Jump to content

Photo

The Missing Link


14 replies to this topic

#1 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,395 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:23 AM

Can TML be converted to a cartridge by any chance?



#2 ti99iuc ONLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,538 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:48 AM

maybe i haven't understand good but here is not The Missing Link you search ?
http://atariage.com/...-6#entry3217247

 

or you mean only this one as .BIN ?
 



#3 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,395 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:19 AM

I was looking for a single .bin if available.

#4 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,806 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:20 AM

Can TML be converted to a cartridge by any chance?

 

Not unless you make it part of Extended Basic—Vorticon’s XB or VXB, say.  I suppose you could increase the ROM size of XB and set it up to either copy the routines to RAM or to convert the routines to run from ROM.

 

...lee



#5 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,029 posts

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:20 AM

Vorticon, were you looking for a single version of the program that could be run from the FinalGROM?  If so, I don't think it exists yet.  :(

Until that time, if you don't mind it being on a cartridge with two other versions of BASIC, the link Ciro posted works, although it does require an UberGROM and both 1284P and 49F040 chips.

 

 

** EDIT **

Looked like you posted when I was typing.  Maybe someone will be kind enough to make a FinalGROM version for you...


Edited by --- Ω ---, Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:22 AM.


#6 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,849 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:04 PM

I have TML as a cartridge, requires a ubergrom  https://www.arcadesh...tegory=15846004

 

Greg



#7 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,370 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:24 PM

 

Not unless you make it part of Extended Basic—Vorticon’s XB or VXB, say.  I suppose you could increase the ROM size of XB and set it up to either copy the routines to RAM or to convert the routines to run from ROM.

 

...lee

That would be really really tough to do. See the interpreter is in GPL and calls XB ROMs that calls other XB ROM routines.

 

Best you could do is upon loading would move from ROM to Lower 8K and run that way, but not from ROM all the time as would be huge conflicts.



#8 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,849 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:55 PM

That would be really really tough to do. See the interpreter is in GPL and calls XB ROMs that calls other XB ROM routines.

 

Best you could do is upon loading would move from ROM to Lower 8K and run that way, but not from ROM all the time as would be huge conflicts.

 

Gazoo figured it out :)  



#9 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Stargunner

  • 1,264 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:17 AM

 

Gazoo figured it out :)  

Yes, by doing it pretty much the way Rich described. The lower 8K is stored somewhere in the cartridge, probably in a GROM. When you select TML it is copied into low memory and the interrupt routine is started up.


Edited by senior_falcon, Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:15 AM.


#10 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,370 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:27 AM

Now that is something I should do with RXB, but lack the GROM space.

 

Wonder if I could use extra ROM pages?



#11 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,395 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:47 AM

Now that is something I should do with RXB, but lack the GROM space.

 

Wonder if I could use extra ROM pages?

 

Please do! That would be the ultimate package!


  • RXB likes this

#12 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,370 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:54 PM

 

Please do! That would be the ultimate package!

So how do you set that up so it does not interfere with normal XB ROMs?

 

I could include TML, F18 Support and some other packages.



#13 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,395 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 3:42 PM

So how do you set that up so it does not interfere with normal XB ROMs?

 

I could include TML, F18 Support and some other packages.

 

That's beyond my pay grade :) I'll have to let Senior Falcon answer that one.


  • RXB likes this

#14 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Stargunner

  • 1,264 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:11 PM

TML is designed to run from low memory (>2000 to >3FFF). Gazoo found a place in the cartridge to store the TML code so it could be copied into low memory. That's all I know about it.



#15 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,370 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:08 PM

I imagine the Cart uses a 8K ROM page to load the Lower 8K  from there just before XB starts up.

 

If lower 8K is already initialized any CALL LINK or CALL LOAD checks each time to see if Lower 8K has been Initialized.

 

That is why even if you switch off the console off and on again it still will work as long as you have not turned off P-Box (32K).






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users