Bitter Reality" demo again to see if anything changes.


Edited by SS, Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:04 PM.


#14 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Antwerp, Belgium

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:32 PM

I've bit the bullet and ordered an SIO2SD from Lotharek.

 

From what I understand it might be possible with the SDrive2 also but the firmware needs to be updated , alsp any news regarding this ?

The firmware released by Hiattus wasn't compatible with the SDrive2 if I understood the topic here http://atariage.com/...ssuesquestions/ correctly.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: sio2sd

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users